Stephen Samuel Crandall’s Reviews

Stephen Samuel Crandall

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Personal Injury Review

    Posted by Ruth, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Crandall.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Personal Injury matter.

    Steve was very friendly and made me feel comfortable right away. He was always available when I had questions and concerns. His staff were very concerned and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone.

  2. Stephen Crandall : Wonderful, Compassionate, Hardworking, Trustworthy, Capable Attorney

    Posted by Barb, a Wrongful Death client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Crandall.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Wrongful Death matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Steve Crandall two years ago after the death of my husband. My husband and father to our four children went in for elective surgery and tragically died because the signs of a leak at the surgery site went unnoticed and he developed sepsis and peritonitis. Steve came to our home to talk to my children and I, right away he impressed me with his credentials and knowledge and I could tell that he was compassionate and caring. Our case was difficult because we did not have an autopsy to prove negligence but Steve took the case anyway. He was even told at one point by an expert that we had no case but he did not give up and spent night and day pouring over the records. As we prepared for a trial he kept us well informed about what was taking place and about what would take place. He was very good about getting back to me if I had any questions and had to leave a voicemail or when I emailed him. He listened to my concerns, calmed any fears or anxiety within me, and encouraged me throughout the process. He made my children and I feel that we were very important to him. I felt that not only was he fighting for us but that even though he never met my husband it was as though he was fighting for him also, that to him his life and the loss of it were worth the fight also. I sat in on the surgeon's deposition and Steve absolutely blew my mind with his skills and ability. Right then and there he proved that the doctor was dishonest and was guilty. His medical knowledge is amazing! Steve was always up front and honest with me. I pursued this lawsuit because I wanted the doctor proven guilty believing that would satisfy a need for revenge but Steve settled that matter in my mind when he told me that the goal of the suit was to provide financial security for me, helping me to let the need for revenge go. Steve Crandall is an attorney with a good heart and any one who hires him will see that his heart is in what he does, that he truly cares for those he serves. Our case did not go to trial, Steve got us a settlement beforehand. The settlement was suffice to help me pay off debt that I was struggling to pay and provide for my future as well as my teenage daughter's. Even after the settlement was approved by the judge he has given me valuable advice on how to best use the money. I CANNOT EVER SAY ENOUGH GOOD THINGS ABOUT STEVE OR EVER THANK HIM ENOUGH!!! ANY ONE WHO NEEDS AN ATTORNEY FOR ANY OF THE AREAS THAT STEVE PRACTICES CANNOT GO WRONG IN HIRING HIM. HE IS SIMPLY THE BEST, HANDS DOWN AND I HIGHLY RECOMMEND HIM!!!!

  3. STEPHEN CRANDALL - An attorney who is "truly" in your corner!

    Posted by Dean, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Crandall.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We hired Stephen Crandall when we had a medical malpractice issue and we couldn't be more pleased with the outcome. Throughout the entire process (which is quite lengthy) Stephen continuously kept us informed with any and all legal processes. Stephen was honest and passionate about our case and even with my constant (arm chair legal advice) questions and statements, he continued to listen and advise honestly and to the point. Once our court date had arrived, Stephen eased our nerves by being relaxed and professional, definitely carrying himself with the confidence of a well prepared and experienced trial lawyer along with the demeanor of a friend who is definitely there for you. Throughout the trial he showed his experience by never becoming rattled by the oppositions attorneys, or their tactics and questions, he was always one or two steps ahead of the defense and his passion for our particular case was apparent not only to us, but the jury as well. Stephen restored our faith in the legal system and attorneys in general. My wife and I both consider him a friend and the only attorney we would ever consider if we ever become entangled in the legal system again.
    I wish I could have video taped the entire trial, I would have had the camera on Stephen only. There were times that the defense was putting on quite a show, and I looked over at Stephen and he sat there seemingly way too relaxed and I thought only half listening, then it was his turn to cross the witness, WOW, he didn't miss a thing, he stayed calm and asked all the right questions, made all the right statements and owned that court room...IMPRESSIVE!! He knew our case inside and out, he had done his work, and he was better prepared than anyone else in that room, and he continued that impressive work every day we were there, he was great!! I have to say the television attorneys even the best of them could not hold a candle to Stephen S. Crandall, I see the awards and accolades call him one of the top 10 in Ohio and one of the top 5 in Cleveland, in my opinion there can't be anyone better, he has to be the number one attorney in Ohio and Cleveland, Maybe even the country.
    We won our case, or I should say Stephen Crandall won our case for us, he got to know us on a personal level, then he learned the case, then he prepared us, and became prepared for the trial, then he performed a fantastic job at trial, and now he continues to see how we are doing, he keeps in touch and makes sure we are okay.
    Stephen not only is the best at what he does in the court room, Stephen truly does care, about you and your case.
    I say it every time I speak to him, but I have to say it again here...THANK YOU

