Back to Gary’s Profile

Client Review

Gary has received 24 client reviews

Absolutely Fantastic Attorney

Posted by: a Family client about 1 month ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gary Williams

I hired Gary 6-12 months ago.

Gary handled my Family matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Mr. Williams and his staff could not be better. They do what they say. They are always available and extremely professional. They communicate over phone and email. I originally selected another attorney and spent thousands without getting any results or movement. This firm develops a plan, and does it. I am very grateful for their represnation. In my opinion, they are the best family law practice in the Tampa Bay area.

Thank you Gary

Posted by: Todd, a Family client 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gary Williams

I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.

Gary handled my Family matter.

A year ago, my ex-wife filed suit in another state, that did not have jurisdiction, trying to terminate my parental rights for my son. I hired this attorney to represent me. The first thing that he did was to file suit in the proper state and county and then he won the hearing on jurisdiction and kept the case here in Florida. He then negotiated a solution to the law suit that maintained my parental rights and got me back the visitation that my ex-wife had been denying to me for years. My son and I had a great summer this year, visiting Disney, Adventure Island and the beaches, because this lawyer did a great job for me. Thank you.

He is amazing! I am so thankful!

Posted by: Erin, a Child Custody client 12 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gary Williams

I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.

Gary handled my Child Custody matter.

Gary Williams is an amazing attorney! I went through a horrible and extremely complicated child custody/ dependency case and had another attorney before him that just made it worse. It never should have went the way it did in the first place and it went on for over a year and a half. Gary came in in the most complicated part if the case. I didn't understand any of it and he explained everything to me and told me to trust him. Trusting any attorney was difficult for me at that point in time, but I did and it was the best decision I've ever made. He was extremely understanding with my situation. Between him and his staff they kept me informed and up to date with the entire case. I would recommend him to anyone and have. He was incredibly informed. I can't Thank Mr. Williams and Chris Smith enough for all their had work and putting my family back together. If it wernt for him I don't know what would have happened. He took my case with a promise and turned it from a disaster to a dream. Thank you so much! If your looking for an attorney he's the best one you'll ever be able to find!

An Outstanding Attorney

Posted by: Shawn, a Divorce client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Gary Williams

I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.

Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

My divorce case was difficult and complicated. It involved complex financial issues, including stock options and pension rights and significant amounts of premarital assets. My case also involved a major custody fight and a high level of conflict between the parents. Gary, his Associate Attorneys and his Paralegals were all outstanding to work with. They understood the issues involved in the financial side of the case and they brought in a Parent Coordinator to assist my wife and I resolve our differences about parenting. Ultimately my case settled and I was very pleased with the overall handling of my case.

Gary E Williams will take your money, then leave you hanging

Posted by: a Child Support client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Fair
Knowledgeable
Fair
Kept me informed
Fair

I do not recommend Gary Williams

I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.

Gary handled my Child Support matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

