James Wade Schwitalla’s Reviews

James Wade Schwitalla

Average Rating

Based on 35 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Entire office made for a smooth, worry-free experience

    Posted by Ailin, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Schwitalla.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    From the moment I came for the initial consultation, I have been made to feel comfortable, treated with utmost professionalism and compassion. Mr. Schwitalla and his entire staff made every effort to answer all my questions and concerns. There has been effective communication, via phone and email. I have had no surprises or hidden "fees". Although I would NEVER want to go through this process again, Mr. Schwitalla and Ms. Roberts would be the only attorneys that I would trust to handle mine or my family's financial matters.
    Highly recommend.

  2. An attorney who showed knowledge, integrity and patience

    Posted by Rolando, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Schwitalla.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    Mr Schwitalla took time to listen and give his professional opinion, long after office hours. He showed knowledge in his field. He showed integrity by recommending what was best for me and not just for his business. I plan to return to him and would recommended him to anyone that I know.

  3. TRUSTWORTHY & KNOWLEDGEABLE

    Posted by Alice, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Schwitalla.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    I hired James Schwitalla to handle my Chapter 13 bankruptcy and loan modification on my home. My finances were a mess and my home was being foreclosed. When first seeing Mr. Schwitalla he spent an hour with me for my free consultation. He was very thorough explaining the process for the bankruptcy and LMM. He answered all my questions and concerns. He has also directed me in making some other important decisions in my life. The whole process has gone very smoothly and I am very satisfied with the results. I will be staying in my home and I have my loan modification. I have worked with everyone in his office and they are all friendly and helpful. I had wasted quite a bit of time with other attorneys that did come through with what they had promised before meeting Mr. Schwitalla. I highly recommend James Schwitalla and his firm.

  4. Excellent help and knowledge!!

    Posted by Henry, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Schwitalla.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    I felt lost with my financial issues and knew i needed to get a Bankruptcy but talked to many lawyers i either felt were not helping me or wanted up front Fees for consultation. I went to Mr. Schwitalla's Firm and he treated me well and answered any question i had. He was very clear with me on what he could do for me and took me every step of the way. My Bankruptcy process went fast and flawlessly. Mr. Schwitalla was a pleasure to work with and still checks on me to make sure everything is going smooth on my Chapter 13 Bankruptcy. I strongly recommend his Firm!

    Henry

  5. Dedicated, Informative, Clear

    Posted by Claudia,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Schwitalla.

    He sat down without rushing or watching his watch every five minutes. He dedicated his 100% attention to my specific situation and counseled me as if I was a friend.
    Thanks to Mr. Schwitalla I learned so much and gathered the hard facts about my situation that now I am able to work towards a realistic goal.
    I am truly grateful for the time and attention received!

  6. GRATEFUL CLIENTS

    Posted by JACQUELINE, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Schwitalla.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    ABSOLUTELY !!
    MR. SCHWITALLA IS A TRUE PROFESSIONAL, CARING AND WILL NOT STOP UNTIL HE HAS COMPLETED YOUR BEST INTEREST. VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND TRUSTWORTH. IF YOU NEED AN ATTORNEY YOU CAN CALL HIM YOUR ATTORNEY. SOMEONE WHO CAN TRULY GUIDE AND REPRESENT YOU WHEN YOU NEED IT MOST. WE FELT HE WAS THERE ALL THE WAY THRU OUR CHAPTER 13, RATHER COMPLICATED, BANKRUPTCY. ALSO HIS STAFF IS FRIENDLY, KNOWLEDGEABLE AND MADE THE PROCESS PAINLESS.

  7. Best Attorney I have spoken to in many years!

    Posted by HAPPY CLIENT, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Schwitalla.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Schwitalla is hands on and no-nonsense yet you get a warm and fuzzy feeling from him. He explains things clearly and accurately. The steps he explains are easy to follow and understand. He tries really hard to speak to Spanish speaking clients and does a great job of it. I have been working with attorneys for almost 18 years and he is one of the best I have come across. He represented my parents and other relatives in Chapter 7 Bankruptcy and got a swift and painless resolution. I would wholeheartedly recommend him and call on him again for any future needs.

  8. very professional

    Posted by Ivette, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Schwitalla.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Schwitalla helped me solve a problem 4 years ago. He was extremely professional and honest. His office runs very smoothly and his staff is very polite and helpful. They helped me go through a very difficult process in a very a calm and efficient manner. Recently I visited for advice and once again I received the best service. I highly reccommend Mr. Schwitalla and his office!

