Johnny D. Houston Jr.’s Reviews

Johnny D. Houston Jr.

Average Rating

Based on 21 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Phenomenal DUI Layer!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Houston.
    • I hired Johnny 1-6 months ago.
    • Johnny handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was arrested for a DUI and unknowingly did everything possible to compound the problem. Johnny Houston told me everything that I needed to do and we walked out of the courtroom with a reduced sentence of reckless driving. Mr. Houston knows exactly what to say in and outside of the courtroom to get the absolute best result possible for any mistake. I cannot thank him enough for what he did for me!

  2. Mr Houston represented my son in DUI case -- Case Dismissed

    Posted by Dale,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Houston.
    • I hired Johnny 6-12 months ago.

    My adult son in his early 20s was charged with DUI after collision with a phone pole. Tennessee has implied consent laws so when my son declined BAC testing he was immediately taken to jail for processing on DUI charges, facing up to 11 months 29 days of jail time, large fines, skyrocketing car insurance costs, license revocation for 1 year, and DUI on his record for the rest of his life. We spoke with a number of local lawyers and a highly regarded DUI lawyer out of Knoxville. After discussion with Mr. Houston at his office, my son selected Johnny Houston to represent him in court. Mr. Houston made no promises that he could not keep. He was straight forward and honest with my son regarding potential outcomes.

    Mr. Houston charged a flat rate (which was excellent for my son who was expected to pay us back for all costs related to the DUI charge). For this flat rate he represented my son in court three times plus a number of postponements when my son did not need to appear. Mr. Houston went head to head in court with the arresting officer, was always respectful but punched holes in the officers recollection of events. The end result was that the case was dismissed; my son kept his license, no fines, no jail time, no DUI on his record.

    I can't recommend Johnny Houston enough. If you need the best outcome possible, hire him.

  3. Great lawyer Johnny D. Houston saved my career.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Houston.
    • I hired Johnny 1-6 months ago.
    • Johnny handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a single vehicle fender bender and was charged with DUI after having some beers with dinner. I travel for work and my job requires a clean sheet with no Felonies or DUI's. I had no previous record at all and was a nervous wreck about the whole situation. I contacted Mr. Houston on a Sunday and he called me back within 3 hours that same day. Mr. Houston listen to what I had to say and asked many questions regarding what happen. At Mr. Houston's office I was welcomed by his secretary who was helpful and very nice. Mr. Houston worked to get my court date moved up and worked with the courts to help me get through the situation with outstanding results in a timely manner. Mr. Houston was positive and polite to the people in the courts and all that spoke to him seemed to have much respect. I think that it was a godsend to have met Mr. Houston and I would most definitely recommend him to anyone that is in a situation as I was in.

  4. Releived and Free Thanks to Johnny D.!

    Posted by Andrea, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Houston.
    • I hired Johnny 1-3 years ago.
    • Johnny handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Within minutes of speaking with Johnny I knew, he was clearly the guy who could get the job done! Attorney Houston's knowledge and keen legal instinct were evident right off the bat. He is tough and direct with an easy demeanor and effortless charm. It was hard to imagine him ruffled at all. I walked in with a warrant and in less than 30 minutes, he had won me my case. In addition he saved me literally thousands of dollars and I never came close to a jail cel that day. If you need an excellent experienced lawyer to tackle your case like a closer, Johnny D. Houston, Jr. is the one call to make. This is truly the dude!

  5. "Simply ... THE BEST!"