  4. Lucky to have Steve on our side

    Posted by Ginger, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Crandall.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Steve is very dedicated to his clients and extremely knowledgeable in all aspects of his field.You want an attorney who will listen to you and who also has compassion about your case and family.Steve walked us through the entire process step by step.We were never given any false hope but,always assured us he would do everything he could do for our family.There are no surprises from the start you will be walked through the entire process.We were notified of all conversations,and any meetings that would take place.He will also go as far as coming out to your home.What we also found very helpful is his response time if you had questions.Tho our case was extremely challenging, because we were going up against a top rated hospital.There for we were turned away by a couple other attorneys.Honestly Steve was hesitant at first but,after explaining everything to him he believed in how strong we felt about what had happened to our son,that he decided to pursue our case.As I discussed our case was a challenging one due to my sons already preexisting medical condition.In their eyes his life had no merit.At least that's what they made it seem.Our son now has irreversible lung damage due to the negligence.Steve saved us possible years of going through court.Years that could've been wasted!Although no amount of money can change the outcome of what happened.Thanks to Steve we now can enjoy the time that we have with our son and not have the worries of debt that we once had!

  5. honest and trust worthy

    Posted by Pamela, a Wrongful Death client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Crandall.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Wrongful Death matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    A few years ago, my father died as a result of a cancer which was misdiagnosed. As a result of his illness, my father's medical care depleted his entire retirement savings. My mother who was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis was left with the daunting task of trying to settle these debts. Atty Crandall was very instrumental in helping my parents to protect their rights. Given the fact that my husband and I are both physicians, it was a very difficult decision for us to pursue legal actions against my father's physician. However, Steve was very respectful of our situation and was easy to work with. Though my father died before the case could be settled, Steve worked hard to obtain a settlement which not only took care of his debts, it also allowed my mother to recover much of the money which had been put away for retirement. In addition, he was helpful in advising her on investments which would provide her with a continued income. As a physician, a plaintiff's attorney is one one the last people that I would usually consider a friend. However, I was so grateful with the way that my parents were treated, Steve is is now considered one of the family. I would highly recommend him.

  6. Recomendation for Stephen Crandall for Medical Malpractice representation

    Posted by Stephen, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Crandall.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Crandall agreed to represent me in a medical malpractice lawsuit that two other lawfirms refused (they stated I had no case). Due to Stephen's diligence, experience, and knowledge of medical procedures I was awarded a significant settlement

  7. MOST TRUSTWORTHY LAWYER I"VE EVER MET

    Posted by LES, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Crandall.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    STEVE ENTERED MY CASE AFTER THREE OTHER LAWYERS HAD KICKED IT AROUND FOR ALMOST TWO YEARS. THE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS WAS ABOUT TO EXPIRE,WHEN STEVE GOT INVOLVED.
    WE WERE GOING UP AGAINST A TOP DR. IN HIS FIELD,WHO WAS WELL RESPECTED AND WELL KNOWN FOR HIS SPECIALTY. I WAS A NOBODY FROM A LITTLE TOWN IN NORTHERN OHIO.
    HOWEVER STEVE DUG INTO THE FACTS OF THE CASE,FOUND THE TRUTH,PREPARED THE EVIDENCE,TOOK THE DEPOSITIONS,GOT THE NECESSARY EXPERT WITNESSES,AND COMFORTED ME WITH ALL MY ANXIOUS QUESTIONS.
    WE WENT TO COURT,THAT IS WHEN I SAW THE BRILLIANCE OF STEVE.HE WAS UP AGAINST A INSURANCE COMPANY LAWYER FOR THE DR,WHO WAS VERY GOOD AT MAKING THINGS SEEM DIFFERENT FROM WHAT THEY ACTUALLY WERE.STEVE PRESENTED MY CASE WITH SUCH PRECISION AND PASSION,IT WAS NEXT TO IMPOSSIBLE TO REACH ANY OTHER CONCLUSION THAN THAT THE DR.HAD DONE WRONG. THE JURY SAW IT THE SAME WAY,AND VOTED 8-0 IN OUR FAVOR. IN MY WORK I HAVE MET MANY LAWYERS FOR DIFFERENT REASONS,HOWEVER NONE HAVE EVER GIVEN ME THE FEELINGS OF TRUSTWORTHINESS OR CONFIDENCE THAT STEVE HAS .HIS EFFORTS ON MY CASE HAVE PROTECTED ME AND MY FAMILY FOR THE REST OF OUR LIVES FINANCIALLY. ALSO I FEEL I HAVE TRULY GAINED A NEW FRIEND BECAUSE OF TYPE OF MAN HE IS.

