Colin R. Maher’s Answers

Colin R. Maher

Columbus DUI / DWI Attorney.

Contributor Level 9
  1. Can my OVI charge become a conviction if I was never actually "arrested"?

    Answered 9 months ago.

    1. Christopher Lee Beck
    2. Erick Masten Platten
    3. Colin R. Maher
    4. Anthony Michael Solis
    5. Ethan Patrick Meaney
    6. ···
    6 lawyer answers

    Check out 4511.191(A)(4) on the link below. It basically says you give consent to test if incapable of refusal i.e. unconscious.

    9 lawyers agreed with this answer

  2. WHAT IS.. NC FOG?

    Answered 8 months ago.

    1. Colin R. Maher
    2. Andrew Richard Bucher
    3. Derek Anthony Patrin
    3 lawyer answers

    A no contest plea generally results in a finding of guilty which is probably what FOG means. Whatever the amended charge was, it sounds like they were found guilty and were or will be sentenced.

    6 lawyers agreed with this answer

  3. Read the details please

    Answered 8 months ago.

    1. Christopher Lee Beck
    2. Colin R. Maher
    3. Jesse Alexander Atkins
    4. Andrew Stephen Roberts
    5. Jasen Bodie Nielsen
    5 lawyer answers

    As Mr. Beck indicated, an SR 22 should do the trick.

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

  4. Do I need a lawyer for a mip in Ohio? First offense

    Answered 9 months ago.

    1. Christopher Irvin Simser
    2. Colin R. Maher
    3. Christopher Patrick Ulrich
    4. Frank Mascagni III
    4 lawyer answers

    The penalties will depend on your age and the facts surrounding your charge/charges. A local attorney may be able to negotiate some type of diversion. See the link below to learn more about possible penalties with underage charges.

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

  5. What is does it mean if someone is charged with GSI and i was wondering what someone would have to do to get that charge

    Answered 9 months ago.

    1. Colin R. Maher
    2. Alexander M. Ivakhnenko
    3. James Regan
    3 lawyer answers

    There are several reasons one would be charged for gsi. Check out 2907.05(A)1-5

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

  6. Is it illegal for a person to refuse a sobriety test? If so, under what section of Ohio law? Prior OVI conviction 3 yrs ago.

    Answered 9 months ago.

    1. Joseph Donald Hada
    2. Mark Alan Deters
    3. Colin R. Maher
    4. Irina Alexander Vinogradsky
    5. Jeffrey Thomas Perry
    6. ···
    7 lawyer answers

    If you are talking about field tests (one leg, walk and turn, HGN eye test) then no. If you are talking about a chemical test to determine your alcohol content, the law under 4911.191 says you shall submit. It is not technically an offense not to submit, but it will impact the length of your license suspension and the mandatory minimum penalties if you are convicted since you have a prior 3 years ago.

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  7. Do I need to get a lawyer for traffic court?

    Answered 9 months ago.

    1. Colin R. Maher
    2. Donald Michael Gallick
    3. Michael R Crosner
    3 lawyer answers

    Especially with a CDL, you should get an attorney. You will want them there on your behalf to negotiate. No point speeds and dismissals can be a possibility depending on prosecutor policy. Depending on the county, a trial may be necessary. Get someone on board sooner rather than later.

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  8. How long could an inmate be held in custody within franklin county jail in Ohio before receiving his/her indictment papers?

    Answered 7 months ago.

    1. Colin R. Maher
    2. Christopher Lee Beck
    3. Karri Ann Peck
    4. Douglas Alan Funkhouser
    4 lawyer answers

    A preliminary hearing should be held within a reasonable time no longer than 10 days from arrest or service of summons if in custody or 15 days if out of custody (unless extraordinary circumstances exist). Charges are typically dismissed for future indictment meaning the case will be presented to the Grand Jury for determination at a later date. The person shall then be brought to trial within 270 days of arrest on a felony.

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  9. I'm on probation for an OVUAC and I just got a citation for underage possession of alcohol and obstruction of justice. What next

    Answered 7 months ago.

    1. Christopher Lee Beck
    2. Chase Randall Carter
    3. Colin R. Maher
    4. David Charles Shook
    4 lawyer answers

    Given your probation status, you will want to be very careful how you proceed. You should hire a local defense attorney to help fight the new charges or at least negotiate for continuing probation rather than imposing jail.

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  10. I received a citation for possession of drug paraphernalia (minor misdemeanor). I got this dismissed. Can I seal this?

    Answered 7 months ago.

    1. Chase Randall Carter
    2. Christopher Lee Beck
    3. Colin R. Maher
    3 lawyer answers

    Sealing and expungement are two terms used for the same thing. You should be able to have a dismissed drug paraphernalia sealed by filing the necessary paperwork with the court and attending the hearing. An attorney can file the paperwork for you and may be able to attend the hearing without you having to be there (depending on the court).

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer