Skip to main content
Thomas Gregory Haren

Thomas Haren’s Answers

27 total

  • Felony Assault 2 Charge for 1st time offender, took a plea & just went to referred Probation-PSI. What are chances of Probation

    A friend took a plea deal for feloniuos assault 2 charge, 19 years old, first time offense, went to referred probation PSI, what are the odds for probation? How much time may the individual get if sentenced? Ohio law states 2 to 8 years for this ...

    Thomas’s Answer

    It's understandable that you would be scared for your friend. This is a scary time. Without knowing more about your case, it's hard to say one way or another. Your friend should talk to his or her lawyer to prepare the best possible arguments at sentencing. There are things that can be done that will not only help get the most favorable sentence possible, but will also help your friend from a personal standpoint. It's important to talk about doing those kinds of things with his or her lawyer.

    See question 
  • How long after being sentenced can I fill for an appeal in Ohio, on a felony case that I accepted a plea bargain on?

    I only accepted the plea cause my public defender talked me into it but now feel like I got screwed by doing it.

    Thomas’s Answer

    Where a person accepts a plea, his or her grounds for appeal are much more limited than if he or she had gotten convicted. Anybody considering an appeal should consult with a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible, so that the appeal can be filed within the applicable time limits.

    See question 
  • Pulled over for DUI but I dont think the police had a right to stop me

    I was pulled over and given a DUI because someone called in and said I swerved. They didn't observe me drinking. The cop didn't follow me but two streets. I believe i drove fine knowing he was behind me. Is that reason enough to pull me over? and...

    Thomas’s Answer

    If police do not have the right to stop a vehicle, then any evidence obtained as a result of the unlawful stop can be suppressed, including the result of a breath test. In any DUI case there are important, time-sensitive concerns that have to be addressed by a DUI defense attorney. It's impossible to judge your case from a simple internet posting, so I recommend that you speak with an attorney as soon as possible about your case in order to protect your rights and your license.

    See question 
  • Charged with my first ovi in 7 years in ohio.

    Had one in 97 and in 05 as well. I refused the breath test this time.

    Thomas’s Answer

    If a person refuses a breath test after being arrested for OVI, any previous conviction within 20 years can be considered for purposes of enhancing the potential sentences. You should speak with an attorney as soon as possible to discuss the particular circumstances of your case.

    See question 
  • I just got an ovi , my first one in seven years. I refused the breath test. Is this still considered my first one?I live in ohio

    i had ovi's in 1997 and 2005

    Thomas’s Answer

    If a person refuses a breath test, then any prior OVI in the last 20 years is fair game for increasing the minimum mandatory jail sentences. You need to speak with an attorney about your case as soon as possible, because you are facing some serious penalties.

    See question 
  • What happens if a 19 year old gets an underage drinking ticket in kent Ohio.

    First time offender.

    Thomas’s Answer

    I agree. A "ticket" for underage drinking can carry stiff penalties, including a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 180 days in jail. Diversion is possible, as well. Anybody charged with a criminal offense should speak to a criminal defense attorney about his or her case as soon as possible.

    See question 
  • Probation violation in oh for a 19 year old

    I was sentenced to 9 months in jail but 6 months were suspended. I served 3 months with a year of probation. I have 3 months of probation left. I violated probation by not be able to make it to alcohol assesment in a 2 month period. I have a court...

    Thomas’s Answer

    Any time a person violates a term of probation, the judge has the ability to impose the remainder of the suspended sentence. The judge can also impose other sanctions, and can continue the original term of probation. You need to speak with an attorney about your case as soon as possible to discuss your particular circumstances.

    See question 
  • I was put on inactive probation, given fines and community service for a FIRST charge of my two dogs gettong out of the yard.

    I didnt do my community service because Dr, ordered me to be on crutches, no using leg, couldnt get ahold of PO, she wont return calls, now court date set for sept 7, am I going to jail?

    Thomas’s Answer

    What you need to do is hire an attorney to attend your probation violation with you. Your attorney can work with you to explain your circumstances to the court to avoid an adverse outcome.

    See question 
  • How do i go about trying to get my boyfriend out of jail? who do i talk to and what do i ask?

    went to jail for missing a visit wit his po and now they indited him wit an old weed trafficking case and his bond is $300

    Thomas’s Answer

    First, your boyfriend needs to speak with a good attorney about his case. You can get a person out of jail by "bailing him out," or paying 10% of the bond. Or, his attorney can make a bond argument at his first court date to try to get the bond reduced. Regardless, he needs to speak with an attorney who can help him with his particular circumstances.

    See question 
  • I have a felony conviction for Arson IV. If I get it pardoned in ohio and apply for nursing jobs do i have to disclose it?

    I am not eligable for expungement because its a violent crime. Otherwise I could. I have already been censured by the ohio board of nursing and am allowed to keep my license with provisions. When applying to hospitals, will I have to disclose the...

    Thomas’s Answer

    Yes. Pardons don't seal the record or "undo" the conviction. They only excuse the punishment. The offense will still be on your record. That being said, you should still consult an attorney to discuss the particular circumstances of your case.

    See question