James P. Gagel’s Reviews

James P. Gagel

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DONT HIRE THIS ATTORNEY*******

    Posted by BACHUR, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Gagel.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I HIRED THIS ATTORNEY BECAUSE I WAS REFERRED,, I DIDNT BOTHER TO CHECK HIS REVIEW,I HIRED HIM FOR A IMMIGRATION CASE TO BRING MY WIFE BACK,,FROM VENEZUELA HE CHARGE ME $5000 TOTAL HE NEVER SPECIFIED THAT THERE WERE OTHER IMMIGRATION FEE INVOLVED,VERY TRICKY,THEY MADE LOTS OF MISTAKES IN MY WIFE CASE,JAMES USES PARELEAGAL UN EXPERIENCE ACCORDING TO AN OFFICER I SPOKE TOO,,IMAGINE THEY SEND ME THE WAIVER ALL THE WAY TO CARACAS ,VENEZUELA FOR ME TO TAKE TO UNITED STATES EMBACY, WHEN THEY STOP OVER 2 YEARS AGO FROM TAKING WAIVERS FROM CUSTOMERS,WAIVER THAT WAS SEND TO NEBRASKA,HAD LOTS OF MISSING INFO WHOS FAULT IS IT,??? THE ATTORNEY FOR NOT CHECKING HIS WORK,AND RELYING ON HIS PARELEAGAL TO DO HIS JOB,WHEN THE WAIVER CAME BACK STATING THAT IT WAS MISSING INFO,, THE ATTORNEY WANTED MORE MONEY AND TO BE PAID IN FULL ITS ALL ABOUT THE MONEY,,,THE PROCESS WITH THIS ATTORNEY AND STAFF IF VERY POOR,HE DOESNT SPECIALIZE 100% IN IMMIGRATION, HE DOES 5 OTHER SERVICES BESIDE IMMIGRATION CALL FLORIDA BAR AND THEY WILL TELL YOU IF HES 100% IMMIGRATION OR HE SPECIALIZE IN OTHER STUFF,,,CAMILA ALVAREZ PARELEAGAL WHICH I THINK IS A KISS ASS, COVERS HIM FROM CUSTOMER.
    I ENNDED UP HIRING ANOTHER ATTORNEY TO FIX ALL THERE MISTAKE, COSTING ME MORE MONEY THATS WHY IM TAKING THEM TO COURT AND POSSIBLE A LAWSUITE FOR PERSONAL DAMAGES,,,DONT HIRE THIS ATTORNEY WORST NIGHTMARE.

  2. Thank you for giving us a hand with our startup company

    Posted by Conrado, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Gagel.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.

    What we value the most from James is that he did not limited himself to give us what we thought we needed, he advised us and at the end provided us with a broader instrument than what we could have ever imagined.

    Thank you James for helping us to start setting the legal basis for the success of our company, You can be sure that we will contact you again in the near future.

  3. Successful Application

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Gagel.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.

    Very thoughtful and organized work for a petition of an investor visa for the U.S.. After gathering information and putting the case together with his team, the embassy approved our petition of an E2 Visa. The embassy was very satisfied with James Gagel law firm outstanding work.

  4. Succesful investor visa application

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gagel.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Immigration matter.

    Very straight forward and organized lawyer. He organized a solid petition for an investor visa application to which the U.S. embassy approved and told me was very organized, formal and understandable case. The embassy actually complimented me on my petition.

  5. James and his team got it done!

    Posted by Darren, a Power Of Attorney client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gagel.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Power Of Attorney matter.

    Doing a visa of any kind is nerve racking process and with James' knowledge and know how I was able to relax and trust in him that he would be successful. I cannot recommend him enough I went through two other useless attorneys before finding him and he was excellent.

  6. Mediocre attorney

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Gagel.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We used the services of Mr Gagel to fill out a family asylum case.
    His follow up was poor, his fees high and his staff arrogant and self-righteous.
    Our case was delayed several months because of his office's incompetence, when we met with him to ask about the process he seem like he had never actually review the case and left it all for the last minute. During the interviews we realized the many wholes that the asylum narrative had and the lack of coherence of the testimonies all because he never took the time to sit with the asylum seekers and build a credible and strong narrative. In the end the asylum was denied, the appeal was denied but he was quick to charge his compensation.
    Fancy office and staff but really poor service.

    1. James P. Gagel

      James P. Gagel

      Lawyer Comment:

      This post is untrue and suspicious, for several reasons: 1) I have not tried an asylum case in the past three years, as this "client" states, 2) I have never tried an asylum case that was denied because of conflicting stories of witnesses, 3) I have never tried a case without thoroughly reviewing the facts with the witnesses and being fully prepared, 4) It is HIGHLY unethical for an attorney to "build a credible and strong narrative"; the witnesses must testify under oath based on their own recollection, 5) If there were many HOLES in their case, and a "lack of coherence of the testimonies", it was because they were making it up in the first place. Minor inconsistencies are normal, and indicative of telling the truth, rather than memorizing a made-up story. Again, I have never had this experience in an asylum case. 6) It is unusual for anyone other than the husband and wife to testify; I do not recall ever having several family members or more than one or two witnesses testify in an asylum case, 7) I have NEVER had an asylum client who could write in English as this comment is written; 100% needed interpreters. The phrase "build a credible and strong narrative" is not one used in any language by any asylum client I have ever had. In conclusion, people who expect their lawyer to act as a front for them and make up stories are sorely mistaken and deservedly denied relief. That is not what we do. This supposed client's entire comment is a made-up story, as far as I can see. Regards, James Gagel, Esq.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  7. Super Attorney / Best Personal Service

    Posted by Ricardo, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gagel.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Getting our business set up and our family settled in Miami was a daunting task. James Gagel was on top of all the details, and made sure we always knew what was going on. He always spent a lot of time with us. Very patient. He got us approved for all our visas, then we became residents with green cards, and next year we will be citizens.