Mary Frances Higdon’s Reviews

Mary Frances Higdon

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very fortunate to have found M.F. Higdon

    Posted by misterg, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Higdon.
    • I hired Mary 1-6 months ago.
    • Mary handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    From out of state and needed help with DUI case in Bloomington. Mary took charge, took care of everything, communicated with me along every step of the way. I was very fortunate to have her in my corner. Even helped diffuse a very tricky situation with the judge.

  2. Very kind and caring attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Mary Higdon.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mary is a very understanding, non-judgemental attorney. She always responded to my requests in a timely manner and did her best to help me in every way. She was also sympathetic to my needs and I never felt she brushed me off. I would hire her again to represent me.

  3. My reliable lawyer experience~

    Posted by Joshua, a Transportation client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Higdon.
    • I hired Mary 6-12 months ago.
    • Mary handled my Transportation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Life is unplanned. We make mistakes. It is how we handle/learn from them that makes the journey all worthwhile. Four long years ago the DMV labeled me as an habitual traffic offender and suspended my DL for FIVE YEARS due to the amount of moving violations that I received in tickets within a ten year period. Bogus I know, -I was devistated sp? I've done well this far in getting along with my sentence and not driving up until about six months ago, my custody with my son started to being affected by my inability to go and pick him up/ take him back to his mother so I made the decision to hire a atty in helping me acquire a "restricted DL."~ SoRRy fOR the RuN-oN...I searched through the yellow pages and contacted a few lawyers before one of wich referred me to Mrs. Higdon telling me that she was both affordable and reliable and that she was going to be the cheapest that I will find in Monroe Co for what I was looking to do. I def liked the sound of that! For those who are unaware this "grant" is strictly up to the judges decision .I met with Mary and she informed me that these types of situations are not always granted in most cases. We decided that since the majority of my sentence had been served without receiving any additional moving violations along with my honest plea, that we had a "fighting chance." :) Mrs. Higdon quickly filed a motion with the courts and three weeks later a hearing was set for a date a month later.-wich I thought was pretty quick! The entire month we were waiting for the judge to hear my plea Mary stayed in contact with me to help me devise a plan. I had never been in this situation before and didn't really know what to expect of the outcome or how this was gonna go-down. Mary told me that she had helped many people out in my situation and told me what I can expect to hear from the judge. After hearing the jyst of what may happen, Mary gave me the total freedom to handle my case how I wanted by asking me what I wanted to say after each and every "potential possible in queries from the judge and the state prosecuter" who I was also up against in this case. :/ lucky me huh?
    On the day of my hearing Mary agreed to meet with me a half hr early to go over everything again with me and made me feel very comfortable with the situation even though it was really less than 50/50 in my case. She was very professional and easy going when approached by the state and I could tell that the gentlemen that was representing for state enjoyed working with her as well judging by his warm greeting and non-combative attitude when Mary asked if they "the state" had any objections towards the grant that we were asking for. To make a 45 min hearing short and rapping up my review with my experience while working with Mary- I got my restricted license and Mary also helped me get more than the usual restrictions by asking the court if I may go to and from work , to and from picking up my son with a verrying time frame in case my exchange time needed extra lee-way, to and from the grocery/ gas station, dr appointments and a couple other places that are evading me at the moment lol. I highly recommend Mary for anyone that may be in my situation because she has had lots of experience and can help guide you through a bumpy time in your life at an affordable rate- mine ended up being about $650 after all was said and done. U really can't find a better, more affordable experienced representation than that. Take it from me, I've looked! The End ha!

  4. First Impressions

    Posted by Daniel, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Higdon.
    • I hired Mary 6-12 months ago.
    • Mary handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    For me entering a lawyer’s office was filled with embarrassment, self-deprecation and a bit of fear of the unkown. I had made a list of lawyers to talk to, and would then make my decision on who to hire based on the first meeting.

    As soon as I walked into Mary Higdon’s office, my plan to talk to any other lawyer was scrapped. Mary made me feel very welcome. She let me voice my fears, let me cry and made me feel much better about myself. My embarrassment while still there, was much relieved.

    My decision to stay with Mary was a great one. She charged me with one set price which was extremely reasonable. She kept me informed during the whole process through email and personal phone calls. She answered all my questions and never once did I feel like I was unsure of what was going on.

    She “held my hand” during the proceedings and even walked with me to my next appointments telling me what to expect and who to follow up with.

    Mary went above and beyond the call of duty when I received a notice regarding driving privileges. I called her and she actually went to the court and took care of the problem for me.

