Henry S. Gornbein’s Reviews

Henry S. Gornbein

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. He was expensive, I was not confident in his billing and reasons for additional/hidden charges after the case was over.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Henry Gornbein.
    • I hired Henry 1-3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Family matter.

    At the time I was looking for a lawyer, I spoke to Henry and told him my situation. Unfortunately, his retainer fee was much higher than most and I was not able to afford his services. A day later, he called me back and told me he would reduce his fee because I had a "strong case."
    At the hearing, he sent a different (assistant?) lawyer. The case ended up never making it in front of the judge and Henry sent me a bill for an extra $1000! I was very specific about my tight budget, the case was never actually seen before a judge and I had no inclination that Henry was sending someone else to represent him during the trial. I would NOT recommend this lawyer unless money was no object and you are very specific about who will actually attend the hearings before any money is exchanged.

  2. BRAVO HENRY GORNBEIN FOR A JOB WELL DONE!!

    Posted by Mike, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Gornbein.
    • I hired Henry 1-3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I recently hired Mr. Gornbein for a complicated case involving alimony elimination. Henry's legal experience and attention to detail resulted in the best possible outcome for me. He was responsive to me during the entire process, which eliminated my anxiety over the situation. I would highly recommend Henry Gornbein to anyone seeking a reputable attorney and a man of high integrity.

  3. Look No Further!!!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Gornbein.
    • I hired Henry 1-3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Gornbein was my attorney for a recent divorce and handled all matters with the highest level of professionalism. I was kept fully informed through all aspects of the proceedings, and Henry was always available to answer any of my questions along the way. He is also very personable and will make you feel comfortable from your first meeting.

    If you want the best attorney, look no further and call Mr. Gornbein.

  4. Divorce Client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Gornbein.
    • I hired Henry 1-3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Henry and his team did an excellent job with my divorce. For such an uncomfortable situation, they helped make it as seamless and speedy as possible for me. Everything was handled very professionally, efficiently and with kindness. I would definitely recommend Henry.

  5. Very informative, respectable and honest with me, when others were not.

    Posted by Woman who chose someone other than Mr. Gornbein, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Gornbein.
    • I hired Henry 1-3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I came to see Mr. Gornbein for a free consultation. He was very professional, courteous and went over a list of questions I had. I think very highly of Mr. Gornbein and regret that he is too far away to help me. I would LOVE to have him take over my divorce, so I could rest again. Thank you Mr. Gornbein-you are a gem!

  6. VERY EXPERIENCED LEGAL REPRESANTATIVE WHO HELPED ME ACHIEVE REASONABLE GOALS WITH VERY REASONABLE ATTORNEY FEES!

    Posted by Valeriia Miller, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Gornbein.
    • I hired Henry more than 3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had a very complicated case where divorce, domestic violence and immigration issues were involved. Henry handled the case with the highest level of honesty, good faith and adherence to the principles. Quality, professionalism, outstanding qualifications and skills, presicion, consistency and integrity, wide experience differ Henry Gornbein and his Team from others and guarantee the win. Every my email was responded within minutes, and every my phone call was returned within couple hours. In the beginning of the divorce Henry forsaw the possible outcome of my case. Henry is very reasonable family law attorney, knowledgeable and talented. During and after the divorce I felt that my legal rights and financial future have been protected. As a result, a fair and reasonale settlement was obtained (thanks, Henry) and the attorney fees were kept as reasonable as possible considering all the facts and circumstances of my very complicated case.

  7. Difficult Divorce

    Posted by Ralph, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Gornbein.
    • I hired Henry more than 3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Henry Gornbein's experience with challenging divorce cases was exemplary in the handling of my case. Fairness prevailed and his exceptional staff assisted in the delivery of a truly professional service. Mr. Gornbein will do everything that he possibly can to help you. My children and I thank him for a job well done.

  8. Out of State Custody

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Gornbein.
    • I hired Henry more than 3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We are from Hawaii. We needed a sharp, competent, and well-established family law attorney in Troy, Michigan, for a custody situation regarding my Autistic son. We found Henry Gornbein via the Internet, and learned of all his great accomplishments! We are more than happy to say, that we are soooo grateful for Henry today. He helped us to win!! He is very professional, gifted, and successful. Thank You Henry, you will always have close friends in Hawaii.

  9. Simply the Best

    Posted by Kevin, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Gornbein.
    • I hired Henry more than 3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Henry handled my divorce and more than lived up to his reputation as the top divorce attorney in the state. He helped make the most unpleasant of experiences bearable by being informed and accessible at every stage of the process. Henry gave me candid advice and let me know what to expect from the very start.

  10. Child Custody

    Posted by Louis, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Henry Gornbein.
    • I hired Henry more than 3 years ago.
    • Henry handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Henry was great professional. I was impressed with his court demeanor and his request for evidence. More importantly he went through all the basis of consideration for the child custody. He enabled the judge to make a fair decision targeting each factor individually and was exactly what I needed to win a difficult case from an out of state resident. He is accessible and will make the effort to hear all your concerns.

Call now for a free consultation.

248-646-8292