John Barnes’s Reviews

John Barnes

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. John gets the job done

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Barnes.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I'll keep it simple. He knows the laws but he will fight for your rights. He's a top dollar attorney at a decent price. I will most definitely recommend him to anyone for anything in the future. I really liked the fact that I spoke directly with John ANYTIME that I needed too. Anytime that I expressed a concern, he figured out a way to handle and resolve the situation. My case was a difficult case for him to defend , but he did a great job and in a short amount of time, which saved me money on court costs and time off from work. I am very pleased with the outcome of my case and can begin to move on with my life! You will find some lawyers that are less expensive and some that are more expensive, (trust me, I got estimates ) but I am telling you that for the type of treatment from John and his practice to the outcome that you will get I truly feel that he is priced right. When I retained him as my attorney, he told me "now I want you to do one thing, stop worrying about this and leave everything up to me" .I trusted him ,so I did exactly that. I had 2 court dates, he went to the last one for me which was on a Thursday, by Monday the case was resolved! Now, I don't have to worry about anything! Thank you John for all of your help and your fight in my case. I could not be happier with the outcome!

  2. A brief summary about my experience with John Barnes.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Barnes.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    From the beginning, John was honest and candid with me about what the legal process would entail. He ensured that I had a broad perspective regarding the various scenarios that could occur. Naturally, I was depressed and worried at many points through the ordeal. John was not only supportive and helpful, he genuinely had my best interests in mind as we progressed. A potential deal was on the table that was quite less than ideal, I considered taking it just to be done with the case. However, John renegotiated with the prosecutor. Ultimately, my case was dismissed (best result possible) and I am moving on with my life anxiety-free thanks to his hard work. I will always be thankful for John's service and strongly recommend him to anyone who is searching for a high-quality lawyer.

  3. We highly recommend John Barnes

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Barnes.

    John Barnes worked with us recently on a case for our child in which there was a good deal of harassment,intimidation, and injustice done. We found that he was both caring and very professional. When we needed to meet with or speak to him he responded quickly. We were also pleasantly surprised by how expediently the case was expunged which brought us out of this trial into peace.

  4. Defense lawyer well worth it

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend John Barnes.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    A very good defense lawyer. He is knowledgeable and trustworthy. I recommend him for anyone in need of a defense lawyer. I was arrested for a second DUI where I wasn't intoxicated but bad driving conditions led me to get in an accident. I hired John Barnes and after he took the case he looked at every piece of evidence he could dig up. He informed me that he thought I was innocent and fought the whole time for me. In the end it was dropped down to wreck less driving. I am thankful he is such a good lawyer that actually does what he says and will fight for you

  5. Personal and Detailed

    Posted by Bobby, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Barnes.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was very pleased on how John walked me through and help me see all angles. John was did a fantastic job writing my legal documents and waivers.

  6. EXCELLENT LAW FIRM

    Posted by Kevin, a Banking client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Barnes.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Banking matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have worked with John Barnes for the last several months and I cannot say enough concerning his work ethic and his expertise when it comes to securing a favorable outcome for his clients. He and his staff work tiresly and are very methodic concerning their work. I would highly recommend this law firm.

  7. Don't settle with less than the best

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Barnes.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John Barnes is a very knowledgeable and trustworthy lawyer. I would recommend him to all my friends and colleagues. He represented my son on a 2nd DUI charge. My son was involved in an accident due to faulty windshield wipers during a bad storm, he was arrested and charged with a 2nd DUI. Mr. Barnes did a thorough job investigating the evidence and was able to clear him of the DUI charges. Because of his persistence to not settle for a wrongful judgment, he was able to get the situation resolved. Mr. Barnes may not have 20 years of experience, but he is committed to giving his clients the best possible defense available. I highly recommend him.

  8. Got an impossible plea deal

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Barnes.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    My case was complicated, in that I wasn't even driving. I was parked, and asleep in my car (turned off) on private property. The DA was being especially harsh on me for some reason. Went to court 7 times over a year, and was never offered anything! Finally right before our hearing, Mr.. Barnes was able to get me a plea deal. I don't know how he did it, seeing as DA was insistent on prosecuting me for DUI, and implied consent. Mr. Barnes got me reckless driving with 6 months of scram monitor and 48 hrs. in jail...but I et to keep my license, and not have DUI on my record. Mr. Barnes is a great attorney and worked hard for me over the last year. Also, everyone in their office seems to work as a team. Really appreciate everything that they did for me.

  9. One Great Attorney

    Posted by sierra, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Barnes.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am very satisfied with the way Mr. Barnes handled my case. He was very professional and got a much better outcome than what i had expected. He explained everything in great detail and answered every question i had. Even though i hope i won't need him again, if another problem occurs i will return to him. I will also recommend him to anyone i know without hesitation.

  10. Case Settled

    Posted by Phillip, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Barnes.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    John Barnes handled my case in an effective and professional manner. He represented me and settled my case for a better outcome than I expected. It was a tough case and I am grateful. I would be pleased to have Barnes represent me again, though I am taking steps to change my lifestyle to not need such representation.

    Overall: an excellent job and I recommend John Barnes and the Garza lawfirm to others.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

865-805-5703