Juan Paolo Pasia Sarmiento’s Reviews

Juan Paolo Pasia Sarmiento

Average Rating

Based on 104 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Thank you

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Juan Sarmiento.

    I really had good experience with JP and his assistants. My green card case went smooth with their help and support. People who work their very responsible, knowledgeable, supportive, always respond to my emails. Thank you for my green card, now me and my husband can really plan a lot here in this country.

  2. Two thumbs up!

    Posted by Cherry, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Juan Sarmiento.
    • I hired Juan 1-6 months ago.
    • Juan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Atty. Jp Sarmiento is simply the best. It's not easy for me to trust someone well esp. lawyers but when he helped me get my waiver for me to file the green card and he gave me all the info and always answer to all my emails, I knew then he is one of the few lawyers I can trust. Even my husband feels the same way with me when it comes to trusting lawyers because he had a bad experience. Atty. Jp has proven that he deserves our trust together with his associates. I would recommend his firm. I got my green card with ease. They are very professional and take their jobs seriously. Atty Jp Sarmiento definitely exudes my expectation.

  3. J2 Waiver to Permanent Residency

    Posted by Temmy, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Juan Sarmiento.
    • I hired Juan 1-6 months ago.
    • Juan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am so grateful for JP Sarmiento Law firm for helping me process my immigration case from obtaining a J2 Waiver to Permanent Residency. Thank you JP Sarmiento for all your swift response to my emails,Juan for taking time out to prepare us for the interview,the account team,Arty for the updates in regards to my case. Kudos to you all and God bless!

  4. Excellent Immigration lawyer

    Posted by kanakadas,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Juan Sarmiento.

    Thank you JP and his firm, you made my dream come true, with your sound knowledge and experience. I got my H1b, its because of you my RFE got cleared and my petition got approved. you are truly knowledgeable. your prompt action I should highly appreciate. Being 10000 miles away my all quires are answered and resolved in no time and you make sure I completely understand and satisfied,
    you are truly excellent , Thank you Once again.

  5. Pleasant to work with

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Juan Sarmiento.
    • I hired Juan 1-6 months ago.
    • Juan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a realy good experience with JP Sarmiento law firm. I mostly communicated with JP himself. He was very fast to respond to my emails all the time and even though we never met in person because me and my husband are from columbus oh and his law firm is located in Cleveland we never had any problems. I feel like my case to get a green card based on marriage was handled really professionally and quickly. Never had any problems trying to reach him if I had any questions. I would definitely recommend him as a trustworthy professional album also friendly and caring layer.

  6. Death of petitioner for permanent residency application

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Juan Sarmiento.
    • I hired Juan 1-3 years ago.
    • Juan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My case involved a family based permanent residency application where the petitioner died before the priority date became current. I became aware of the new law that allowed beneficiaries to continue the permanent residency process even though the petioiner had died. I first spoke to another attorney who was willing to take my case but had no experience with this particular law. I found the Sarmiento immigration law firm after performing a web search for attorneys who had handled permanent residency cases where the petitioner had died. One of the success stories on the firms' website described how the Sarmiento law firm had helped their client gain permanent residency using this particular law. At first ,I was a bit skeptical about hiring an attorney who was located hundred of miles away. I spoke to Mr. Sarmiento and was impressed with his knowledge and prior experience. I hired the Sarmiento law firm and they started to work on my case immediately. My I-485 was filed, the firm responded to the RFE's and one of the attorneys traveled from Ohio to Atlanta to accompany me to my interview. Almost 10 years after the petitioner died and over 16 years since the petition was originally filed, my I-485 has been approved!

  7. J-2 Waiver (over 21) Success - Highly Recommend this Lawyer

    Posted by Jessica, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Juan Sarmiento.
    • I hired Juan 6-12 months ago.
    • Juan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I highly recommend JP Sarmiento to anyone who needs immigration related law services. I filed my J-2 waiver through his firm and it was an extremely positive experience. Two months ago, I was notified by my immigration lawyer that I was still subject to J-visa 2-year bar even though my father has already fulfilled his two years long time ago. This was a huge headache for me because I was about to submit my I-485 and this would make me ineligible for green card. My I-485 lawyer and his lawyer friends have never even heard of the fact that J-2 can apply for a waiver independent of J-1 under certain circumstances. I was desperate and was doing intensive internet research to find a solution to this problem. I found JP Sarmiento's firm and another firm through the research. I reached out to both of them because I really do not have any other choices. JP responded the next day and answered all my questions directly but the other firm wanted to charge hourly consultation fees to provide answers. I was impressed by JP's professionalism and willingness to help without me paying so I decided to file my case throug his firm. This is definitely a right decision I have made. He is very knowledgable and knows what he is doing. He prepared my case with great attention. During the entire process, he has been extremely responsive and professional. He always gets back to me quickly(usually within a day) with clear and honest answers. He submitted my case soon after I signed the contract with him and charged a reasonable fee. My case was approved yesterday. This proves that J-2 waiver is do-able through his firm. I definitely would go back to him for any future immigration service needs.

  8. We did the best choice!

    Posted by Zin Thu Zar,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Juan Sarmiento.

    First of all, I and my husband would like to thank "JP Sarmiento and his team" for helping us through my immigration process.
    After thoroughly reviewing different law firm from the web within our limit, we retained "Sarmiento Immigration Law Firm". From J1 waiver application to Green Crad application, they prepare all the requirements step by step.
    They never hesitate to answer your questions whether by e-mail or phone. They are happy to explain something you do not understand. My green card was approved on the day of interview.
    We are happy that we did the right and best choice. The team of "Sarmiento law Firm" is really wonderful!
    We'd like to recommend "Sarmiento Immigration Law Firm" to those who need to work on immigration based issue.
    All our bests......

  9. Very competent and honest lawyer

    Posted by Andreia P, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Juan Sarmiento.
    • I hired Juan 6-12 months ago.
    • Juan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After some years of disappointments with dishonest lawyers in NYC, I met JP Sarmiento doing some online research. I followed his excellent website and all his outstanding reviews. I emailed him with some questions no one answered me before, but JP was very responsive and compassionate during all this anxious time of my life. All I can say is that he is the most honest, compassionate, responsible and knowledgeable immigration attorney on the East Cost for me and HE DOES know exactly what he is doing.............He prepared my case 100% perfect and he was always very response as few lawyers in this country. He also has a very good office staff and everybody who works with him has been very responsible. Sarmiento Immigration is a very trustable immigration law firm on the East Cost and I highly recommend his office. My husband and I started our case in February in different state, after a few months we moved back to NYC and we requested our interview be scheduled in NYC. We finally got our interview (green card based on marriage to usc) on July 18 in NYC, everything went so perfect because JP prepared our case very well as well as all his advice which we always listened. We also had a good interview preparation from Attorney Glen (who works with JP). I got my passport stamped the same day and I was told that the card would be mailed to my address in 10 days. We live in NYC but me and my husband highly recommend JP Sarmiento Immigration to anyone who would like to find an outstanding, honest , responsive and knowledgeable immigration attorney. WIth JP you can be sure that you will get solved your case whatever your situation are. JP , thank you so much for being always nice, responsive, profissional and compassionate person, an outstanding human being and the best immigration attorney I ever met.

  10. Thank you, Mr. Sarmiento

    Posted by Yibulayin, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Juan Sarmiento.
    • I hired Juan more than 3 years ago.
    • Juan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found this lawyer, Mr. Sarmiento, from his website. His website gave you very detailed information and makes you feel you can trust him. My final approval on July 10th, 2014 for my J-2 application confirmed that he is an excellent and experienced lawyer. He helped me with answering my questions very positively and honestly and gathering the required documents with detailed instructions. Even after he heard I have two children and work for my PhD, he agreed to give me 20% discount on payment. I'm really glad I decided to let him be my lawyer and really appreciate his great help.