Bridget Ann Heptner’s Reviews

Bridget Ann Heptner

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Fair

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bridget Heptner.
    • I hired Bridget 1-3 years ago.
    • Bridget handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have used Bridget Heptner twice over the last 10 years and was very happy with both of my cases. She was fair, kept me informed and told me exactly what to expect. I trust Bridget and would highly reccomend her to someone having to go through a divorce. My first divorce was contested but finally agreed upon after going through mediation. My most recent divorce, in May 2013, was uncontested, and done proficiently and timely.

  2. Former Limited Appearance Client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Bridget Heptner.
    • I hired Bridget more than 3 years ago.
    • Bridget handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired this attorney for a specific purpose in my post dissolution divorce case. At the time I retained her, my ex-spouse was pro-se. Ms. Heptner was very supportive of me and my case until my ex-spouse retained an Attorney. At that time she immediately turned against me. She then went beyond her scope of limited appearance and spoke to the opposing counsel regarding issues I was strictly dealing with pro se. Although I told her not to speak to the Attorney unless it involved her limited appearance, she continued to do so and charge me for it. She ran up my bill in these matters but I had to represent myself in court. To make matters worse, once we finally had a hearing date and it was clear we were going to win fees to continue, she called me three hours before the hearing and informed me she made a deal on my behalf and basicly shut down my case. I was forced to once again represent myself in court. When I returned from Court I received the order she and the opposing counsel agreed upon. I then sent Ms. Heptner a letter stating I did not agree with her making the deal behind my back and I wanted her to withdraw the order. She called me a few days later and was very disrespectful. She then filed a notice of non-representation and a notice of withdrawal of the original motion in which I hired her. I asked her to refund my retainer but she refused . In my opinion, what starts out as a very pleasant experience with Bridget Heptner, ends in a nightmare. I must add, I have all respect for her Legal Assistant, Nikki.

  3. Hurricane Bridget

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bridget Heptner.
    • I hired Bridget 1-3 years ago.
    • Bridget handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I met with two other attorneys for my divorce case (with emphasis on property division) and it was clear to me that Bridget was the attorney I needed for my case. She is like a force of nature in her directness, persuasiveness and depth of knowledge, not to mention her ninja-like understanding of tact and subtlety within the framework of aggressive pursuit of client goals.

    (She was also the "most expensive" attorney I met with in terms of rate per hour - yet I am pretty sure she was dollar-for-dollar cheaper in the end because she was extremely modest with time billed. I would rather pay $325 an hour to someone who charges me the real time it took to draft a document than someone who's at $250 an hour and charges me twice the time "by default" for the same thing. Get the difference? The "cheaper" attorney in that case is actually 50% more expensive.)

    Anyhow, I knew I wanted her to represent me as soon as I watched her playing courtroom scenarios out in her head like Gary Kasparov planning his next chess move: it became immediately clear to me that she knew what could come up, what would come up, what wouldn't and pretty much exactly where to take things. It was actually pretty thrilling to watch.

    My case "ran itself": paperwork was consistently filed the same day it was allowed, letters drafted, submissions made, initiative taken, etc. with consistent efficiency and immediacy.

    And in the end it didn't hurt that my case worked out better than my best case scenario.

    Bridget and Nikki make up a hardworking, aggressive, efficient and effective team. Great to have on your side and a tremendous value.

  4. Attention to Detail, less than desirable.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Bridget Heptner.
    • I hired Bridget more than 3 years ago.
    • Bridget handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you're looking to retain a divorce attorney that doesn't have an attention to detail retain Bridget Heptner. All joking aside, my divorce was uncontested and went smoothly, but her repeated typographical errors on the court documents created a headache for myself and my ex-wife. Quit Claim Deeds were drafted incorrectly and had typographical errors which subsequently caused myself and my ex-wife to have them corrected, notarized and recorded a second time, at our expense. The response I received from her office "Well you should have proof read before you signed, technically we're now working for free." My answer is I would expect an attorney to have the information and the docs drafted properly the first time. The divorce was finalized we paid for her half-rate services, and I was left to feel as if I was inconveniencing them for asking to have it corrected. I literally paid for her to draft the uncontested divorce doc, and two Quit Claim Deeds. In hindsight I could have saved money to draft the docs on legalzoom.com myself. There are many attorneys in the area, I would suggest you retain one that will do things correctly the first time.

