Eric Matthew Matheny’s Reviews

Eric Matthew Matheny

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I STRONGLY recommend Attorney Eric Matheny!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Matheny.
    • I hired Eric 1-6 months ago.
    • Eric handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I wanted to write this review for people in need of a criminal defense attorney. I remember consulting with approximately 10 different criminal defense attorneys in Miami and I ultimately decided to hire attorney Matheny.
    Attorney Matheny treated me as a "human being" not a criminal, and trust me you need someone who will fight for you ( which is exactly what attorney Matheny did for me). It has been approximately two weeks since my charges were dropped and I finally realize that I got my life back!.
    I am writing this because I now know how serious and scary it is to face criminal charges and I don't wish it on my worst enemy.
    My advice: if in trouble, do not risk your life with a public defender. There is NO way you can live a normal life with a criminal record, this is not the place to risk. During our first meeting, attorney Matheny evaluated my case and gave me his honest opinion about the "most" possible outcome in a realistic manner. I am so grateful for his help, I got my life back. I remember the person who recommended him told me "Eric Matheny will be on top of your case". I now see how true that was.
    You owe it to yourself to at least meet with him.

  2. A true Lawyer, Very honest, and a great person!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Matheny.
    • I hired Eric 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I don't know where to begin. Eric Matheny is an exceptional lawyer! He has processed my case with attention to detail. I had an indefinite restraining order put against me and needed it off my record because it was negatively affecting me. I got pulled over and it would come up on my record and for job clearance also. He called me multiple times during the whole process, even when waiting for a court date. He was very well prepared on the court date, and an excellent speaker. If you are looking for a true professional call Eric Matheny.

  3. Good attorney and good guy

    Posted by Thomas, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Matheny.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Matheny did a terrific job when my son and two friends were caught in an unfortunate situation while on spring break. He demonstrated great knowledge of the process, has familiarity with the individuals involved in the prosecutors office, was flexible with tight schedules, was responsive, and effectively communicated with the defendants.

    Case was dropped and handled expungement process.

    We should all hope we don't get caught in the apparatus but if you do, I do not hesitate to offer my highest endorsement for Eric.

  4. Top Notch Professional

    Posted by george, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Matheny.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I called Mr. Matheney for representation and resolution of an injunction that was taken out against me about 15 years ago. I was unaware that it was a permanent injunction and that it would affect my professional licensing and background checks , forever. Mr. Matheney answered my call personally, took all of the information and prepared the necessary papers to petition the court for relief.
    During the interval between the filing and the court date he called me several times to update status.
    I traveled to Miami, Florida (as that was the court of jurisdiction) and we proceeded to appear in front of the judge, Mr. Matheney was the consummate professional and he presented the argument with the facts he had gathered. The court ruled in my favor and dismissed the injunction.
    This may seem like a very simple matter to the uninitiated but It is really a very complicated and he handled everything like a true expert.

  5. Amazing, Hiring Eric was the best decision I could have made

    Posted by Mike, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Matheny.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I contacted Eric late in the evening just before Thanksgiving, I learned I had a bench warrant isseud for my arrest many years earlier. From our first conversation I felt comfortable and appreciated his honesty. During the entire process he called me more often than I called him. he kept well informed and was understanding to the fact that while it was misdemeanor offense for which I was charged it was a big deal to me.
    While I hope I never have the need for his services as a criminal attorney, I would recommend him to anyone who finds themselves involved with the criminal justice system.
    If you're looking for an attorney who will be honest and who fill defend you vigorously then Eric is the attorney you need to hire.

  6. Accessible, Helpful & Effective

    Posted by Cathy, a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Matheny.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my General Practice matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had two charges against me; one in the distant past, and one more recent. I found Eric online, and from the first phone conversation, he was extremely helpful and well-informed. I hired him to expunge a charge, and also to represent me in court. He was confident that my case would be dismissed, and fortunately he was right. Now, he will be expunging the charge, and I will be in good standing once again :) Thanks Eric for being so understanding, positive, and professional...

  7. HE IS THE BEST!!!!

    Posted by Jonathan, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Matheny.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I've known Eric Matheny now for several months and let me tell you he is the BEST!!!.He knows what he's talking about and he is well respected in the court.If you are looking for an attorney to hire do not hesitate to call him.

  8. Pitbull Like Tenacity!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Matheny.
    • I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Eric Matheny has a pitbull like tenacity...he doesn't give up and he doesn't quit until he has won the case even the impossible case. Eric has a never give never surrender mindset and a straight forward attitude that I believe separates him from the pak. I definitely would recommend him to anyone seeking a top-notch, class act attorney.

  9. This is an HONNEST lawyer

    Posted by Michael, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Matheny.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Lawyer Eric Matheny is the type of lawyer that when he answers the phone with his clients, he already briefs u on everything that is going on after the word hello exits his mouth. If i had to recomend him to some one i would in a heart beat. Best lawyer i have ever delt with. If u want a good lawyer then get him to represent you.

  10. Beyond Excellent Attorney!!!

    Posted by Hilda, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Matheny.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have to say that Eric Maheny is an excellent attorney! I was going through a serious traffic/suspended license issue that I thought didn't have resolve. I was in complete dispair and knew if I handled the issue alone the court would have buried me under. In all honesty when you have a serious case don't go to court un-represented! You're not only going to save yourself time but money as well. Eric Matheny is a very knowledgeable lawyer whom is trustworthy and handles yur case with upmost professionalism. I have no words to express my gratitude. With that said, once everything was resolved in court I was able to make good on my license, get insurance and am currently driving my car. Something I thought was completely hopeless Eric was able to handle it and I couldn't be happier. Thank you so much Eric for all your help!!!