Adam Todd Dougherty’s Answers

Adam Todd Dougherty

Deerfield Beach Personal Injury Lawyer.

Contributor Level 12
  1. In immigration law, what is an immigration hold, or a deportation hold?

    Answered almost 6 years ago.

    1. Adam Todd Dougherty
    2. Leon Ben Hazany
    3. Sufen Hilf
    3 lawyer answers

    An immigration hold is placed by ICE (Immigration Customs Enforcement) when someone they believe is an illegal alien is in state custody (or federal). Most jails (I say most because smaller counties may not have an advanced webpage) or sheriff's offices have websites. Some even let you do an inmate search and it will tell you what they are charged with and if there are any holds, i.e. out of county hold, out of state hold, or immigration hold. IMPORTANT Once the immigration hold (or...

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

    86 people marked this answer as helpful

  2. What do i do if an uninsured driver runs the red light and crashes in me?

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. James Lawrence Magazine
    2. Adam Todd Dougherty
    3. Steven Mark Sweat
    4. David Irving Shiner
    5. Guy Irvin Wade III
    6. ···
    8 lawyer answers

    Unfortunately, if you did not purchase uninsured motorist (UM) coverage there's nothing you can do. Florida only requires drivers to maintain 10k in PIP (for their medical bills) & 10k in property damage. Most states require drivers to have mandatory Bodily Injury (BI) coverage however Florida has not followed suit to the detriment of people such as yourself.

    20 lawyers agreed with this answer

  3. Car accident, other drvier at fault but insurance company is placing fault on me.

    Answered 8 months ago.

    1. James William Guarnieri Jr.
    2. Christopher Robert Dillingham II
    3. Alyson Marie George
    4. Adam Todd Dougherty
    5. Jeffrey Mark Adams
    6. ···
    12 lawyer answers

    Contact a personal injury attorney (if you're injured). Do not make any statements to your insurance company, recorded or otherwise until you have consulted an attorney. An attorney will also be able to assist you in trying to recover compensation for getting your car repaired. You did not mention if the police came and did a report. While not admissible, it can be persuasive in proving the other car was liable depending on what the officer wrote. It usually takes 7 days for the report to be...

    18 lawyers agreed with this answer

  4. My son is a 30 year old graduate student, that has been convicted of a drug offense & is serving 24 months in the federal system

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Adam Todd Dougherty
    2. Mary Catherine Bonner
    3. Eric J Trabin
    4. Joshua Sachs
    5. John L Ponzini
    5 lawyer answers

    Your question leaves out a lot of important facts. I'm assuming your son was represented by an attorney if he was in federal court, either a private attorney or the public defender. You may first want to start off your inquiry by getting in touch with your son's lawyer. If after that your not satisfied, reach out to a qualified criminal defense attorney that handles federal cases. Finally, the only way for your son to receive a pardon is from the President of the United States.

    12 lawyers agreed with this answer

  5. Is there a time limit an attorney can hold your settlement money?

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. Adam Todd Dougherty
    2. William David Umansky
    3. Anthony Claude Francis
    4. Christian K. Lassen II
    4 lawyer answers

    No time limit because your attorney is obligated to hold the money in his trust account until the medical bills are talen care of, especially if you signed a letter of protection. He should be able to give you an update or an accounting on what's being held and why. Call your attorney and set up an appointment so he can explain this to you.

    12 lawyers agreed with this answer

  6. CAN ANYONE PLEASE HELP ME WITH MY PERSONAL INJURY QUESTION?

    Answered about 2 years ago.

    1. Adam Todd Dougherty
    2. Peter Scott Van Keuren
    3. David John Glatthorn
    4. Jeffrey Mark Adams
    5. Christian K. Lassen II
    6. ···
    6 lawyer answers

    You need to speak with your lawyer. You shouldn't be writing a demand letter or listening to ANYONE who told you that. That is what you hired an attorney for. That is why he is going to take 33%-40% of the fee, BECAUSE THAT IS WHAT HE IS PAID TO DO!!! If you're not happy with your lawyer that's a different story but if you have an attorney you should schedule an appointment and meet with him. Besides, your question states you went to mediation which means you are way past the demand letter...

    Selected as best answer

  7. I was charged for possession and possession with intent to sale on Jan . 18 . but wasn't arrested lit just two days ago .

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. William David Umansky
    2. Adam Todd Dougherty
    3. Craig A. Epifanio
    3 lawyer answers

    Contact a criminal defense attorney immediately. If they asked you questions after arresting you without reading you your rights, you may have grounds to suppress your statements. Do NOT speak to anyone about the charges, ESPECIALLY the police and meet with an attorney.

    11 lawyers agreed with this answer

  8. Does an assistant state or federal attorney need the main DA's or USA's signature and/or permission to file felony charges?

    Answered 12 months ago.

    1. Adam Todd Dougherty
    2. Colleen M. Glenn
    3. Roger Basil Butcher
    4. Michael Moshe Levin
    5. Mark H Randall
    6. ···
    6 lawyer answers

    No.

    9 lawyers agreed with this answer

  9. I had an accident in 2007.When you have a personal injury case you can only go after the insurance coverage where you injured?

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. David Hughes Harris
    2. Hernando Victor Pineres
    3. Adam Todd Dougherty
    4. David J. McCormick
    5. Laura Lee Shields
    6. ···
    9 lawyer answers

    Monica, Your attorney should be able to explain this to you. It's not an easy question to answer because you have not given all the facts. Yes, it is possible to get an excess verdict or settlement over the policy limits depending on a lot of different factors: could and should the insurance company have tendered the limits earlier when they had a chance to do so? Did the insurer act in bad faith? Who was the insurance company? If they're out of business and the claim is being handled by FIGA...

    9 lawyers agreed with this answer

  10. Is there any way I can fight the judgement on my license if the law was changed before the accident and I wasn't notified?

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. George Costas Andriotis
    2. Sagi Shaked
    3. Adam Todd Dougherty
    4. Christian K. Lassen II
    5. Jason M. Melton
    6. ···
    6 lawyer answers

    There is no mandatory BI law in Florida. Florida mandates PIP and 10k in property damage. The only recent change in Florida law has been to the PIP law, which mandates you must seek medical treatment within 14 days or you lose medical benefits. The other change was capping medical benefits to 2.5k unless you were diagnosed with an "Emergency Medical Condition" at which point you can receive up to 10k in medical benefits. Find out from DMV why exactly your license is suspended.

    9 lawyers agreed with this answer

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

954-531-1821