Joseph Aaron Nigh’s Reviews

Joseph Aaron Nigh

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Lifesaver

    Posted by Elza, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Nigh.
    • I hired Joseph 6-12 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joseph represented me in multiple counties regarding different cases, and I could not have had a better person by my side. All paperwork was immaculate and I was always well informed about what was going on. Joseph and his staff were very helpful to me during the most challenging part of my life. I would recommend him to anyone that needs a family lawyer.

  2. Custody Case

    Posted by Robert, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Nigh.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.

    Joe has always been very knowledgeable and honest with my case. He was always available and answered any questions that I had. I appreciated his honesty and availability in my case. I would recommend him to anyone looking for a professional attorney to represent them.

  3. Good Experience and Down to Earth

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Joseph Nigh.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Support matter.

    I was satisfied with the service provided by Joseph Nigh in regards to my recent child support case. He was very accessible and prompt in response to my queries. I was provided with good advice to assist in making decisions which generated a successful outcome in my case.

  4. Very competent attorney

    Posted by Yvonne, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Nigh.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    During a very complex and stressful divorce, I found Joe to be knowledgable and responsive. He continuously provided straight forward guidance in a caring and concerned manner. He listened intently to my concerns and desires and always provided a number of options for me to consider and then would quickly act upon my decisions. Thanks to Joe's knowledge, caring, and experience, I had a very successful outcome.

  5. Custody for Fathers

    Posted by Heath, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Nigh.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.

    I was looking for the best child custody lawyers in Ohio that had a good record of getting the father good results as far as custody is concerned. Joseph Nigh was the attorney I decided to work with and he got started on my case the day after my son was born. In what was a very frustrating and challenging time dealing with the opposing side Joe did a good job of keeping me positive and getting a favorable outcome. He is extremely knowledgeable as is his staff. He was able to get me 50/50 shared parenting while avoiding a costly trial. I highly recommend Joe and his staff to anyone going through a child custody situation especially fathers.

  6. Divorce case

    Posted by Hank, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Nigh.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Joseph Nigh has recently helped with complete my divorce proceedings. I went to three different attorneys prior to finding Joseph. He was able to handle my case in a professional and expedite manner. I would highly recommend him to colleagues.

  7. Professional, Attentive, Knowledgable, Personable, and Kind - Highly Recommended

    Posted by Kim, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Nigh.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joe Nigh was recommended to me by a friend, and I could not be happier that I followed her advice. Joe and the entire staff at Tyack, Blackmore, Liston & Nigh were professional, attentive, knowledgable, personable, and kind. They made the legal process almost pleasant (if that's really possible!) I highly recommend Joe!!

  8. Dedicated, Compassionate, and Committed Advocacy

    Posted by Bob, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Nigh.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I first met Attorney Nigh (Joe) in 2008. At the time, I was in the process of interviewing several attorneys in the Columbus / North Central Ohio area for representation in a very heated and complex child custody matter. Needless to say, during the course of my search for the right lawyer, I interviewed almost a dozen attorneys.

    As I presented my case materials and facts to each of them during initial consultations, most if not all were more concerned with how much of a deposit I would be able to place with them rather than exploring the very serious allegations of safety associated with my son's living arrangements at the time. Those who did express interest in my case, only did a cursory review of the evidence and were quick to dash my hopes of getting custody as a "father" in Ohio.

    Joe not only took the time to actually sit down with me for almost an hour, but was the ONLY attorney who actually took the time to actually analyze the initial facts that I provided him.....and he was honest enough to tell me that my chances of getting full residential custody would be a challenge.

    Throughout the next 3 years of on and off litigation, Joe continued to review copious amounts of evidence with meticulous eyes. Not only was he available to speak to me over the phone at a moment's notice, but the staff at his law firm were also there to support.

    Joe's sense of professionalism extended to both me and my family as we faced a very difficult moment in our lives. Joe would have the compassion to support me, but also maintain a strong sense of unbiased advocacy for my son's best interests.

    In the end, Joe's dedication to helping the court and the GAL to see the true facts and issues in my son's case resulted in me getting FULL RESIDENTIAL CUSTODY of my son.

    Joe is someone who has made an indelible mark on my son's like as well as mine. I will never forget the lengths that he and his staff have gone through over the last few years.

    To be honest, this was a very emotionally and monetarily trying situation as my son's custody case lasted for several years, however, the outcome in the end was well worth it. Joe's perseverance proves what a difference a dedicated attorney can make.

    I would highly recommend Joe to anyone, father or mother, who has need for a strong, knowledgeable, and dedicated family attorney.

  9. Very easy to work with..Joe Nigh

    Posted by Tonya Bolden, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Joseph Nigh.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have turned to Joe for advise as a friend and as my attorney. He has always been straight forward with me which I appreciate. He doesnt speak to me above my head.. he's down to earth with me.

  10. Great attorney!

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Nigh.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    In the past, I have had horrible experiences with attorneys addressing child abuse and custody of my children. They often did not know the details of my case, rarely returned calls or emails, and overall was not effective. I hired Joseph to further address child abuse and custody of my children. Joseph and his firm work closely together to meet client's needs. I am astounded by the level of professionalism, dedication, and great customer service that Joseph and his firm provides. Joseph and his staff ALWAYS respond to phone calls and emails the same business day. He understands the sense of urgency when dealing with sensitive issues like the protection of your children. Joseph always presents himself professionally and ethically. He is a wonderful negotiator and is an effective advocate. If you utilize Joseph's services, you can feel confident that you will have a strong attorney and firm by your side. My case went to a trial and I could not have asked for more. Joseph proved our case and the judge ruled on our behalf. He was prepared, focused, and was our tool to have justice and protection FINALLY. This was truly life changing and my family and I will be forever thankful to Joseph and his staff.