James Stewart Cunha’s Reviews

James Stewart Cunha

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Samaria

    Posted by Samaria, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I can't express with words what Mr Cunha had done for my family! I found him online with the best ratings and it was the best decision ever. We needed an attorney in WPB even though we don't live there, my little cousin was never returned to the mother after going on vacation there with his father! Mr Cunha explained to us how exactly things were going to be done and all the pros and cons and gave us always a sincere, professional and truthful answer. Worked around our schedules, was always available by phone, email, fax, text anytime we needed him. His staff was always courteous and knowledgeable and a phone call away. Our case was mostly over the phone, long distance but we never felt distant or ignored. Mr Cunha promised to returned the child home and after a year and many dirty tricks from the father and his unprofessional attorney we were able to see my little cousin again! James made us part of every single detail of the process no matter holiday, weekend or after hours! We were able to get everything we wanted and needed for the child's well been and all because we hired the most intelligent, smart, humane and dedicated man I've had the honor to meet in my life. Thanks James from my family to yours; welcome to our family and God Bless You!

  2. Child Support Case

    Posted by Sammy, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Cunha to handle my Child Support Case which was very complex.

    Mr.Cunha did a great job for me. He is Very Professional, Extremely Knowledgeable, and great to work with. I didn't feel intimidated talking to him like a lot of lawyers. Easy to talk to and a great listener. He will actually listens to your anger but will not give you a misleading answer. He will always give you and answer that he thinks the judge will give you but has a remarkable approach to each issue.

    We won 4 out of 5 of the issue we were dealing with and I settled on the 5th issue which was in my favor. I couldn't have been happier with the outcome of everything he handled.

    We are all worried about running up Attorney Fee's. I was very impressed with the way he handled keeping the cost down which was one of my main concerns in hiring such a great attorney. The office actually explained to me how to keep cost down. This was extremely helpful.

    I have worked with Mr. Cunha for the past year and will have him handle all my needs in the future not to mention he has become a great friend as well since working with him.

    Thank You James, I appreciate your hard work. Its been a pleasure working with you.

  3. The best attorney in Palm Beach County

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    From the first consultation I knew that Mr. Cunha was the advocate I needed. He was responsive, precise, kept me informed, compassionate, and extremely knowledgeable of the law. Divorce is an overwhelming and emotional process. Mr. Cunha and his team of professionals were exceptional in handling every detail so that I could focus on my children and rebuilding our lives. I cannot express how pleased I am with his performance and how grateful I am to have had him represent me. I confidently recommend Mr. Cunha to anyone seeking legal representation.

  4. The best choice I ever made was to hire Mr James S. Cunha.

    Posted by Raico, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am currently a client of Mr. James S. Cunha, and I highly recommend him to anyone looking for a divorce /separation attorney. I was looking for a good lawyer not only to handle my divorce, but fight for me to have equal rights for the custody/time-sharing of my son. After extensive searching and reviewing online, I found Mr. James Cunha. I decided to make an appointment for a consultation. During this consultation, the entire staff was friendly, personal, and courteous. James was completely fair in pricing, knowledgeable, and professional. He was very detailed and explained how the process would go, about the length of time to complete the divorce, and also talked about how to get time-sharing of my son.
    During this process, James and his staff has kept me informed through email, phone calls, and appointments. If I had any questions James and his staff was only a phone call away. We went to mediation, and he managed to get me everything I could have asked for. This process could have been very stressful and painful; however, James made things flow with ease and without hassle.
    Overall, his performance was excellent and over exceeded my expectations. As a father I am blessed to have such an understanding attorney, and I am forever grateful for what he has done for me and my son.

  5. I highly recommend Mr James Cunha to anyone who needs a divorce lawyer

    Posted by Kurt, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Mr James Cunha to anyone who needs a divorce lawyer. He is fair, honest, and knowledgeable. I am still very impressed with all the many extra hours James put in after the Marriage Settlement Agreement was signed. The opposing side filed many motions which the Judge eventually denied. Mr Cunha did not charge me for all the hours he spent to respond to the added litigation and to attend the court hearings. I plan on using his services when I file for full custody of my son. Thank you again, James.

  6. Thankful for Cunha Law

    Posted by Kathleen, a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Alimony matter.

