William Harvey Beck’s Reviews

William Harvey Beck

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Bill Beck is a nice guy

    Posted by Phil, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend William Beck.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Unfortunately, you know the saying, nice guy's finish last. I read some of the other reviews and I just had to comment. I had the exact same experience as some of the others have written. I really liked Bill. Looking back now, that was my first mistake. Right from the start, with his Buddhist statues in his office, I thought to myself, here is a balanced and grounded person. The type of 'nice guy' I could see myself hanging out at a backyard cookout with. California cool. Laid back. The only problem is, he's a bit too laid back in the court room. Boy did he get steamrolled in court. I only wanted to modify an existing divorce to change the days of visitation. There were some other things the mother was doing that really were cause for alarm, but I will never forget Bill saying: "We're going to win this! I'm going to wipe the smile off her face". I have to echo what the others said, if he promises you the moon, RUN. He seemed to charge fees a bit randomly, I felt I did more work in the case then he did, then after we lost he calmly said "For another $5,000. retainer I should be able to get this finished". My losing the case is not why I would not hire him again, that happens, I understand. His unprofessional manner of calling me 'Dude' was. Also, beware. He likes to talk about stuff that has NOTHING to do with the case using up time, then of course billing you for it. If you find yourself already in the situation of having retained him, tell him STAY focused Bill ! You've been warned.

  2. Bill Beck is the Bomb

    Posted by Sheila, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Beck.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Family matter.

    Attorney Beck and his staff came to our rescue when the lawyer we had removed himself from our case due to health issues. He has been fantastic in every way.

    If you need a trustworthy, responsive, knowledgeable attorney, Bill Beck Law is the firm you want.

  3. Good guy but bad choice for a lawyer on a contested case

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend William Beck.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Bill is a GOOD guy but the worst lawyer that you could have for a contested divorce or paternity case. When needing to contact him his wife (who runs the office) will be a bigger road block then your ex at the mediation table. His office will charge you for everything. I had to fire bill after 2 years of wasted thousands of dollars and hired a second lawyer to correct his mistakes.
    If you have a contested case, he will tell you to give and not fight . He says it will save you money but in reality his method is good for him but will devastate you in the end. Again - good guy but bad choice for a lawyer on a contested case.

  4. Everything went as he said it would

    Posted by Jeremy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Beck.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I was out of state and needed to hire an attorney in the Pinellas area to take over my divorce without me having to fly back there. I spoke with Bill Beck on the phone for about 30 minutes about my case and I felt very comfortable with him and his approach to my issues. He got everything started and I flew back when it was time for my court date. Everything went as he said it would, and I’m now finally done with this whole mess and able to move on with my life.

  5. I met with Bill Beck and found him to be a fair man

    Posted by kliewer, a Uncontested Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Beck.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Uncontested Divorce matter.

    My wife and I have been married for 20+ years and have multiple properties together, so our divorce was not going to be pretty. I met with Bill Beck and found him to be a fair man. He made some suggestions that could help everything go smoother. I liked that he was not trying to get me to ‘rip off’ my soon to be ex-wife. We are in the middle of the proceedings and I feel like he has helped everything be as civil as possible. I don’t feel like I am being taken to the cleaners by my wife and the feeling is the same for her. I believe this is due to the fact that my attorney wants the best for me but has kept the long term picture in mind, I need to be able to live with myself in the end. I highly recommend Bill Beck law.

  6. I met with Bill Beck for a free consultation about my child custody battle this last month.

    Posted by jimhoffman333, a Power Of Attorney client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Beck.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Power Of Attorney matter.

    I met with Bill Beck for a free consultation about my child custody battle this last month. He told me upfront the problems that I was facing and the possibility of not winning. He took time with me and I felt at the end it would be a waste of my time to proceed. I did get a second opinion and got the same information, but I had to pay $100 bucks for it. I know now if I want an attorney I would go back to Bill Beck.

  7. a lawyer to hurt/lose your case

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend William Beck.
    • William handled my Child Custody matter.

    Mr. Beck took our custody and child support case a little over 3 years ago. If he says this is an easy win your probably in trouble. You will talk to the office assistant way more than bill and get charged for leaving a message. You get charge for any and everything. I did more of the work than he did and if he passes you to one of his assistant lawyers cause you have a sure win, than your probably about to lose. He said he would file certain paperwork that day, then a week later you find he hasn't filed or done anything, except maybe added another charge to your account. After court if there is something he says he will do, he mean he will send you a bill and close your case. I almost lost my family, didn't have a follow up on child support like he said he would, he really did nothing but charge me a large amount of money. The judge said if rules not followed then let him know in 7 to 10 days and he would deal with it, bill couldn't even do that. As I said I did almost all the work for my case, anything I needed filed bill was a week or weeks late doing. And as others have stated he talks unprofessional. He just wants his money n drag his feet. Office staff rude and lawyers with him are not qualified. Please look for another lawyer for your families sake. I would not hire bill beck for anything. He will promise the world and leave you in tears!

  8. The Best of the Best

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Beck.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Bill Beck represented me in a very lengthy and difficult custody battle post divorce. I have a special needs child and he was very compassionate about her issues and how that would affect our case. I had been through 2 other lawyers prior to finding him and I wish I had had him from day one. He probably would have saved me a lot of time, money, and anguish. He was so wonderful to work with. He was honest and professional and looked out for mine and my daughter's best interests. He always took the time to talk to me whenever I wanted or needed to. His staff was kind and professional. I would recommend him 100 times over to anyone I know. Although I hope to never need him in the future, I would definitely call on him again if I did and I am glad to know he is there to help. I can truly say that the outcome of my case and how he made that happen changed mine and my daughter's life forever. Thank you could never say enough. I will forever be grateful for him.

  9. never again. these people are ridiculous

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend William Beck.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Child Custody matter.

    my boyfriend hired these people for his child custody case and all they have done is racked up charges for him. they do not get back in a timely manner. you have to call them over and over to return a call and then get charged for it. he has had to do his own research for his case because they do not follow up and inform him of anything. all they care about is your money. they said they could handle his case for a certain amount and then needed another retainer along with the already accrued charges. nothing has been resolved.

  10. Spend your money on a more experienced lawyer that can keep staff.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend William Beck.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired this attorney two years ago to help me get custody of my son. In that time, I have seen 3 different new lawyers at his office and his staff handles all the calls and paperwork. He told me he could get me the moon and I paid some serious money and all I got was one story after another. I still don't have what this man promised me. Take your money to an attorney with more experience and less turn over of lawyers.

Call now for a free consultation.

727-942-8855