Jerome P. Hoffer’s Reviews

Jerome P. Hoffer

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I DEFINITELY recommend Mr. Hoffer

    Posted by GraceAnn, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerome Hoffer.
    • I hired Jerome 6-12 months ago.
    • Jerome handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I can't even begin to describe how unbelievably pleased I was with Mr. Hoffer and his staff, too. He's seriously by far the BEST attorney that I could've EVER asked for. First off, I loved the amazing communication that was so fast and informative at any given moment. You are able to communicate with him and his staff through a secure website that even has an app in the AppStore for your phone! Therefore, the communication was so fast and CONVENIENT. He would upload all my documents so I would have them as soon as possible. Any drafts or anything that he sent out to my ex was uploaded for me to see for myself. I could even see where my ex signed for the certified mail that he got served with (divorce and parenting plan). Therefore, I never felt like I was out of the loop. After retaining him, he had a purposed complaint for divorce and purposed parenting plan THAT evening! It was always so reassuring to know I had an attorney that cared about my case and about what was best for me. He always knew the right way to go about something and always knew what to do. My case was uncontested but could have easily gone contested, and I honestly believe how Mr. Hoffer handled it, helped keep it uncontested and from getting nasty. In simple words, he didnt play around with what he sent to the defendant (my ex) and made his points very clear and what would/could happen if my ex did not provide the necessary information. He is very straight forward and gets down to business. My ex eventually got to a point where he just acted like this whole thing did not exist and would NOT sign anything or provide any income information!! Mr. Hoffer of course handled this perfectly and filed a Motion for Default, which was approved with no problem. He represented me in court so seamlessly - because of all his preparation and he just knew the right words to say about how the defendant left me and abandoned both me and my child with NO financial support. I could not have been more thankful with how he got the point across. It did not take long at all in court. It was BEYOND impressive!!! He is so loyal. He was so prepared, such a necessary quality. I first went to him because I had heard so many good things first hand from people I actually know. This man truly knows his stuff!! He took such good care of my case no matter how much I needed things tweaked or anything - my desires were so important to him. I never felt like I was pestering him. When you are going through this hard time in your life, its so important to have confidence in your attorney and that is definitely what you have with him. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE know that Mr. Hoffer is the one to trust with your case!!! There's NO DOUBT about it!

  2. Satisfied Client

    Posted by Ben, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerome Hoffer.
    • I hired Jerome 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerome handled my Child Custody matter.

    I hired Jerry Hoffer to handle my custody case with my daughter. I was informed of what to expect and what the outcome could possibly be from the very beginning. I felt the atmosphere at his office was always professional, and at the same time extremely personal. Everyone at the office knew who I was and what was going on with the case at all times. I am extremely satisfied with the results I recieved, and have recommended Jerry Hoffer to several friends in need of a divorce or family law attorney. Each case is different, and I feel I came out better with the Mr. Hoffer as my attorney than I would have with anyone else. I was able to recieve more parenting time with my daughter, and child support was set at an affordable rate. I have a lot of faith and trust in the capapbilities of Mr. Hoffer and everyone at his office.

  3. Best lawyer in town!

    Posted by Brittney, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerome Hoffer.
    • I hired Jerome 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerome handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Jerry was an extremely professional, supportive, and all around wonderful lawyer. He established excellent rapport to my family and I and made the divorce process as painless as possible. Anytime I had a question, he answered it within the day. One major strength was the communication he gave his clients. I will continue to go to Jerry for any legal advice or assistance that I need.

  4. The only office I'd trust with family matters

    Posted by Brittani, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerome Hoffer.
    • I hired Jerome 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerome handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I went to Jerry's office on a recommendation from someone who works with family legal issues as a profession. Her recommendation was correct: He handled my case knowledgeably, quickly (as the courts would allow), and in a way that made me feel at ease with the whole messy situation. The overall experience with an attorney will always rely heavily on the resident paralegal, as the attorneys themselves are in court and meetings much of the time. This office has the best. Janie was always quick to respond, even if it was just to say, "I don't have an answer now, but am working on it," minimizing my time of uncertainty. There was no point in which I felt like I'd been left hanging out to dry, like I've heard from so many people who have used other representation. In my case especially, our personalities and suggested approaches were complimentary, and he took the time to put things in real perspective to both inform me of all possibilities, yet keep me calm. This has been a trying year for me, because of this case. At the end of it, I'm able to say I got the outcome I preferred, in large part due to Jerry Hoffer.

  5. The best lawyer and the best staff

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jerome Hoffer.
    • I hired Jerome 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerome handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I married a crazy man who terrified me with his threats and intimidation. Mr. Hoffer took the time to explain to me the ins and outs of the divorce process. His secretary was "groovy" (an expression she uses on a daily basis) and was awesome. She went the extra mile working past 5 on many occassions. Many times I witnessed Jerry telling Janie to go home after 5 but she stayed and worked. Theses people love what they do and are good at it. Lawyers aren't cheap and you get what you pay for, and I have never seen a more dedicated office. They really do care.

  6. Thankful for Mr. Hoffer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerome Hoffer.
    • I hired Jerome more than 3 years ago.
    • Jerome handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Hoffer and his staff provided excellent services, and despite the painful process of divorce, they helped me to feel calm, protected, and properly represented.

  7. Very Honest

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerome Hoffer.
    • I hired Jerome more than 3 years ago.
    • Jerome handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Hoffer spent a lot of time wih me before my trial. I was charged with a major felony. We had a jury trial and I was scared to death. He spent six saturdays in a row with me preparing me for the trial and my testimony. I felt like I was prepared and I got the result I wanted. I owe my lawyer my freedom.

  8. First rate

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jerome Hoffer.
    • I hired Jerome more than 3 years ago.
    • Jerome handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Contrary to the other review, I found Jerry to be quite knowledgeable and personable. He handled my case like he was personally in it. He explained to me at length the process, how to testify, what to expect. He even drew a map of what the courtroom looked like. After I sat in court listening to other cases that day, I now know what family law attoreys like Mr. Hoffer have to put up with. I was very pleased.

  9. I felt Mr. Hoffer was too busy to devote the time needed for my case and fell to question the validity of the case in court.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Jerome Hoffer.
    • I hired Jerome more than 3 years ago.
    • Jerome handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I didn't feel that Mr. Hoffer was really vested in the outcome and was going through the motions.He was reccomended as a good lawyer,but he didn't listen to the facts that could have been used in court...only sound bites. Money wasted and nothing resolved. Mr. Hoffer was not aggressive at all. Conflict of interest in a witness that should have been questioned and the fact that Mr. Hoffer is the lawyer for the witness's wife in a divorce case.The validity of the order should have been questioned and disputed because of the false statements. The law states you have to prove or have witnesses to back up your allegations.No one questioned the order.