Duydan Hoang Vu’s Reviews

Duydan Hoang Vu

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Family Trust

    Posted by Etta, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duydan Vu.
    • Duydan handled my Trusts matter.

    I have already recommended Mr. Vu to my parents, my brother and my sister. And also will recommend to anyone else looking for someone to help them in any way.

    We set up a Family Trust and I had been checking on line, getting information by mail, but everything is so confusing, and Mr. Vu helped us through this maze and we are exceptionally satisfied.

  2. Thankful for Mr. Vu and his professional work

    Posted by Sally, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duydan Vu.
    • I hired Duydan 1-3 years ago.
    • Duydan handled my Elder Law matter.

    I called the office of Cooper and Adel for help in a stressful problem faced I am sure by many senior widows and widowers. In 2001, my husband had to go to a nursing home as his illness had caused him to become dangerous and violent. Both of us had worked for 30 years..he had retired at age 55 to enjoy fishing and traveling...he was diagnosed with his illness 4 years after retirement. As a teacher, I continued to work until I had to take a medical leave to care for him. As he became more and more unstable...it was impossible for me to continue his care. We paid all of his retirement and social security except 40 dollars to the nursing homes (he was in 3 different ones)...all of his annuity and half of mine went to the facilities until we finally were forced to go to medicaid. I desparately held on to our home and all the bills on just my retirement. He spent 6 plus years in the facilities until his death in 2007. A month or so after his death I received a letter saying that there would be lien placed on the only thing I had left...my home. The amount was unbelievable. I contacted my lawyer that I had used for wills, etc....but they did not understand the elder law and made me think there was no hope that my home could be saved for my children...especially for my daughter and family....because she has been diagnosed with the same illness that was inherited. Last winter I felt totally defeated that I couldn't do anything to help myself. I decided to call Cooper and Adel to talk to someone about this problem. Mr Vu was assigned to talk to me. Very quickly he assured me that something could be done. He worked diligently on helping me solve this stressful problem. He was able to prove my situation and give me the advice I needed. I cannot thank him enough for his knowledge and expertise in Elder Law..and for all his help in this matter. Thank you Mr. Vu....You are a fantastic lawyer....

  3. Meeting with Dan

    Posted by a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duydan Vu.
    • I hired Duydan 1-3 years ago.
    • Duydan handled my Trusts matter.

    I feel that Dan is very knowledgeable in the field of trust attorney. He is very thorough in his presentation at the meeting and review of a trust. I feel very confident having him.

  4. Satisfied client

    Posted by Sylvia, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Duydan Vu.
    • I hired Duydan 1-3 years ago.
    • Duydan handled my Elder Law matter.

    Dan setup our original trust and we were well satisfied with his knowledge and expeertise. We recently contaced the office with some questions and it was immediately suggested we come in for a review at no cost

  5. Trust updates * attentive and proactive

    Posted by Heather, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duydan Vu.
    • I hired Duydan 1-3 years ago.
    • Duydan handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I met with Dan recently to update a trust we had previously set up. He was very thorough in reviewing what the current set-up was and some newer options that have come available since the initial set-up. He took the time to review updates we needed to make, took on updating car titles to meet the needs of the trust designation and beneficiary updates to financial accounts then set up a second meeting to review final updates and signing of the trust amendments. We really felt comfortable that this was handled thoroughly and competently by Dan and his staffers. I plan to use Dan for future legal issues as necessary.

  6. D. Vu Endorsement

    Posted by John, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duydan Vu.
    • I hired Duydan more than 3 years ago.
    • Duydan handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My wife & I have worked pretty much exclusively with Mr. Vu, while he has been with the law firm of Cooper, Adel & Associates. He has worked with us on setting up and adjusting our family trusts. We find him knowledgeable, friendly, patient and current on all legal aspects regarding our trusts. He returns all e-mails and phone calls promptly. We value his input and ask for him, personally, whenever we have a question or concern. We have recommended him to friends.

  7. retired insurance underwriter

    Posted by Bekki, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duydan Vu.
    • I hired Duydan more than 3 years ago.
    • Duydan handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have been very happy with services received. He is very professional and has a great amount of knowledge. If he doesn't have a answer to my questions, he does the research and gets back to me in a timely manner. I am a very satisfied client. I would and have recommended him to other people.

  8. Dan Vu review and recommendation

    Posted by Angie, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duydan Vu.
    • I hired Duydan 1-3 years ago.
    • Duydan handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I first met Dan Vu, back in February 2012 along with my parents. Dan shared with us options for my aging parents, e.g., trusts, VA benefits, and protecting assests, and got things rolling right away. He first set up a trust for them.
    My dad is a Veteran, so Dan immediately put us in touch with Steve, their VA expert.
    Dan and all his staff have been extremely helpful. They have a wonderful team where each person has their own specialized field so all your questions are answered quickly.

    Dan takes the time and I feel he sincerely cares about his clients. I went into this situation not knowing anything and I have quickly learned a lot.

    I would recommend Dan and his team to anyone needing help and direction for elderly parents. There is a lot of help out there that the average person probably is not aware of. Dan and his team will find it for you, if it is available, and save you money in the process.

  9. Duydan (Dan) Vu review and recommendation

    Posted by Russ, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duydan Vu.
    • I hired Duydan more than 3 years ago.
    • Duydan handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My sister and I engaged Dan and his group about 2 years ago when we were faced with preparing for our parents' move from their personal residence to an independent living environment. Over the last couple of years Dan assisted us with Veterans benefits for my father and Medicaid for both my parents. During this time my parents developed dementia and had to move to an extended care facility.

    We met with Dan and explained our parents' situation and our concerns in making sure they received the best possible care. Dan listened closely, gathered all the facts, and then prepared specific alternatives for us within a couple of weeks.

    Dan handled all the financial issues facing us. He managed to get our parents qualified for Medicaid, and my father for Veterans' pension, while preserving nearly all of their assets.

    My sister and I were freed to focus on providing the best possible care for our parents, confident that we could afford it.

    I don't know how we would have been able to navigate all the government forms and red tape without Dan's help. Whenever we had to deal with Veterans or Medicaid we just told Dan and he provided complete directions and documents to handle the situation. In fact, Dan's group took on the task of personally meeting with the Department of Job and Family Services throughout the entire process.

    I would certainly recommend Dan to anyone faced with providing for the care for aging parents.