I went to Attorney Williams and The Law Firm for Family Law with a complex situation: (1) custody case where I was being denied time with my daughter because I entered a relationship with another woman, whom I later married; (2) the custody case drew out so long and got so ugly that my new wife wanted me to leave - she filed for divorce when I told her I was going to file (we were separated for about 2 yrs at that point); (3) relating to the custody case, the ex-wife opened another case against me for intellectual property theft in order to keep evidence out of the custody case (she never moved forward on it - it was only to keep evidence out of family law court); (4) mounting attorney bills caused me to lose my house to foreclosure; there were two cases filed against me in the foreclosure, one for each mortgage; (5) this eventually led to bankruptcy. When, in a deposition, the ex-wife accused me of child sexual abuse as the reason for preventing me from seeing my daughter, Attorney Williams asked me if this was true. Of course it was not! So he told me I had a case to get full custody since ex-wife never went to the Dept of Children and Families (DCF), i.e. she was negligent. He asked if I wanted to get full custody...well, since the X had by now shown how over-the-top she is I accepted his advice that I could win custody. I felt that if she's going to accuse me of misconduct that I never perpetrated, then the less influence she had over our daughter, the better. A court appointed psychologist found no evidence to support her allegations. Of course, that wasn't free, either. By this time (around 2008), I had married the other woman and we had a daughter, now my 2nd child. A year later (late 2009), still no resolution in the custody case, and I predicted to Gary Williams that my money was running out, might last another year. He kept reassuring me not to worry about the money. A year after that things had deteriorated with my wife to the point I wanted a divorce in order to establish my rights for time sharing with my 2nd daughter. I had discussed this with Williams first, and he agreed to represent me. A mistake I made was in going to my wife and telling her my intent before Williams could file. So she filed the very next day, then did nothing to move the divorce forward. That was late 2010 - today I'm still trying to get divorced from her. In the meantime, I borrowed as much as I could against my house and credit cards until I couldn't keep up with payments any more. I was able to stave off bankruptcy until 2012. All the while, Williams told me not to worry about the money. I kept thinking, 'this has to end soon'. But I went bankrupt first. Lost my house. The intellectual property theft case was thrown out in the bankruptcy, not that it had any merit in the first place. When all my money was gone and I had no choice but to declare bankruptcy, that's when Williams gave me a work-up on how much of a retainer he needed in order to keep going. I could pay it, if I borrowed the max allowable against my 401k. So I started that process. He recused himself before I could get the loan money from the 401k account. I'm glad he did. If I had paid him that money, I'd still have no progress - I'm certain of it. He didn't do anything to move things forward for me. All he did was add to the conflict, and when hearings went poorly for me he had the audacity to tell me it was my fault. If you find yourself in need of a family law attorney, you would do well to steer clear of this man. He has a lot of personal charisma, and he's effective at generating revenue for his office, but he's not going to serve your interests.

awful experience

Posted by: a Divorce client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Fair
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Fair

I do not recommend Gary Williams

I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.

Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

My case was mishandlde from the start. Lots of promises that were not even possible were made to get me as a client. Handed me off on an inexperienced lawyer, and mistake after mistake was made. I am with a new lawyer to undo all that was done. It was a disaster with the judge more on my side then Gary. My ex's lawyer had him cowering and doing whatever she wanted. It cost me lots of money just so he wouldn't have to lose in court. He just rolled over and talked me into signing off on so many things. What a disaster.

My Deepest Thanks!

Posted by: Kristin, a Child Custody client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gary Williams

I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.

Gary handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

My case has been a rollercoaster wich lead to an ongoing battel for about 6 years, and still going. I have retained Gary for the last 4 years. He and his staff have gone above and beyond for me and my daughter! My last lawyer did not have the experience or the ability to stand up to a much more experinced lawyer, a liar and a bully. Gary and his team have always made me feel confident in their abilities and helped me stand up for what is rightfully mine. Thank you for standing up to a bully and helping me have a voice that other wise might not have been heard. My Deepest Thanks to Gary, Joe, Christy, Fay and the entire team.

Professional, expedient divorce representation

Posted by: Kenneth, a Divorce client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gary Williams

I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.

Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

Having worked extensively with attorneys in my professional life, I was immediately impressed with Mr. Williams' quick grasp of the relevant details of dispute in my divorce case. His advice was aggressively in my interests, yet pragmatic in helping move the case to a quickly negotiated and favorable yet fair resolution. Thank you Gary Williams!

My Deepest Thanks

Posted by: Robyn, a Child Support client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gary Williams

I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.

Gary handled my Child Support matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I wanted to express my deepest thanks to you and your staff for your help with the matter of my child support. You did a great job. I would be delighted to be your client again in the future and I will certainly recommend you to my friends.

Was NOT Good!

Posted by: a Divorce client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Fair
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Average

I do not recommend Gary Williams

I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.

Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

Probably would have been better if his case manager showed at the hearing and at Mediation. Just seemed totally unprepared at both, at hearing, he was not sure who filed a certain motion, only to be told by judge, it was from someone from his office! At mediation, he was surprized to learn wifes age, kinda disturbing considering it's a factor in establishing spousal support. I know it's common for lawyers to know each other, but very unsettling to hear them talk of their luxury cars on my dime, while waiting for ex to review final draft!