Steven Patrick Riley’s Reviews

Steven Patrick Riley

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. An Exemplary Attorney

    Posted by Susannah, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Riley.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Estate Planning matter.

    We have worked with Steve Riley for nearly 15 years. We initially contacted him to handle the rewriting of trusts and complete estate planning for our family. Over the years, he has also overseen the purchase and sale of businesses and other legal needs.
    Trusts can be very complicated entities and the underpinning laws can be challenging to interpret as changes occur. One of Steve’s many talents is the ability to take complex subjects, interpret and present them to clients in such a way that the clients are confident with their choices and ensured that they have their legal needs met. He is both extremely competent and extraordinarily compassionate even in the most difficult of circumstances. Steve has integrity of the highest order, excellent communication skills and a thoroughness that leaves clients well taken care of both professionally and personally. We highly recommend him.

  2. Outstanding Advisor

    Posted by Kevin, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Steven Riley.
    • I hired Steven 6-12 months ago.
    • Steven handled my Estate Planning matter.

    Steve is an outstanding advisor, very creative thinker and does a great job with strategy. He also has a great way of explaining complex legal matters in plain-English. He shows a great deal of empathy.

  3. Not a lawyer worth paying for

    Posted by Fernandez, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Steven Riley.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Whatever he once was, he is no longer. We were long-time clients of Steve but are no more. He once had a good practice and a responsive and professional staff. Sure, Steve was often hard to get in contact with, but his staff would help and we could always meet with him at least once a year. He had some turnover in staff a few years ago and that was unfortunately the beginning of the decline of his firm. No one would return calls. Over the last 4 years, he's had a revolving door of lawyers to do his work but we didn't hire them. We hired Steve. We then found out that Steve was actually retired from practicing law and doesn't even live in Tampa anymore. He is just a figurehead who does nothing but charge a very high annual fee. Do not hire this lawyer. The best thing we did was end our relationship with him.

    1. Steven Patrick Riley

      Steven Riley

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am not sure who this reviewer is, as he/she did not include a first name. I am curious why this person did not express his/her frustrations to me personally, as I still receive email and phone messages from past and current clients, and I strive to ensure client satisfaction with my services and communications. Just to clarify — I am not retired. However, I currently am only practicing one or two days a month. In 2011, I relocated my primary residence to another city in Florida so that I could help support and care for my elderly parents. This move was never a secret to the firm’s clients. Over the past few years, the staff and I have communicated by mail, email, and face- to-face meetings with clients my decision and why this was important to me. The day-to-day management of the firm is currently being handled by an Attorney Colleen O’Rourke, who has worked with the firm for about 14 years. If this reviewer has not been an active client with our firm since 2011, then he or she perhaps may have missed our attempts to convey the message about the change in management and my scaling back on my time spent practicing. As far as his/her statement “do not hire this lawyer,” that is irrelevant. I am not accepting new clients and have not for the past 24+ months, unless a new contact has been referred in by a long-time client or a friend and has a really unusual issue. It is interesting to note that this reviewer did complain about the quality or caliber of the legal work I performed on his or her behalf, just that I am not in working out of the office anymore.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  4. Steve Riley's annual review

    Posted by Richard, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Riley.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Estate Planning matter.

    Steve is the best. Anything i ask for is his priority.

  5. My highest recommendation

    Posted by Ross, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Riley.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have tremendous respect for Steve - his knowledge in the area of estate and trust law is unsurpassed, and he has the character one seeks in an attorney. In addition, he takes a personal interest in the welfare of his clients. I highly recommend him and his Family Protector Program.

  6. Estate Planning

    Posted by Lonnie, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Steven Riley.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    The worst thing about working with an attorney is their vocabulary. I need laymans terminology, not legalize. Steve is very adept at communicating with you in terms you can understand. Steve worked with my financial institutions to covert all my financial holdings into a trust which required over a year to accomplish. Instead of just doing it, for some reason, they were blocking my efforts. My lawyer could speak their language and was able to move things along and get the job accomplished. Additionally, he was able to communicate the issues to me, so that I could understand #1 and make informed decisions.

  7. Blended family estate

    Posted by Pat, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Riley.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    We have worked with Steve and his firm for about 8 years in the area of estate planning. We were both married before and have children from our prior marriage, so estate planning is more complex due to those circumstances. Steve's approach is oriented toward teaching his clients various alternatives, so that they make informed decisions. And the plan is updated yearly or more frequently if life-changing events take place.

  8. The Strategic Counsel

    Posted by Patricia, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Riley.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have been a client for close to ten years and am hesitant to even move in retirement because of his very valuable services. My experiences have been so important in my own life that our children have on their own sought out trust attorneys in their home states. His opinions and counsel I highly value.

  9. Great lawyer

    Posted by Tom, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Riley.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My wife and I went to see Steve about 5 years ago on the advice of a friend. The friend had great things to say about Steve so I had high expectations and I wasn't disappointed. He and his staff assisted us in establishing trusts to protect our assets. He's been there every step of the way with great (and proactive) advice. We do a yearly review and he "tweaks" our trusts to keep up with the changes in the law. Not only is Steve top notch but his whole organization is top notch. One of the best things about working with him is that he does an excellent job of explaining complex legal issues in a way that us understandable. This is a great gift in todays tangled legal environment. I highly recommend Steve if you are looking for a top notch lawyer who is easy to work with.

  10. The Strategic Counsel law firm

    Posted by Timothy, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Riley.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Steve by my financial advisor who recommended him based on his own personal experience and the positive feedback of many of his clients.
    Steve helped my wife and I five years ago to set living trusts for both of us. My wife and I placed all of our assets into the assigned trusts in a very efficient and accurate process called that Steve calls "The family protector program" . This program charges a nominal annual fee to keep our trusts current and also guarantees that in the case of our deaths his firm will handle all of our estate at a discounted fee.
    Through this program he has also been available to me by phone to answer many of my questions regarding asset protection which as a physician is a top priority in planning the protection of my estate.