James Stewart Cunha’s Reviews

James Stewart Cunha

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I highly recommend Mr James Cunha to anyone who needs a divorce lawyer

    Posted by Kurt, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Mr James Cunha to anyone who needs a divorce lawyer. He is fair, honest, and knowledgeable. I am still very impressed with all the many extra hours James put in after the Marriage Settlement Agreement was signed. The opposing side filed many motions which the Judge eventually denied. Mr Cunha did not charge me for all the hours he spent to respond to the added litigation and to attend the court hearings. I plan on using his services when I file for full custody of my son. Thank you again, James.

  2. Thankful for Cunha Law

    Posted by Kathleen, a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Alimony matter.

    I am so grateful for Mr. Cunha and his staff, especially Karen Garrison his Office Administrator. She has helped me throughout my separation, divorce and custody issues. She is genuinely empathetic and always greets me with, "How are the kids doing?" She has been a wealth of information about resources available to me. She recommended that I look into Workforce Solutions, who are now paying for my classes at Indian River State College. She also advised me to explore Early Learning Coalition; they are helping me pay for afterschool care and summer camp so that I can work and go to school knowing that my child is safe. She recently helped me through the confusing State Disbursement Unit when two months of alimony payments went missing due to a "processing error". Karen always returns my calls and e-mails promptly, and has been so generous to me with her words of encouragement. She has so much faith in me and my potential. I do not know how I would have gone through this most difficult life experience without her in my corner. I am so thankful to Mr. Cunha for hiring such a dedicated professional.

  3. Highly Recommended Lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I highly recommend Mr. Cunha to anyone who needs a divorce attorney. I was in a very difficult situation when my husband at the time decided to move our family to Florida because of his work. We did not have any relatives who lived in Florida. During our marriage he wanted me to stay home and take care of our daughter. Once he got some big promotion at work, he wanted a divorce. I was shocked to say the least when he moved out of the home we had purchased when we moved to this state three years ago. Shortly after moving out, he hired a lawyer and filed for divorce. At first, I did not know what to do because he was supporting us. Quite frankly, part of me was in disbelief. After speaking with friends I had met at church, I interviewed several local attorneys while accompanied with my folks, who had traveled from out of state. My parents and I were extremely impressed with Mr. Cunha. When you meet with Mr. Cunha, you will see that this guy is incredibly sharp and knowledgeable. He was able to get me monthly alimony to help get me back on my feet. At one point after the divorce, my ex decided to stop paying even though he was ordered. Mr. Cunha immediately responded by taking my ex back to Court… Needless to say, my ex, in order to avoid being sent to jail, paid what was owed including my fees.

  4. Excellent

    Posted by K.B., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Overall, Mr. Cunha and his staff did an excellent job in representing my interests during my divorce. I would definitely refer his office to my friends and family.

  5. Effective and Compassionate

    Posted by Danny, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Last year, my now ex-wife and I decided that we no longer were able to live together and that we needed to end our marriage. After things became so unbearable at home, I finally had to leave. With several weeks passing by and the dust settling, I believed my ex-wife and I would be able to amicably divide all of our property and agree on custody of our child. Things began spiraling out of control to the point my ex was keeping me from spending time with our kid. I decided that I needed a good lawyer to help me out.

    I went online and researched local attorneys. When I met with James at his office, he appeared confident and listened to what I had to say. He didn’t give me any BS or some sales pitch to get me to retain him. During my initial meeting with him, I truly felt that he was already representing me. He answered all my questions and advised on what needed to be done.

    Once retained, James immediately took control of the situation. Although my divorce took a while to finish because of the scheduling backlog with the court and the fact that my ex-wife contested every single issue, James and his office fought on my behalf every step of the way. My ex would not settle at all, so our case went trial. At trial, I was impressed with James’ presentation of my case. His experience and confidence made him shine in the courtroom. Without a doubt, I was very pleased with his representation, as well as the outcome of my case. Thanks again, James and Karen! You guys are rock stars in my book.

  6. AWESOME ATTORNEY

    Posted by Robert, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    James and his staff were truly great in my case. After being served with divorce papers, I began looking around for a reputable divorce lawyer to handle my case. I happened to come across James’ ad on the back of a city bus while stopped at a traffic light. I saw that he practiced family law, so I visited his website. After reading his bio on the firm’s website, I decided to schedule a consultation. Just prior to my consultation with James, I had met with two other well-known attorneys who were recommended by a colleague. However, I was very impressed with James and how knowledgeable he was about the law so I retained him. Throughout my divorce, James and his staff always kept me informed. With every office meeting and telephone call, my questions were always answered. He was upfront, honest and detailed in discussing with me all of the issues in my case. Bottom line, James’ level of professionalism, knowledge of the law, and commitment was top notch during my entire case. His staff was just as incredible. I don’t think you will find a better team anywhere.

  7. Two thumbs up!

    Posted by MD, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I want to take this time to complement Mr. Cunha and his staff on the quality of work they performed in my divorce. I was referred to Mr. Cunha through a friend of mine. I was really impressed with Mr. Cunha and his staff and how they conducted themselves. That office is a workhorse...to say the least! They were very professional and knowledgeable. I definitely recommend him for any family law case.

  8. A Great Lawyer!!!

    Posted by a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Working with James Cunha and his staff was a wonderful experience. This was the first time I had to deal with a contract dispute with one of my clients. Prior to my initial consultation with James, I was very anxious due to my inexperience with this type of situation. After listening to my situation and seeing the evidence to back up my account, James was able to quickly assess the situation. He offered the best course of action and immediately eased my fears. James helped to end a bad situation with an unreasonable client.

    Mr. Cunha and his staff were professional, knowledgeable and caring. I would not hesitate to refer him to my family, friends or anyone that is reading this review.

  9. INSIGHTFUL & TRUSTWORTHY - A TRUE PROFESSIONAL

    Posted by John, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    James Cunha was recommended by a trusted friend. His professionalism and keen insight helped me to achieve the best possible outcome for my children. I am also grateful for the patient caring support staff that helped ease my apprehension at a most trying time in my life.

  10. A refreshing change

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Cunha.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Cunha and his staff are extremely caring, responsive and knowledgeable. I was always kept in the loop about my case and was very impressed with the way Mr. Cunha handled some extremely difficult issues in the courtroom - he thinks fast on his feet.