  9. The Bankruptcy Law Firm with a Heart

    Posted by Mari, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Schwitalla.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The law firm that had started my bankruptcy had created real problems. One by one James and Kelly unraveled the mess and made the road smooth again. James and Kelly are extremely knowledgeable, reliable, dependable and results oriented. Definately experts in their field. The staff is a genuine pleasure to deal with, especially Maria. The law firm with a heart. They were compassionate and caring every step of the fearful way, giving me confidence, strength and what is more important, a positive financial position in the end. I would recommend the Bankruptcy Law Firm of James Schwitalla without reservation.

  10. BUYER BEWARE!

    Posted by BANKRUPTCY CLIENT, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Schwitalla.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    PLEASE TAKE THE TIME TO READ THIS AND THE OTHER NEGATIVE REVIEWS (ESPECIALLY THE REVIEW FROM "DON'T RECOMMEND") ON THIS SITE. I EXPERIENCED THE SAME, SCHWITALLA CLAIMS TO BE THE BEST IN THE BUSINESS, HOWEVER, CASES ARE FILED ONLY TWICE A MONTH AND I WAS REPRESENTED BY ANOTHER ATTORNEY, AT THAT! I WAS ADMONISHED FOR ATTEMPTING TO SPEAK TO HIM AND TOLD HE HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH THE CASE AFTER I HAD PAID TO RETAIN HIM. A "BAIT AND SWITCH".
    THE OFFICE STAFF (THAT ARE REFERRED TO AS PARALEGALS, NOT TRUE) ARE CONSTANTLY COMPLAINING ABOUT WORKLOAD.
    THE ATTORNEY (NOT SCHWITALLA) THAT FILES ALL THE CASES TWICE A MONTH IS ALWAYS STRESSED, IMPATIENT, AND BOTHERED WHEN ASKED QUESTIONS. SHE IS INSULTING, RAISES HER VOICE AND ALWAYS COMPLAINING ABOUT HER WORKLOAD, AS WELL.
    MY CONCERN FOR ANY NEW CLIENT IS TO BEWARE. IT'S LIKE A MACHINE AND YOU GET CAUGHT IN THE MIDDLE. SCHWITALLA TAKES YOU IN, DUMPS YOU ON HIS SIDELINE, AND THEN YOU'RE STUCK WITH SECRETARIES TO ANSWER QUESTIONS. OR, NO RESPONSE!
    GOD FORBID THERE WAS A MISTAKE MADE IN THEIR STRATEGY WITH CREDITORS...WHEN THEIR STRATEGY WASN'T SUCCESSFUL WITH THE CREDITOR, THE BLAME WAS REDIRECTED TO ME AND THEY ATTEMPTED TO BILL ME MORE FOR THEIR MISCALCULATION/ MISTAKE!
    PLEASE BE ADVISED TO HIRE AN ATTORNEY THAT WILL ACTUALLY COMMUNICATE, AND REPRESENT YOU RESPECTFULLY DURING SUCH AN IMPORTANT TIME. (NOT PASS YOU ON TO ANOTHER ATTORNEY WITH POOR COMMUNICATION THAT YOU DIDN'T HIRE IN THE FIRST PLACE.) IT WAS AN AWFUL EXPERIENCE.
    I PAID FEES FOR AN ATTORNEY THAT I THOUGHT THAT I HIRED TO REPRESENT ME, BUT NEVER DID; A STRATEGY THAT WAS POORLY ADVISED, AND THEN CHANGED WITH STILL NEGATIVE RESULTS. THEY DIDN'T ATTEND HEARINGS THAT WERE COMPLETELY PAID FOR IN 'SAFE HARBOR ATTORNEY FEES', THE BALL WAS DROPPED, AND THE CASE TOTALLY ABANDONED WITHOUT NOTICE ON TOP OF THAT! TO MAKE MATTERS WORSE, THEY HAD THE AUDACITY TO FILE A MOTION FOR MORE ATTORNEY FEES, WHEN I HADN'T BEEN REPRESENTED IN ANY HEARINGS THAT WERE PREVIOUSLY SCHEDULED. THANKFULLY, THEIR REQUEST WAS NOT GRANTED AND I WAS ABLE TO MOVE ON.
    SCHWITALLA'S WEBSITE/ADVERTISEMENT NEGLECTS TO MENTION ANOTHER ATTORNEY THAT WILL ACTUALLY BE HANDLING YOUR CASE. SCHWITALLA IS VERY NICE AND ACCOMMODATING WHEN HE SOLICITS YOUR BUSINESS, HOWEVER, HE IS UNAVAILABLE AND QUITE INSULTING WHEN BOTHERED AFTER HE HAS YOUR BUSINESS AND IS PAID FOR IN FULL.
    I HOPE I CAN SPARE SOMEONE ELSE THE SAME. BEWARE AND SHOP AROUND TO COMPARE.