Skip to main content
Chase Ryan Brown

Chase Brown’s Answers

31 total

  • I have a court date coning up next month,i need a pro bono attorney to represnt me,cant afford one,this is a misdomenor,my first

    time in trouble ever,can anyone please help me??

    Chase’s Answer

    The previous posts are correct - you can have one appointed for you. Make sure you arrive to court on time. You will likely be required to answer questions about your income and any assets. Answer truthfully, as this is a legal document. Afterwards and, if the court finds that you are eligible, you will be appointed an attorney and will have the opportunity to speak with him or her right then. Good luck!

    See question 
  • I was pulled over on a revoked license. I'm on probation for 1st time DUI. What will happen when I go to book myself in?

    There was no other traffic violation involved. The officer just scanned my plate, then pulled me over. He said all they my probably do is issue fines & a driving class. Could that be true?

    Chase’s Answer

    A charge of driving on a revoked license during your probationary period subjects you to jail time. The booking process itself is nothing to fear, but beyond that this isn't something you want to face on your own. When they give you the date of your first court appearance, go in with an attorney.

    See question 
  • Is lieing on a legal document considered perjury?

    Such as a motion, petition, affadavit, or arrest warrant. If so, is it a crime or against the law and is it prosecutable?

    Chase’s Answer

    Under the Tennessee Code, knowingly making a false statement under oath or an official document is a chargeable offense carrying up to 11 months and 29 days in jail as a Class A misdemeanor. (See TCA 39-16-702). Ultimately, "intent to deceive" is key. It's unclear where you are in terms of your question, but if you think you're in hot water, contact an attorney soon to discuss your rights and options. A "crime of dishonesty" is definitely something you don't want following you around on any future job application.

    See question 
  • Question about simple possession (marijuana) and paraphernalia.

    My 18 year old son was arrested for simple possession and paraphernalia. The bond was $1,000.00. I was told by quite a few people that is a really low bond amount. I am just curious............is that a really low bond amount for those charges i...

    Chase’s Answer

    • Selected as best answer

    Simple possession and paraphernalia charges in Tennessee normally require a citation and release of the accused, unless some exception applies. In any event, your bond amount is par for the course. TCA 40-11-105 provides that "...in no event may a clerk set the amount of bail in excess of ... $1,000 if the defendant was charged with a misdemeanor" unless the defendant is deemed a flight risk.

    See question 
  • Can I go to court for being in a TN park after dark?

    My sister, friend, and I were at a park and a police officer came around. He didn't get out of the car, and all we heard were muffled radio mumblings. Could he write down our license plate numbers and arrest/summon/charge us? We are underage. He n...

    Chase’s Answer

    No worries now. In the future keep in mind most parks usually have a sign posted which designates the opening and closing hours of the park. Remaining on the property after hours can result in a criminal trespass charge if you're not careful.

    See question 
  • What rights does someone have if accused of theft over $500 and is innocent but being investigated. They want to issue warrant??

    this is over a stupid cell phone. Several people were there although only one person is accused and is my fiance. they gave him the option to take a polygraph although he has been advised not to take one or say anything. The detective wants to iss...

    Chase’s Answer

    The best thing you can do right now is know your rights as you cooperate with this investigation. Most criminal lawyers don't charge for an initial consultation, so it wouldn't be a bad idea to schedule one in your area. I'm wondering if you didn't intend to write "theft under 500," which seems to adequately reflect the value of the missing property. In which case, this charge would register as a simple misdemeanor. Good luck!

    See question 
  • My brother violate parole, will he have to go back to prison? Do we need to get him a lawyer?

    My brother was out on parole. He got arrested last month for not having a tag on a friends motorcycle he was driving. The officer also smelled alcohol on him and he was also arrested for DUI. My brother says he was not drunk at the time. He made ...

    Chase’s Answer

    A parolee is subject to having his parole revoked and being returned to prison if he is found to have violated the conditions of his parole. It sounds like your brother has made some great progress over the last seven years. A lawyer can help. If you have a court date just around the corner, you should contact a lawyer soon so that he or she can guide you through this process and help come up with a plan at court.

    See question 
  • My husband is in jail for a probation violation but the charge that got him violated later got retired so we filed a motion

    For a sentence reduction because the judge still got jurisdiction over him so the district attorney said if we go forward with our motion she will bring the charge back up so in the end we just got another court date . please tell me what do you ...

    Chase’s Answer

    A little more information on your case would help, such as the underlying charge and the new charge that was retired. Technically, a new arrest qualifies as a violation of probation, but the fact that the charge was retired obviously falls in your husband's favor. If you haven't already, you need to contact an attorney so you can flesh out the facts and get a better handle on the situation. With a clear understanding of the charges, he or she will be better-suited to navigate the decision-making process.

    See question 
  • Aggravated robbery on a pharmacy,will the judge take addiction in consideration and what options of sentencing could they give?

    No record what so ever, 18 yrs old, I have the disease of addiction. as soon as I bonded out went to treatment. Getting a decent job soon, and possibly start college online classes. As well as attend my Alcoholics and Narcotics Anonymous meetings ...

    Chase’s Answer

    It's good you're getting help, so keep that up. It's not clear from your question whether or not your case is resolved, or if you have pleaded guilty and are going to have a sentencing hearing before the judge. It appears you're eligible for probation, but the judge is going to consider a list of factors before he or she makes this determination. The fact that you are getting help right now is a positive factor, but the law requires other factors to be taken into consideration as well, such as the nature of the offense. At day's end, the judge's decision may include jail time, probation, or a combination of both. You definitely need to contact a reputable criminal defense lawyer in your area if you haven't already. Good luck

    See question 
  • Do I have to re-report to my probation officer after my sentencing?

    I was on probation for a possession charge, I made a big mistake and got a dui at the very end of probation; I only have 2 months left, everything was paid, was on unsuspended probation (Not sure the actual term but the one where you don't have to...

    Chase’s Answer

    I agree with the above post. Your PO is your best friend in situations such as these, so I would always err on the side of keeping him overly informed. If you haven't contacted him already, give him a shout to keep you two on the same page.

    See question