    I am so grateful for Mr. Cunha and his staff, especially Karen Garrison his Office Administrator. She has helped me throughout my separation, divorce and custody issues. She is genuinely empathetic and always greets me with, "How are the kids doing?" She has been a wealth of information about resources available to me. She recommended that I look into Workforce Solutions, who are now paying for my classes at Indian River State College. She also advised me to explore Early Learning Coalition; they are helping me pay for afterschool care and summer camp so that I can work and go to school knowing that my child is safe. She recently helped me through the confusing State Disbursement Unit when two months of alimony payments went missing due to a "processing error". Karen always returns my calls and e-mails promptly, and has been so generous to me with her words of encouragement. She has so much faith in me and my potential. I do not know how I would have gone through this most difficult life experience without her in my corner. I am so thankful to Mr. Cunha for hiring such a dedicated professional.

  7. Highly Recommended Lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I highly recommend Mr. Cunha to anyone who needs a divorce attorney. I was in a very difficult situation when my husband at the time decided to move our family to Florida because of his work. We did not have any relatives who lived in Florida. During our marriage he wanted me to stay home and take care of our daughter. Once he got some big promotion at work, he wanted a divorce. I was shocked to say the least when he moved out of the home we had purchased when we moved to this state three years ago. Shortly after moving out, he hired a lawyer and filed for divorce. At first, I did not know what to do because he was supporting us. Quite frankly, part of me was in disbelief. After speaking with friends I had met at church, I interviewed several local attorneys while accompanied with my folks, who had traveled from out of state. My parents and I were extremely impressed with Mr. Cunha. When you meet with Mr. Cunha, you will see that this guy is incredibly sharp and knowledgeable. He was able to get me monthly alimony to help get me back on my feet. At one point after the divorce, my ex decided to stop paying even though he was ordered. Mr. Cunha immediately responded by taking my ex back to Court… Needless to say, my ex, in order to avoid being sent to jail, paid what was owed including my fees.

  8. Excellent

    Posted by K.B., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Overall, Mr. Cunha and his staff did an excellent job in representing my interests during my divorce. I would definitely refer his office to my friends and family.

  9. Effective and Compassionate

    Posted by Danny, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Last year, my now ex-wife and I decided that we no longer were able to live together and that we needed to end our marriage. After things became so unbearable at home, I finally had to leave. With several weeks passing by and the dust settling, I believed my ex-wife and I would be able to amicably divide all of our property and agree on custody of our child. Things began spiraling out of control to the point my ex was keeping me from spending time with our kid. I decided that I needed a good lawyer to help me out.

    I went online and researched local attorneys. When I met with James at his office, he appeared confident and listened to what I had to say. He didn’t give me any BS or some sales pitch to get me to retain him. During my initial meeting with him, I truly felt that he was already representing me. He answered all my questions and advised on what needed to be done.

    Once retained, James immediately took control of the situation. Although my divorce took a while to finish because of the scheduling backlog with the court and the fact that my ex-wife contested every single issue, James and his office fought on my behalf every step of the way. My ex would not settle at all, so our case went trial. At trial, I was impressed with James’ presentation of my case. His experience and confidence made him shine in the courtroom. Without a doubt, I was very pleased with his representation, as well as the outcome of my case. Thanks again, James and Karen! You guys are rock stars in my book.

  10. AWESOME ATTORNEY

    Posted by Robert, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    James and his staff were truly great in my case. After being served with divorce papers, I began looking around for a reputable divorce lawyer to handle my case. I happened to come across James’ ad on the back of a city bus while stopped at a traffic light. I saw that he practiced family law, so I visited his website. After reading his bio on the firm’s website, I decided to schedule a consultation. Just prior to my consultation with James, I had met with two other well-known attorneys who were recommended by a colleague. However, I was very impressed with James and how knowledgeable he was about the law so I retained him. Throughout my divorce, James and his staff always kept me informed. With every office meeting and telephone call, my questions were always answered. He was upfront, honest and detailed in discussing with me all of the issues in my case. Bottom line, James’ level of professionalism, knowledge of the law, and commitment was top notch during my entire case. His staff was just as incredible. I don’t think you will find a better team anywhere.