  8. Thanks Steve

    Posted by Paul, a Wrongful Death client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Crandall.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Wrongful Death matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Steve Crandall investigated my wife’s wrongful death case against a large state run university.
    Going into the case we believed that errors had been made but did not know if the nature of those mistakes would support a lawsuit. Steve investigated the case thoroughly and found additional errors, on top of what we already knew had occurred, which showed a clear series of events which led to the death of my wife.
    Steve kept me informed of the facts of the case and worked with me to set up a timeline so that I was cognizant that the entire process would be lengthy. I was glad I knew this going in because the plodding nature of the case proved emotionally draining.
    Steve also served as a source of support during these long months of fact-finding and negotiation. He was sympathetic to my situation and kept me focused on the fact that the goal of the case was financial security for my family, rather than retribution against the university. This made it easier to negotiate with the university with a clear head rather than an angry heart.
    Steve was very good about keeping my family informed on the progress of the case, giving my family monthly updates on its status. He would even make trips to my house to go over the case at key junctures.
    There were times that I did not fully understand the reasoning behind some of the tactics Steve used, but he was always willing to spell out in detail the reasoning behind his maneuvers. When obstacles would reveal themselves, Steve would address them with me head-on. His honesty about possible pitfalls made it easier for us as a team to decide the most prudent course of action.
    In the end, though time consuming and energy draining, my case resulted in Steve negotiating a very fair settlement that ensures my children will be taken care of in the future.
    Steve’s tireless work has resulted in the closure that I, as well as my children and my wife’s family, needed.
    I worked with Steve for 2 years and never had a doubt about his abilities as a lawyer.

    Paul Little

  9. Client Review

    Posted by a Wrongful Death client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Crandall.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Wrongful Death matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was referred to Steve by a friend of a friend. From the first time I spoke with him, I knew he was the person to be handling my case. He took immediate interest in not only the potential case but also mine and my childrens well being. When presenting me with my options, he always took my personal situation into consideration and clearly explained both sides of the spectrum. I felt that I was able to be to be very open with him and that he was straight forward with me. I truely felt that he was advising me the way he would a member of his own family.
    Steve poseses a wide base of knowledge and experience and the combination serve his clients in the best possible way. He kept me up to date on all that was transpiring, and prepared me with appropriate timelines for future events. My level of trust and comfort zone were both very high and I would nt hesitate to call on Steve again or refer someone very close to me, to him. It's obvious I can't say enough good things about him. He is not only professional and knowledgeable but truely caring and a great lawyer to have on your side!

  10. Thank you, Steve

    Posted by a Wrongful Death client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Crandall.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Wrongful Death matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I cannot begin to describe how Steve Crandall has made an impact on my life. In 2002, I gave birth to a stillborn baby. He should have lived, but due to the gross negligence of my OB/GYN and the incompetence of his staff, he did not survive. I was so angry. I was determined to get justice for my son and make sure that no other children would die at the hands of this monster. That is where Steve came in. From the beginning Steve was compassionate and professional. He really listened to me. I did not know that lawyers like Steve even existed. He worked on my case day and night for 3 years. Steve believed in our case and did not give up in spite of setbacks along the way. His hard work finally paid off when a jury unanimously found the doctor negligent and awarded our family the highest award for a stillborn death in Ohio history. Steve is a man with integrity and a big heart. He gave my son a voice and proved to the world that one little life does matter. Thank you, Steve.

Call now for a free consultation.

844-279-2889