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Houston.
    • I hired Johnny 1-3 years ago.
    • Johnny handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I believe Mr. Houston is absolutely the best criminal defense attorney in the city of Chattanooga, if not the whole state of Tennessee. AFTER wining my DUI case (2ND OFFENSE) in front of a jury, he continued to fight for my right to keep my license (I was charged with implied consent, a charge that is supposed to result in the loss of driver’s license). His battle with the judge and the DA went on for a few months and ultimately, due to Mr. Houston’s “never give up” attitude, the judge finally allowed me to keep my license. Mr. Houston has just the right amount of aggressiveness, paired with a knowledge of the law as well as a real talent for knowing when to NOT push too hard. I have seen several attorneys become overly aggressive and seem to not know when to “shut up.” At the end of the day, it is not the “appearance” of how your lawyer is doing, it is the ACTUAL result that really matters. And, even though, I really should not have been able to keep my license, he was able to save it for me! I won’t ever have a DUI again, but if any of my friends or family ever need legal help, I will make sure that they see Johnny Houston.

  6. He is incredible! Great results and honest!

    Posted by Pat, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Houston.
    • I hired Johnny 6-12 months ago.
    • Johnny handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Great attorney. I hired Mr. Houston in a DUI case that also had a number of criminal charges. I "price-shopped" and spoke with a number of attorneys who seemed like they would say anything to get me to hire them. i am not unsophisticated and I knew that it would be next to impossible to keep me from going to jail. After speaking with Mr. Houston, I knew he was the attorney for me. I wasted A LOT OF TIME, running around speaking to those other lawyers.

    My case took a while and it took much work, knowledge and skill to get the charges reduced.

    One thing that always struck me about Mr. Houston was how every one in the courthouse seemed to know him. Despite being very busy, he greeted each person with a smile. A word to the wise--It is not the most aggressive attorney who will win your case for you, IT IS THE SMARTEST ATTORNEY who will win your case for you. With very little fanfare and almost nobody noticing, Mr. Houston was able to get me the exact result I wanted (much better than I deserved, mind you). An overly aggressive attorney will get you put in jail very quickly. I saw one attorney, he had actually solicited my business while in court, whose poor attitude and obvious disrespect to the judge, got his client thrown right in jail!! Speaking of judges, Mr. Houston is also a criminal judge in a nearby town and sees these cases from all sides of the courtroom.

    In conclusion, my own stupidity put me in a position that would have ruined me financially and would have torn my family apart.

    Mr. Houston saved my rear end!!

  7. DUI Attorney Review

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Houston.
    • I hired Johnny 1-3 years ago.
    • Johnny handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Prior to visiting Houston's office, I had a consultation at another attorney's office. Their lack of personal understanding and empathy led me into Johnny's office. Mr. Houston was recommended by a friend's lawyer in Knoxville, whom was good friends with Johnny. Johnny's understanding and ability to give compassion, for I was terrified and confused, truly gave me TRUTHFUL information around my potentiality to lower my charged offense. He offered ample reassurance of doing the best of his abilities to get my charges dropped. Johnny worked close and kept me informed of my case throughout every question and court date. I would not be where I am today without the help of the Houston/Ziebold team. I highly recommend Mr. Houston for anyone in a bind around DUI/DWI.

  8. Great DUI Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Houston.
    • I hired Johnny 1-3 years ago.
    • Johnny handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I spoke with a few different attorneys before deciding on Johnny. Johnny provided great advice and my case ended with the best possible outcome. His relationships within the court system were essential to its success. I don't think my DUI would have been reduced, had I used a different attorney.

  9. Great Attorney!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Houston.
    • I hired Johnny 1-3 years ago.
    • Johnny handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Johnny Houston is an expert in the field of DUI and Criminal Law. Johnny Houston cares about his clients, and the circumstances of their case, has a wealth of experience in the complex field of DUI/DWI, and is an honest down to earth guy that will do his very best to help you in your case. I heartily recommend that anyone that needs legal assistance in DUI or Criminal Law look no further than Johnny Houston and his team.

  10. If you are in trouble and need the best

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Houston.
    • I hired Johnny 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I did something wrong and was worried sick - literally. Mr. Houston called me on Saturday, met with me on Monday and put my mind at ease. He offered sound advice and may even get my problem completely solved. He is a down to earth regular guy that will take the time to answer every question you will ask. he will not give you false hope where there is none either. I could not say enough good things about the guy!

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

423-267-6715