Varinia Van Ness’s Reviews

Varinia Van Ness

Average Rating

Based on 55 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Highly Recommend Attorney

    Posted by Jordan,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.

    After talking to 3 separate attorneys, Van Ness was the only one who immediately made feel comfortable about the whole ordeal. She knows how to be fierce and will not let the state bully her in anyway. A great person to have fighting for you.

  2. Mistaken Identity

    Posted by Deb, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia 6-12 months ago.
    • Varinia handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After speaking with Ms Van Ness the first time I immediately was able to breathe a sigh of relief. She was the first person who did not treat me as if I was guilty until proven innocent. She was kind and compassionate. She was informed about my case prior to my arrival. She took her time with me and kept excellent notes. I never felt rushed. I felt like she believed me and was going to defend me as if I were one of her own family members. She gave me hope that everything was going to turn out ok and her slogan they have to get thru us to get to you....is very true. She is very very knowledgeable and I knew without a doubt that I had hired someone extremely tough and capable. My charges were dropped and I know it was because we kept digging and digging and chipping away at their case. Don't look any further , if you have read this much you should stop here and hire her. I am from NY and she rivals a tough NY attorney any day!

  3. A champion Ward of The Court...

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia 6-12 months ago.
    • Varinia handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Varinia Van Ness took over my son's criminal case, which was fast becoming a nightmare, at that point. After a short time with two different attorneys. The first one backed off the case, because of it's continuing complications. The second was not familiar with the enormity of the case's background and underlying problems. At that point we were discouraged, and felt that a fair trial in Sarasota County was not possible. Knowing from past experience Ms. Van Ness's winning abilities, in the courtroom, we knew if anyone could unravel the mess this case had become, it was her. I was so relieved when she accepted to take the case. Watching her in the courtroom, standing up for the rights of her client, I finally relaxed for the first time in months. She made sense of everything, showed cause and reasons for things that were not understandable, up to that point, and stayed focused on the most important factors of the case. Even with her demanding schedule, she kept us updated on every motion, hearing, court date, & changes, either in person or through her office. Everyone at The Van Ness Law Firm was helpful and pleasant. Varinia is very knowledgeable, and does her homework. She walks into the courtroom with confidence, & calm, and does not flinch under fire. She shows her superior attributes in debating the Law, and it's obvious that she has the respect of the entire courtroom. Certainly an advocate for the underdog , Ms Van Ness proves that she is a top notch lawyer. She gave us hope, showed compassion to my son, and was supportive & patient with my entire family. I am extremely grateful for everything she has done for us. All charges against my son, were dropped, due to her " Champion efforts", in proving the State's case to be seriously flawed and unreasonable. Lovely and charming, Varinia is a dynamo force set out to win her case. If you are in need of warrior at your side, do not give up hope. Varinia will fight for you to the finish.. A happy, thankful Mom..

  4. When she told me she was a Bull Dog in the courtroom I hired her

    Posted by JonathanJohnson, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia 1-3 years ago.
    • Varinia handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Top of the line attorney! You will not find anyone more dedicated to what she does than Mrs. Van Ness period end of sentence! I have used her multiple times and had success each time.
    If you hire another lawyer and walk away with an outcome you are unhappy with, Its because you didn't call this woman right here! If I ever had another issue in Sarasota, she'd be my 1st phone call!

  5. Simply THE Best Attorney In SW Florida

    Posted by CL, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia 6-12 months ago.
    • Varinia handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Cliff Notes: I retained Ms. Van Ness late on Monday afternoon. She sprung into action immediately. 2 days later, Thursday morning OF THE SAME WEEK, charges were dropped by the State Attorney's office!! All of the reviews and information regarding Ms. Van Ness actually do not even begin to accurately describe her knowledge, skill, finesse, and compassion for her clients. In those few short days, she and her superior staff kept in close contact, and any email sent to Ms. Van Ness was responded to personally within a few short hours, at most, even when she was in court! The absolute devastating and nerve racking legal matter was put to rest quicker than I could ever imagine and Ms. Van Ness EXCEEDED what she claimed she would do with my case. Within 24 hours she was in contact with the State Attorney, providing detailed information, filed pleadings with the Court, and requested Discovery - while updating me on all she was doing. I honestly cannot put to words how much I would and do recommend Ms. Van Ness and her practice (her assistant Debbie is of the same caliber of professionalism - providing prompt friendly response and help). Anyone in need of legal counsel, and not consulting with Ms. Van Ness FIRST, is making a huge mistake and doing themselves a disservice.

  6. Job Well Done

    Posted by Donna, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia 6-12 months ago.
    • Varinia handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My family was in a difficult situation with my son's legal issues. Varinia was highly recommended to defend my son and she lived up to the recommendation plus more. In addition to her legal skills she is very genuine and supportive. This is true for her staff too. Now I am the one highly recommending her.

  7. She and her staff are there for you, exactly when you need it the most...

    Posted by Kimberly, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia 6-12 months ago.
    • Varinia handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    I really appreciate all the time, effort, and work that Ms. Van Ness AND all of her staff did for me, regarding my criminal- misdemeanor- domestic violence/battery case....that was completely unfounded and unjust. She recognized that right away, and also understood my concerns, worries and the stress that this brought onto my entire family. She was able to get the the charges dismissed/dropped....and in a VERY quick and timely manner, too. We know that made a huge difference in the outcome of my case, and my family and I are very grateful to her and her staff.

  8. BEST ARROUND SARASOTA COUNTY!!!

    Posted by federico becerra, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia more than 3 years ago.
    • Varinia handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Varinia van ness! excellent lawyer! the best of the best in Sarasota county. I am very happy with the work she did in my case for DUI, I has been waiting 14 months but definitely worth ; the group of people work with you are very helpful

  9. The BEST Attorney!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia 6-12 months ago.
    • Varinia handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Ms. Varinia Van Ness is a incredible attorney. She is honest, Ethical and no nonsense . She did an outstanding job defending me. She went the extra mile for me. Ms. Van Ness has a professional staff with great compassion. I wasn't just a number for this firm. I was treated with understanding and care and respect. I say look no further . Ms. Van Ness is exactly who you are looking for. She is THE BEST! Thank you for helping me.

  10. Justice in the Nick of Time

    Posted by DON, a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia 1-3 years ago.
    • Varinia handled my Fraud matter.

    I was incarcerated unjustly on Fraud charges when I had also been victimized and Varinia Van Ness got me out of jail just in time. I was having seizures in jail and was then rushed to Sarasota Memorial for almost immediate brain surgery. Much of my wrong judgement was due to tumors pressing on my brain. Varinia Van Ness helped me keep my dignity. She is thoughtful, caring, extremely intelligent and just. Thank you for all that you have done for me.

941-362-3560