Jose Javier Elortegui’s Reviews

Jose Javier Elortegui

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Complete waste of money!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jose Elortegui.
    • I hired Jose more than 3 years ago.
    • Jose handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    This lawyer has a good rap and nice colorful brochures. He paints a beautiful story about how he can get your DUI dismissed. After you pay him, he is never available. Never called me back. Then in Court, when I wanted him to fight my case, he said I would go to jail unless I pled guilty. He practically threatened me with jail. Then I saw him arguing with all the other poor clients he had like me into taking the same bad deal. While other lawyers were getting dismissals, I had to take a plea. Well, I did not. I fired him, then I hired one that got my case dismissed. He did not even try. Yes, he was the cheapest lawyer I interviewed. I found out the hard way, you get what you paid for.

  2. posecion of camabis

    Posted by antonio, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jose Elortegui.
    • I hired Jose 1-3 years ago.
    • Jose handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Da worst lawyer ever.never availave and got me the max time.eas never explanatory im i could have reprecented my self better tha what he did call someone else do ur self a favor

  3. Poor service

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jose Elortegui.
    • I hired Jose more than 3 years ago.

    It is hard enough to decide which attorney to hire with all that advertisement out there and most of the people in need like myself are quite ignorant in the matter, not mentioning the fact that when it comes to these kind of things anxiety may lead us into making poor choices.
    A while ago I hired Mr. Elortegui to represent me for a first time offence. After payment was done he was nowhere to be found. Must have called at least 15 times to his office and he was never avaliable and never had the courtesy of returning a single call. I had plenty of questions but never saw the guy again until the trial , which by the way he kept postponing. In addition the guy gave me quite an attitude that day. He was completely unprepared for the trial.
    I'm sure a public defendant would have done a better job and for less than 5% of what I paid this guy.

  4. very good lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jose Elortegui.
    • I hired Jose 1-3 years ago.
    • Jose handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Anyone who would write a bad review about Jose Elortegui hasnt seen him defend a DUI case. I hired him after a recent arrest where I had an accident. I made the mistake of taking the breathalizer test and blew well over the limit. Jose Elortegui asserted in court that the breath testing machine was not properly maintained and was not reliable. He was able to get the high breath reading thrown out. I won the case and didnt have to pay a fortune.

  5. I do not reccommend

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Jose Elortegui.
    • I hired Jose 1-3 years ago.
    • Jose handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Jose Elortegui after receiving an advertisement in the mail. I had received a first time dui and he said that he can help me. After I paid him that was it. My case stayed in his office collecting dust. He always was too busy to meet or pick up the phone. Two weeks before trial and caught him in his office unexpectedly and he told me look, your going to go to jail. I can't win your case. Thankfully I was able to hire another attorney in time and actually won the case. I recommend to pay a little more and get a real defense attorney that will fight for your rights.

  6. Outstanding lawyer

    Posted by Gerardo, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jose Elortegui.
    • I hired Jose 1-3 years ago.
    • Jose handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After meeting several lawyers I hired Jose Elortegui. I had a serious criminal case and the other lawyers didnt seem to have enough experience. Jose Elortegui is definitely the lawyer to tackle my type of legal problem. He kept me informed t every stage of the process. When it came time for trial he demonstrated tenacity in the defense of my position. The outcome was outstanding.

  7. GReat Defense Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jose Elortegui.
    • I hired Jose more than 3 years ago.
    • Jose handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jose Elortegui defended me for only $800 and my DUI charge was dismissed. He was very professional and curtious and his staff was very knowledgable and helped throughout the ordeal. I dont understand why other lawyers wanted $4000 for the same thing. I highly recomend Mr. Elortegui to anyone who has a DUI.

  8. Una decision poco acertada

    Posted by Arturo, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jose Elortegui.
    • I hired Jose 1-3 years ago.
    • Jose handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    En el pasado mes de Enero 2012 contrate los servicios de este abogado para la defensa de mi hijo por un caso de D.U.I. (primera ofensa) motivado por la propaganda que de el recibi en mi hogar en la que especificaba.

    "Usted puede tener una defensa solida si contesta que SI a cualquiera de las siguientes preguntas."

    9- ¿Estaba estacionado su auto cuando el policia hizo su primer contacto con usted?

    Como esto fue lo que sucedio en realidad pues en el reporte policial asi lo consta,

    -"Acudimos a la escena por una llamada de un vecino a la linea 911 sobre un auto estacionado al frente de su propiedad en cuyo interior se encontraba una persona aparentemente inconsciente"-

    Por lo que fue que me decidi (porque en realidad no lo estaba) a contratar los servicios de este abogado.

    En nuestra primera entrevista despues de leer el reporte policial y escuchar de boca de mi hijo el relato de los hechos el me aseguro que habia un +90% de probabilidades de poderle quitar el cargo de D.U.I. y rebajarlo solo a una multa de transito cosa que a mi en ese momento me hizo sentir mucho alivio por mi hijo y por lo que esto pudiera representar en sus aspiraciones futuras por lo que inmediatamente decidi contratarlo.

    Este señor comenzo a demorar el caso posponiendo a su antojo las citas de la corte hasta tanto cobrara sus honorarios en totalidad.

    Por fin mi hijo fue citado a corte el 25 de abril y al acudir a la misma y personarse el abogado nos comunica de la forma menos profesional que existe que el no puede ganar el caso y que solo habian dos posibles soluciones.

    1- Ir a juicio donde seguramente le darian tiempo de carcel a mi hijo (lo que no puse en duda pues con defensores como este va a llegar el dia en que la profesion de fiscal llegue a ser obsoleta)

    2- Aceptar un trato previa declaracion de culpabilidad y pagar todos los costos que le impondrian y de esa manera evitar la carcel.

    A lo que yo como padre que quiere resguardar la integridad de su hijo y para evitarle malos momentos le dije que aceptara el trato.

    Ahora yo quisiera saber a que se referia el abogado cuando publico en su propaganda "defensa solida" por el momento a mi solo me queda pensar que se referia a sus finanzas.

    Todo esto lo expongo con el unico fin de poder ayudar aunque solo sea a una persona a tomar una decision acertada a la hora de escoger a un abogado.

  9. best DUI lawyer

    Posted by Alex, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jose Elortegui.
    • I hired Jose more than 3 years ago.
    • Jose handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I drive a truck for work and had a CDL license until I was arrested for DUI. I hired Jose Elortegui to represent me and he fought the suspension at DMV and was able to get my CDL reinstated. I was back to work in a week. When the trial came, Mr. Elortegui disputed the results of the breath test and they were thrown out. The state Attorney was forced to drop the DUI case. He did this for a very reasonable fee and I highly recommend him to anyone charged witha DUI.