Michael Alexander Misa’s Reviews

Michael Alexander Misa

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Saved my life from a wrongful felony

    Posted by Yoel, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Misa.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A few years ago, I was desperately looking for a lawyer to represent my case. A case, which involved a Tampa Police Department officer arresting me over a weapon in my vehicle. During the arrest, I was very cooperative with the officers. I explained that I was in the Police Academy and on my way to the firing range. The officers had asked if I had any weapons, or drugs on my person or vehicle. I replied, "Yes. I have an H&K .40 Cal. in my vehicle and it is unloaded, no magazine in the weapon, and more than 3 steps away from being able to be used (glove compartment). Regardless of my cooperation, and honesty, I was arrested.

    Mr. Misa, did what no one else could (including my own family). He reassured me that I was in fact in good hands. That I should go on with my life and he would take care of everything. Although there was a looming cloud of negative thoughts for over six months as I awaited the case, he was right. I had nothing to worry about, he in fact did take care of my case. We appeared in court, I pleaded not guilty. Mr. Misa took care of all the verbal disputing, and we walked out. I should also mention that I only presented myself to court once while under the care of Mr. Misa.

    I was always one to say "lawyers are just about the money, they are greedy, dishonest, and unfair". Although most of you who are reading this may have that frame of thought. Do NOT make that mistake with Mr. Misa. This man was honest from beginning to end with me. He guided my life for six months while I was awaiting a court case. And had an amazing team who was there for me every step of the way. Michael Misa did not turn me down ONCE when I had to see him. He did not ever give me limitations in regards to my feelings and time. I could not have asked god to place me with a better lawyer during such an important time in my life.

    Thanks to Michael Misa, I am graduating from school this May 2015, and continuing onto my bachelors at Rutgers University in New Brunswick as a Software Engineer. If I had any other person representing me that day, I am certain I would possibly be in jail until this day. Thank you Mr. Misa, I owe you my life. You are invited to my graduation! =)

    - THIS IS THE LAWYER YOU WANT TO DEFEND YOU -

  2. Michael Misa Review

    Posted by Pamela, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Misa.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    We have used Attorney Misa in two cases now, one is still ongoing. He is very straightforward and knows the law. He makes you feel like he cares about your case and that is very important--especially for people who have not had much experience with the criminal justice system.

  3. DUI down to reckless

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Misa.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. Misa represented me for a DUI charge. He kept me informed about the process and was present for me in court to minimize the amount of work that I needed to miss.
    The charge was resolved in my favor, and Mr. Misa certainly represented me competently and knowledgably.

  4. Saved me a pretty penny

    Posted by sant, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Misa.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Definitely the lawyer you want on your side! Always kept me informed. My case was a DUI case which none of the evidence could not get proved and we took it to trial and it got dismissed. His expertise in law enforcement really showed! This guy is confidence. Do i recommend him??? Considered your self lost if he's not on your side

  5. Dream Team

    Posted by KM, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Misa.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Having the misfortune and bad judgment of receiving a DUI in 2007. I had the good fortune of being referred to Michael Misa. The first day we met, I knew that my case would be handled well. I found he and his associates to be nothing but professional. They sympathized with the position I was in and always told me the facts. Never did he promise anything he felt he could not deliver on, in fact he tends to under promise and over deliver! His background experience in law enforcement/narcotics investigation, as a state prosecutor and criminal defense attorney make him a first round draft pick for anyones dream team! Since that time I have used his legal mind for many other issues. Do I recommend him??? Whole heartedly!

  6. Awesome Criminal Defense Attorney

    Posted by J, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Misa.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had the recent experience of needing the services of a top Tampa Criminal Defense Attorney for a DUI I received while I was visiting my father in Tampa. Not ever needing to hire a criminal lawyer in Tampa or anywhere for that matter, and not being from there made the process even more difficult. So I turned to Google for the answers. I first searched Tampa Criminal Lawyer and then Tampa DUI Lawyers and found Tampa Criminal Attorney Michael Misa. With years of experience as a defense lawyer and his passion for defending his client’s rights, hiring Criminal Attorney Michael Misa as my DUI Attorney was the smartest thing I did for the stupidest thing I ever did. I highly recommend Tampa Criminal Defense Lawyer Michael Misa!!

  7. Michael Misa is a great Attorney

    Posted by Nicole, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Misa.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Misa stayed on top of my case at all times. He was always easy to get a hold of and always kept me informed of where we stood during the whole process. He was very flex able with me. I felt confident leaving everything dealing with my case in his hands. I hope to never have to need an attorney again but if I do Mr. Misa would be my first choice!

  8. Definitely a strong choice for anyone needing legal representation.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Misa.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I retained the services of Michael Misa after researching several private attorneys. His diversified experience and qualifications gave me confidence that he was the right choice for me. He handled my case carefully and kept me informed on any changes or communications received and kept everything calm and professional. Not that I ever hope to need an attorney again in life - I still keep his number saved in my mobile phone so that if a circumstance arises, I know I have someone I can call who is dependable and trustworthy.

  9. Criminal Mischeif and Burglary

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Misa.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Michael was able to convince the Judge not to give me any jail time - even though the DA was pushing for it. I paid for damages I caused and some court fees, but pretty much walked away with a slap on the wrist. The judge told me straight up that I better thank my lawyer because if it wasnt for him I'd be in jail. I was living on the west coast while all of this was going on. He kept my court appearances to a minimum saving me travel costs and always returned my calls in a timely manner. I would recommend him 100%.