Robert Jonathan Lee’s Answers

Robert Jonathan Lee

Coral Gables Personal Injury Lawyer.

Contributor Level 8
  1. Is there really no defense to LEWD OR LASCIVIOUS BATTERY if the girl/victim tells you shes 18, shows a fake ID and makes a state

    Answered about 2 years ago.

    1. Robert Jonathan Lee
    2. Zahra Shanaz Umansky
    3. Bryce Aric Fetter
    3 lawyer answers

    Statutory rape is a strict liability crime within the state of Florida. What this means essentially is that "mistaken belief" is not a defense. Florida Statute Section 794.021 (which states: "When, in this chapter, the criminality of conduct depends upon the victim's being below a certain specified age, ignorance of the age is no defense. Neither shall misrepresentation of age by such person nor a bona fide belief that such person is over the specified age be a defense. ") is pretty clear...

    Selected as best answer

  2. If i haven't been assigned a public defender yet does that mean i haven't been charged with anything yet?

    Answered about 1 year ago.

    1. Brian Frederick Greenwald
    2. Robert Jonathan Lee
    3. Brett Jacob Szematowicz
    4. Michael Maz Raheb
    4 lawyer answers

    Depending on the charge, if your friend is found indigent (unable to afford an attorney) he/she will be appointed a PD at arraignment (when the state announces whether or not it is going to formally charge your friend).

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  3. It is again the law if a18 years old girl is having sex with a 15 years old hoy?

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Eric J Trabin
    2. Robert M Chambers
    3. Thomas Anthony Sadaka
    4. Jesus Novo III
    5. Robert Jonathan Lee
    5 lawyer answers

    Yes, consensual and in high school are not defenses in this situation.

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  4. In Florida can an arrest be expunged subsequent to successful completion of a PTD? I heard an arrest record could only be sealed

    Answered about 2 years ago.

    1. Eric Matthew Matheny
    2. David Ashley Haenel
    3. William David Umansky
    4. Steve Daniel Santiago
    5. Robert Jonathan Lee
    5 lawyer answers

    I will not beat a dead horse and talk about PTD as it appears that my colleagues have adequately covered that area. However, as it seems you are financially strapped you may want to be aware that taking depositions and/or subpoenaing witnesses (1) costs money (for depos) which will come out of your pocket and (2) may not be the best way to the prosecutor's heart. In fact, if and/or when your defense counsel starts down that path the PTD may be off the table as far as the state is concerned....

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  5. Live in CA got a DUI in KS, didn't show up to court now have a Warrant i

    Answered about 2 years ago.

    1. Aaron Reuben Bortel
    2. Jon William Woolsey
    3. Robert Jonathan Lee
    3 lawyer answers

    The longer you go without addressing this the greater the risk you run of getting pulled over/picked up. That will not bode well for an agreeable final disposition as far as you are concerned. Contact a Kansas attorney and have him or her (1) negotiate with the State a surrender date (2) explain exactly why you were originally unable to attend and (3) discuss with you the norms of the Kansas judiciary system.

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer

  6. Refusal to submit to roadside

    Answered about 2 years ago.

    1. Rhidian David Watson Orr
    2. Karl J Geil
    3. Adam Feldman
    4. Robert Jonathan Lee
    5. Troy D Krenning
    5 lawyer answers

    While I am not licensed in CO, many states require a mandatory suspension of your license for refusal to accept a breath test. As has been previously noted: driving is often considered a privilege, not a right. However, there are often exceptions to the rule, i.e. limited privileges for such tasks as work, school, grocery shopping, etc.. Consult a local CO attorney regarding the matter if you have been formally charged with a DUI/DWI.

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer

  7. The case is going to trail if the victim does not show up and there is no other witness will charges be droped

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Steven Douglas Knittle
    2. Robert Jonathan Lee
    3. Nick Jay Dorsten
    4. Christopher A Narducci
    5. J. Thomas Smith Ph.D.
    5 lawyer answers

    It often depends on the County. Miami-Dade has a "no drop" policy (where the State will not drop a DV case simply because the victim no longer wishes to pursue). I'm not certain whether or not this is the case in Broward Co. Regardless, as has been stated previous, the State will have a tough time proving their case without a witness. Contact defense counsel and perhaps they can reach a favorable disposition.

    Selected as best answer

  8. If i was to violate probation?

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. David S Katz
    2. Jackson Keith Hilliard
    3. Amir A. Ladan
    4. Yoel Molina
    5. Robert Jonathan Lee
    6. ···
    6 lawyer answers

    Yes you violated. Yes they are looking for you (if your friend said that you were driving the car). You can go to jail (worst case scenario). How do you 'get out' of this? - hope that your friend didn't give your last name as the driver otherwise you will need to lawyer up.

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  9. I am from Florida and I have gotten 3 DUI's. The first one was esponged. I got my 3rd one on probation. Will I do jail time?

    Answered about 2 years ago.

    1. Joshua Eli Adams
    2. Corey Ira Cohen
    3. William David Umansky
    4. Robert Jonathan Lee
    5. Gregory David Spink
    5 lawyer answers

    Given your priors it seems likely that you may spend some time in jail. Hire an attorney immediately in order to see if they cant speak to the State Attorney to work out a more favorable recommendation/lesser offense to keep you out. From experience however, I'm not certain the State will be too willing to work with you seeing as how they may play the "you haven't learned from previous experience" card. A lot of your situation will depend just as much upon the judge and the State Attorney...

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  10. Handicap Parking Ticket in Florida. Should I fight it and risk paying $500 or just pay the $250 fine?

    Answered about 2 years ago.

    1. Robert Jonathan Lee
    2. Robert Jason De Groot
    3. Bryce Aric Fetter
    3 lawyer answers

    It appears in your pictures as though the space is prominently outlined in blue (indicating you knew or should have known you were in a handicapped space) and while you may have an argument that the building is not "up to code" this has little to do with your success in determining whether or not you were illegally parked.

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer