Jere Franklin Ownby III’s Reviews

Jere Franklin Ownby III

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very Helpful

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jere Ownby.

    I have not hired this attorney yet. I have only had a telephone consultation with him at this point, but Mr. Ownby was very helpful and brought new information to light. He was insightful and quick to respond to my request for consultation.

  2. Knowledgeable and Insightful

    Posted by Andrea, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jere Ownby.
    • I hired Jere 1-6 months ago.
    • Jere handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I called Mr. Ownby for assistance with my family law situation. I am not sure if I will retain his services for this particular situation, or not, but I appreciated his superb knowledge of he law. He brought tremendous clarity to my situation and offered invaluable insight.

  3. Very professional and highly recommended!

    Posted by Jennifer, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jere Ownby.
    • I hired Jere 1-6 months ago.
    • Jere handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jere was very professional and forthright from the initial consultation to the end of the court case. He reviewed the facts and saw what many prior attorney consultations failed to see and presented those facts and won our case against frivolous charges and accusations from my ex. He took my ex down a few notches and got the results we needed. Jere is frank, honest and will fight for your rights. He knows the law and will use it to your advantage!

  4. killer instinct

    Posted by amber, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jere Ownby.
    • I hired Jere 1-6 months ago.
    • Jere handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When given a day and a half with very little to work with because we were blindsided by the court and the opposition jere nailed each detail with accuracy and even though we are not done yet I have no fear or concern that we will be successful after listening to him in the courtroom. I have been around the courtroom my whole life because of family working in it and with very little to go on jere showed me he could take the ball and roll with it. He is knowledgeable of the law and used it to my advantage to point out the truth.

  5. Jere kicked butt

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jere Ownby.
    • I hired Jere 1-3 years ago.
    • Jere handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I hired Mr. Ownby I felt my challenging case was hopeless. He was confident in the matter because he knows the law. I watched him take control of the court room and put one person after another on their butt. It was impressive. Jere is fair, passionate, confident, and intelligent. I owe him so much for what he did in the court room. He was an ambassador not only for what was right but for my children. He was not going to let my situation which had gotten far beyond out-of-control be taken advantage of any longer. Justice finally got served. Had I not had Jere as my lawyer I know that would not have been the case. I was also impressed with his repoire among the system and peers. He is very well respected.

  6. Got my kids back, kept the trial focused on facts

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jere Ownby.
    • I hired Jere more than 3 years ago.
    • Jere handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would say the odds were stacked against me in my custody case. I was young and unmarried at the time. Two separate parties tried to take my kids through the courts. First a government agency made an attempt. They acted because parts of my extended family (that wanted my children for their own), spun a web of lies that this agency was all too eager to act upon. The government backed off because of Jere's quick intervention. That would have been an easy route for my children to default to the extended family.

    Unhappy with the loss, the extended family filed for custody directly while continuing to push the government to support their case. The second court case was nasty, not because of facts or evidence, but because the judge was willing to accept every speculation presented as fact. At one point Jere said, “don't worry, this judge is making major evidential errors. We may have to appeal, but we'll win”. It turned out he was right. After attending months of multi-hour court room appearances with the first judge, and watching my kids get passed around from home to home, an appeals judge quickly overturned the first judge's ruling.

    Jere remained empathetic the entire time during the long hours spent in the court room. Hours that would have tried anyone's patience. He could have easily given up like some attorney's actually do, but he stayed tenacious. It probably helped that I made myself worth defending by showing up to court with a good attitude and showing that I'm not the negligent monster as portrayed. All said and done, I won full custody of my children against great odds.

  7. The Attorney named "the Winning Bulldog"!!!

    Posted by Mac Tobler, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jere Ownby.
    • I hired Jere 1-3 years ago.
    • Jere handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have worked with Attorney Jere Ownby on many cases and he is totally awesome with giving his clients objective opinion, honest direction and feedback!!! His goal for each case is to meet the needs of his client with the highest level of integrity, commitment, negotiation skills, being accessible and to build healthy relationships. This, along with his “Type A” attention to detail, results in a real bull dog effect for his clients. He is definitely the person you want on your team, not the opposing!!!

  8. review

    Posted by Patricia, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jere Ownby.
    • I hired Jere 1-3 years ago.
    • Jere handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Very good attorney would recommend him to anyone who needs a really good attorney

  9. Jere Ownby is an Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Teri, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jere Ownby.
    • I hired Jere more than 3 years ago.
    • Jere handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We were extremely pleased with the services our attorney, Jere Ownby, did for us involving a child custody case. Mr. Ownby was extremely knowledgable as well as supportive during a very difficult and emotional time for us. He promptly returned our phone calls and emails, even after hours and on weekends when we needed his advice. We highly recommend him, without hesitation.

DO YOU HAVE QUESTONS ABOUT YOUR SITUATION? CALL ME. I CAN HELP.

865-633-6633