    I would recommend Mary Higdon to anyone, without reservation. She is excellent!

    DWR

  5. A huge Thank You and Reference for Mary Higdon Attorney at Law

    Posted by Doris, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Higdon.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I live in Indianapolis and needed an Attorney in Monroe County for an estate. I didn't have a clue who to hire. I looked up Attorneys and when I found Mary and spoke to her I knew she was the one to help me through this very complex situation. She has been a God send for me. She always gets right back to me if she does not answer herself. She has checked in with me even on week ends and have told me I could call her as well on week ends if I needed her. Naturally I try not to do that as everyone should have a day off, but I have called her a few times on Saturday. She is always very gracious and of course knowledgeable of my needs. I am just very grateful I found her.

  6. Mary Higdon, Your Strongest Advocate

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Higdon.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mary Higdon was there for our family when a member was charged with criminal felonies. From the first call, which was in the middle of the night, Mary was available to us 24/7. She worked tirelessly on weekends, evenings, and holidays. She was always available to counsel, guide, support, and most importantly, listen to us. She was always honest and up front with case details, whether it was good or bad news. She was of great support emotionally and legally to her client, which was important because the rest of the family was out-of-state. Also she worked collaboratively with an out-of-state attorney to give the best defense to her client. She showed continuously how versed she was with the Indiana laws and legal system. In Bloomington, she has a vast network of people that can help in defending your case. Mary Higdon was our strongest advocate!

  7. Very helpful and knowledgable attorney.

    Posted by Suz, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Higdon.
    • I hired Mary 6-12 months ago.
    • Mary handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mary Higdon was of immediate assistance to me when I called her - even cancelling personal plans in order to accommodate my schedule. She was kind and helpful - providing legal information that I was not familiar with in order to manage my particular concerns. I felt comfortable in her presence and appreciated her sensitivity to my situation and I have recommended Mary to friends and relatives and plan to utilize her services in the future when I am in need of legal assistance.

  8. Misdemeanor Case Dismissed!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Higdon.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Very reliable and helpful. Not only helped me in dismissal also saved many trips to Bloomington. Always responded to my emails, calls, even texts and suggested the right next step with all possible options. She put my side effectively and kept me updated on all of my hearings. I would highly recommend her for criminal cases. Looking ahead to seal my case. Thank you Mary!

  9. Unethical, Unreliable, Unbelievable.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mary Higdon.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mary Higdon lost me my right to a jury trial in Morgan County simple because she couldn't not be bothered to pass on or even fax the discovery of my case to the court and public defender on time. She literally had months to do it. I later opted for a public defender after numerous other less notable irritations with Miss Higdon. She was in fact held in contempt of court for that incident in Morgan County but evaded conviction, only I suffered for having hired her by losing my right to a jury trial. Additionally she lied to the judge on another occasion when she appeared in court for me, citing to the court aloud that: I was "at home sick", when infact she had never even informed me of that particular hearing by voice, email or letter ( this was not the courts job in that hearing). When she told me about the hearing later, she was laughing and said : "Don't worry, I told them you were sick it's not a big deal..." Although it was a minor hearing, and a white lie for a minor offense, her blatant dishonesty and unwillingness to simply admit to the court a simple error on her part is actually illegal, not to mention unethical. She cost me time, money, my right to a jury trial and hours of frustration possibly even a conviction for an offense I'm innocent of!. I would of been infinitely better off with NO representation at all not to mention have more money in the bank. I actually sold my cute little Honda CRV to help pay for her "services". At least I have an automatic appeal for having hired her.

    1. Mary Frances Higdon

      Mary Higdon

      Lawyer Comment:

      I was shocked to see this submission from this former client. Due to the Attorney/Client privilege, I am unable to make specific comments about this individual's case, but will say that I patently disagree with the accusations lodged.

      I have never been held in contempt of court, and certainly was not in this matter. I am both conscientious and candid. I have more respect for the profession, my clients, and myself than to intentionally deceive a court of law.

      Having a presence on AVVO is a choice an attorney makes, full well knowing that clients can say whatever they want about you. I am confident in my decision to do so however, despite the claims of this former client, as this opinion is an aberration from the feedback I receive from clients on a regular basis who express satisfaction with my representation.

      Mary Higdon

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  10. Very Honest and Forthright Person

    Posted by Ken, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Higdon.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Juvenile matter.

    I got a free phone consultation with her. She gave me the right advice for my son in IU. She explained the process clearly and provided the guidance I needed to make me more at ease.

812-961-8333