Thomas Travis Overton’s Reviews

Thomas Travis Overton

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DUI Reduced to Reckless Driving!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Overton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-6 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was taken to jail for failure to consent to an alcohol test and I was charged with DUI. The next day I called Tommy Overton. I had heard for years about his great reputation as a DUI attorney and many years of being a top attorney here in Nashville. He has a calm and steady manner that only a seasoned confident attorney can give - I felt calmer after meeting with him and he told me he would do all he could, even though he could not predict the outcome. I provided all the details along with receipts from my evening to Mr. Overton. My case was reduced to reckless driving! Tommy was great about breaking down BEFORE and AFTER my court appearance what I needed to be aware of and what was expected of me and his insight into all that was happening. It's clear to see what a great person he is, in addition to floating with ease around the courtroom. It's as if he was born to do this. If you are in trouble with the law, I would highly recommend leaning on Tommy for help and insight - not only is he proficient at what he does, he will put you at ease and be at your side to help guide you every step of the way.

  2. Caring

    Posted by Jennifer, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Overton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-6 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    I have known Tommy Overton for over 10 years. He has been my attorney several times and I wouldn't have any other attorney but him. He is the most caring attorney that I have ever known and he has always put me first. I have always been happy with him and the choices that he has made about my case. He has always kept me informed and he always returned my phone calls. I will always use him as my attorney and I will always consider him as a fiend.

  3. DUI representation

    Posted by Mark, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Overton.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. Overton informed me that he had been practicing law for over 26 years. He didn't sugar coat things just to make me feel better. He explained to me the pros and the cons of my case. He was able to get me a reduction to reckless driving versus a DUI. And, I was able to keep my license. Every time I called him, he got back in touch with me, answered my questions and treated me in a professional manner.

  4. Genius Attorney in Nashville, TN

    Posted by Jean, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Overton.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Tommy Overton is the BEST!!! I found him to be genius in the courtroom and would use his expertise in any legal matter I should encounter. He was intelligent, always prompt, and very clever in his arguments. Should I ever need legal advise or representation again I would call Tommy first.

  5. Mr.Overton went above and beyond his call of duty to keep me safe

    Posted by annette michelle, a Sexual Harassment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Overton.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Sexual Harassment matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was scared to death for my life when i called mr. overton for help. I had a very unusual and degrading and ended up being a very scary stalking situation happen to me. The person violating me in several ways was someone you normally would never suspect and was a respected public figure in nashville. This made my situation even scarier because i knew he could destroy my life ,if not end it. It was that serious. When i called Mr. Overton,he could tell i was mortified even just over the phone,he very calmly told me to try to relax,calm down,stay in my home,locked and secured,and come see him 1st thing in the morning. When i went to his office,i was shaking,i couldn't even speak at first. I watched him turn from a big scary tiger lawyer into a very sincere, kind of father like "person who truly cared,this was not just a way he could make a buck" He told me to sit down,calm myself,breathe and just take my time to tell him what had happened.
    When i finally calmed down enough to talk,i started explaining what this man was doing to me,and how i was scared to have him arrested because of what he could do to me.Once I finally told mr. overton who it was.he completely understood why i would be in fear for my life. Besides this being very scary,it was also very embarassing to describe,the sexual harassment part,just humiliating.
    Mr. Overton listened,let me cry,and explain at my pace,and spoke to me in a very comforting and genuinely concerned for my safety , voice.
    He gave me a few suggestions on what moves to make to secure my safety,and a few different ways we could handle this. He saw that i just was to scared to make a" public scene" out of this.
    The end of our meeting came, and we decided to just move me and my daughter and our pup to a secure location. He told me to call if ANYTHING ELSE HAPPENS. I'm not sure about what Mr. Overton did, on his own. I do know that person,the one scaring me to death, was taken out of his" respected spot" in our city, and i never heard from or saw this person EVER AGAIN.
    I will never forget what Mr. Overton did for me. My eyes are tearing up as i type this. This is all i can say.
    , for more reasons then making a few bucks. He will go above and beyond the call of duty, that genuinely cares for your welfare,safety, and security,

  6. DUI Case

    Posted by Richard, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Overton.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Tommy represented me in a very difficult DUI case . He was very professional and communicated all of my options every step of the way. Tommy got my case dismissed after several court appearances. He gathered the evidence he needed to win the case and was not afraid to keep fighting for me. I truly recommend Attorney Overton for his work and dedication to protecting my rights in court . I would highly recommend giving him a call to help you as he did me. Great Job Tommy !!!!! Your the best.

  7. Criminal Defense

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Overton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Tommy represented me in a criminal matter. I could not have been happier with the outcome. I would not want to be back in criminal court for any reason but if I ever do, I definitely would hire Tommy to represent me again!

  8. criminal defense lawyer review

    Posted by janekjane williams@yahoo.com, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Overton.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    did a great job defending my felony criminal case.

615-838-1166