    1. Bridget Ann Heptner

      Bridget Heptner

      Lawyer Comment:

      This was not a client of our law office; we represented his wife and he was disgruntled. His wife was provided the quit claim deeds, not him. He executed the deeds without proof reading it. We provided corrective deeds free of charge nonetheless

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  5. You have found a great attorney

    Posted by Bill, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bridget Heptner.
    • I hired Bridget more than 3 years ago.
    • Bridget handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I normally don't do this but I felt like I needed to let everyone know who reads this review how lucky I was to find Bridget and retain her as my divorce attorney. Over ten years ago I was going through a devastating divorce and custody battle with my now x-wife. I met with Bridget and it did not take me long to decide to retain her as my counsel. Not only was she informative, but was pretty much right on when it came to what was going to happen. She represented me with compassion and the right amount of aggressiveness. Not only were we successful, but my fees were about half of my x-wife's fees. She is fair and you could not find a better attorney for family law. You might wonder why I waited over ten years to write his review and the answer is simple. Just a few days ago my daughter and I celebrated her 21st Birthday. When I won custoday of her she was 8 years old. I know that me being awarded custoday of my daugther was critical in her becoming a successful member of society. Briget knew that also and it was more than just court victory to her, there was a little girl's life in the balance of this verdict. Thank you so much Bridget, you are the best.. If you would like to talk to me about Bridget as your attorney, please email me at bill@wrousa.com and I will gladly call you.

  6. Highly Recommend Bridget Heptner... One of the best in Pinellas!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bridget Heptner.
    • I hired Bridget 1-3 years ago.
    • Bridget handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I interviewed several attorneys and knew immediately that Ms. Heptner was the attorney for me. She is knowledgeable, to the point and was exactly what I needed to represent me. I would not hesitate to recommend her to anyone needing an excellent attorney. My case may go on for quite some time and due to unfortunate circumstances, I was not able to continue with her to complete my divorce, however if it were possible, I would hire her again. Her assistant, Nikki is also very professional and knows what she's doing. For a small office, it runs smoothly, and both Ms. Heptner and her assistant are always on top of things.

  7. Extremely knowledgable and easy to work with.

    Posted by Barton, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bridget Heptner.
    • I hired Bridget more than 3 years ago.
    • Bridget handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was completely overwhelmed by the divorce and talked to about a dozen different family law attorneys in Pinellas County before I scheduled my interview with Bridget. I had already made my mind up to hire a different attorney but, out of respect to a colleague who strongly recommended meeting with her, I kept my appointment with Bridget. She immediately impressed me with her depth of knowledge on family law in Florida and how it is interpreted in the various judge's courtrooms in Pinellas. She and her assistant Nikki helped me every step of the way. When I needed help and direction assembling documents, they helped me. When I needed a quick question answered, they helped me (often without charging me!). When I needed someone to listen to my side of the story and offer solutions to very complex issues, they helped me.
    Throughout the process Bridget gave me all of the information about each part we were dealing with, offered her opinion of the situation and empowered me to make my own decision. I entered the divorce not feeling so good about myself and my life but as we progressed I began to regain confidence in myself and ultimately, by the time the divorce was final, I was a new man.
    I really can't recommend Bridget enough.

  8. Left me days before trial and communicated with me unprofessionally

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Bridget Heptner.
    • I hired Bridget more than 3 years ago.
    • Bridget handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I retained Ms. Heptner in a divorce case. In the beginning she was very thorough & friendly. Her disposition changed dramatically as I would not agree to her terms of the divorce settlement she was demanding.

    She withdrew from my case, without informing only days before trial & left me with nothing. I consider this type of behavior extremely unprofessional & unjust. Save your $ and find a lawyer who takes into consideration your needs & not just her own. What a disgrace!

    1. Bridget Ann Heptner

      Bridget Heptner

      Lawyer Comment:

      I withdrew from representation after many years due to client taking an impossible position and owing a large amount of fees she was without the abikity to pay. Our retainer Contract contains a provision addressing this issue, which this client was well aware.

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  9. I highly recommend Bridget for any Family Law issues.

    Posted by Phillip, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bridget Heptner.
    • I hired Bridget more than 3 years ago.
    • Bridget handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I can't thank Bridget enough for her representation in my case. I interviewed three attorneys to handle my case and she was the only one who was confident there could be a positive outcome in my case. Her knowlege of of certian aspects of child support law was clearly superior to the other Attorneys I interviewed. In the end the result was even better than she predicted. I truly came away from this experience with a much better appreciation for the Legal system.

  10. Recommend 100%

    Posted by Denise, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bridget Heptner.
    • I hired Bridget more than 3 years ago.
    • Bridget handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My experience with Bridget Heptner and her assistant Nikki Luna has been 100% positive even though it involved an extremely negative situation. When complaining to a friend about my frustration with the initial lawyer I retained, he told me about his experience with Bridget Heptner. Unlike the first lawyer, all my phone calls (which were numerous) were returned almost immediately. Things I did not understand were patiently explained to me, and everything was treated with priority to resolve my case even though I was not her only client. My understanding (and personal experience) is that the professionalism, priority, respect and kindness that was given to me by both Ms. Heptner and Ms. Luna is not the norm in the “legal business.” I would endorse this law firm any day!