Varinia Van Ness’s Reviews

Varinia Van Ness

Average Rating

Based on 52 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. When she told me she was a Bull Dog in the courtroom I hired her

    Posted by JonathanJohnson, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia 1-3 years ago.
    • Varinia handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Top of the line attorney! You will not find anyone more dedicated to what she does than Mrs. Van Ness period end of sentence! I have used her multiple times and had success each time.
    If you hire another lawyer and walk away with an outcome you are unhappy with, Its because you didn't call this woman right here! If I ever had another issue in Sarasota, she'd be my 1st phone call!

  2. Simply THE Best Attorney In SW Florida

    Posted by CL, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia 1-6 months ago.
    • Varinia handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Cliff Notes: I retained Ms. Van Ness late on Monday afternoon. She sprung into action immediately. 2 days later, Thursday morning OF THE SAME WEEK, charges were dropped by the State Attorney's office!! All of the reviews and information regarding Ms. Van Ness actually do not even begin to accurately describe her knowledge, skill, finesse, and compassion for her clients. In those few short days, she and her superior staff kept in close contact, and any email sent to Ms. Van Ness was responded to personally within a few short hours, at most, even when she was in court! The absolute devastating and nerve racking legal matter was put to rest quicker than I could ever imagine and Ms. Van Ness EXCEEDED what she claimed she would do with my case. Within 24 hours she was in contact with the State Attorney, providing detailed information, filed pleadings with the Court, and requested Discovery - while updating me on all she was doing. I honestly cannot put to words how much I would and do recommend Ms. Van Ness and her practice (her assistant Debbie is of the same caliber of professionalism - providing prompt friendly response and help). Anyone in need of legal counsel, and not consulting with Ms. Van Ness FIRST, is making a huge mistake and doing themselves a disservice.

  3. Job Well Done

    Posted by Donna, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia 6-12 months ago.
    • Varinia handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My family was in a difficult situation with my son's legal issues. Varinia was highly recommended to defend my son and she lived up to the recommendation plus more. In addition to her legal skills she is very genuine and supportive. This is true for her staff too. Now I am the one highly recommending her.

  4. She and her staff are there for you, exactly when you need it the most...

    Posted by Kimberly, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia 1-6 months ago.
    • Varinia handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    I really appreciate all the time, effort, and work that Ms. Van Ness AND all of her staff did for me, regarding my criminal- misdemeanor- domestic violence/battery case....that was completely unfounded and unjust. She recognized that right away, and also understood my concerns, worries and the stress that this brought onto my entire family. She was able to get the the charges dismissed/dropped....and in a VERY quick and timely manner, too. We know that made a huge difference in the outcome of my case, and my family and I are very grateful to her and her staff.

  5. BEST ARROUND SARASOTA COUNTY!!!

    Posted by federico becerra, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia more than 3 years ago.
    • Varinia handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Varinia van ness! excellent lawyer! the best of the best in Sarasota county. I am very happy with the work she did in my case for DUI, I has been waiting 14 months but definitely worth ; the group of people work with you are very helpful

  6. The BEST Attorney!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia 6-12 months ago.
    • Varinia handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Ms. Varinia Van Ness is a incredible attorney. She is honest, Ethical and no nonsense . She did an outstanding job defending me. She went the extra mile for me. Ms. Van Ness has a professional staff with great compassion. I wasn't just a number for this firm. I was treated with understanding and care and respect. I say look no further . Ms. Van Ness is exactly who you are looking for. She is THE BEST! Thank you for helping me.

  7. Justice in the Nick of Time

    Posted by DON, a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia 6-12 months ago.
    • Varinia handled my Fraud matter.

    I was incarcerated unjustly on Fraud charges when I had also been victimized and Varinia Van Ness got me out of jail just in time. I was having seizures in jail and was then rushed to Sarasota Memorial for almost immediate brain surgery. Much of my wrong judgement was due to tumors pressing on my brain. Varinia Van Ness helped me keep my dignity. She is thoughtful, caring, extremely intelligent and just. Thank you for all that you have done for me.

  8. Best lawyer in Sarasota !!!!!!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia 1-3 years ago.
    • Varinia handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    After being arrested and charge with multiple felonies being accused of multiple charges that I never committed the state was charging me with a possible of 15 years in jail!!!!!!!! I could not believe was happening in my life I decided to start looking for the right lawyer for my case interviewing all the criminal defense lawyers in the Sarasota-Bradenton area and iam so glad I came across Varinia . She is so knowledgeable and patient that took the time to explain me my case and what could the possible outcome be she also took the time to answer each one of my emails even on weekends. So I felt taking care of at all times . She took care of getting all the charges dismissed and fighting w the state every step of the way. I thank God for lawyers like Varinia that take her job to the next level. Thank you Varinia .

  9. VARINIA VAN NESS...The Best Of The Best

    Posted by Thomas, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia 1-3 years ago.
    • Varinia handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Varinia Van Ness was recommended to me by another satisfied client of hers, and I am glad she was. Her knowledge of the law was extremely evident. She worked hard to to gather facts and review evidence. I was kept informed of the status of my case every step of the way. I was innocent and almost went to jail for a crime I did not commit. My public defender flat out said I was guilty! I am glad I was told about Van Ness. She never judged me that way. She spoke positive and made me believe there was hope when I doubted. If you feel like there is no hope call her. She will be the flicker of light in your world of darkness.

  10. simply the BEST!!

    Posted by Lorraine, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Varinia Van Ness.
    • I hired Varinia 1-3 years ago.
    • Varinia handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Varinia is the BEST at what she does. She will fight for you till the end!! I had an attorney before her that stated she could NOT resolve some of the issues I was facing. It seem like I was just another client to her. She was pretty much accepting what ever the prosecutor was asking for, Which I thought was pretty harsh considering this was my first offense and had never been in trouble with the law. I literally lost my job of 13yrs over this matter and she claimed there was nothing she could for me. As I was sitting in court one day, loosing my mind over this. I saw Varinia in action. I saw how much she cared for her client and was pleased with how she handled that situation. I immediately decided this is the woman i want on MY side. I called her and made an appointment She explained to me what she could or could NOT do for me. She NEVER made me feel like I was just another client. She always responded to all my emails and concerns immediately (even on weekends). She made me feel like she was one of my friends looking over my best interest! Not only did she do all she said she would do but I managed to get my job back! She simply is the BEST!!
    If you truly want someone on YOUR side, look no further!!

941-362-3560