Zahra Shanaz Umansky’s Reviews

Zahra Shanaz Umansky

Average Rating

Based on 34 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Outstanding Criminal Defense Lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Zahra Umansky.
    • I hired Zahra 1-6 months ago.
    • Zahra handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Very responsive, available day or night. Zahra did an amazing job and really helped a family member in a bad situation facing 5years for felony grand theft. Zahra was able to review the facts then work with the defendant and the state attorney. The matter resolved in less than a month with an agreement to plea to a far lesser charge. Before Zahra we were using a public defender and we were facing the full 5 year sentence with no options. Outcome was looking bleak. Would hire Zahra for any and all criminal matters

  2. Incredible experience with this law firm!

    Posted by Renee, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Zahra Umansky.
    • I hired Zahra 6-12 months ago.
    • Zahra handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I don't even know where to begin. I was on line late one Friday night looking for an attorney for my son. all of a sudden an online "chat" came on asking if I needed assistance and did I have any questions. I spent about 30 min on line with this individual who was most helpful and very caring/concerned. The next day (Saturday) I received a personal phone call from the head of Law Firm! He was pleasant, didn't rush me, didn't act like I was wasting his time, and even called on his day off, taking time from his family to hear my request. That in itself spoke volumes! We later did retain this law firm as counsel for our son and were very pleased with the professionalism, constant communication, and ultimate verdict in his cases. Thank you so much Bill & Zahra Umansky!!!!!

  3. The communicator

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Zahra Umansky.
    • I hired Zahra 6-12 months ago.
    • Zahra handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Zahra Umansky had to call the prosecuters office repeatedly because the prosecuter changed 3 times in a two week period. She stayed on them right up to the last minute and got my DUI changed to Reckless driving. I could not have done better with any other firm.

  4. She is amazing!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Zahra Umansky.
    • I hired Zahra 6-12 months ago.
    • Zahra handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I hired Zahra for my husbands felony charges I didn't expect for her to do all she was able to do. Not just that, she handle two cases including dropping a charge for driving while license suspended and a felony violation of probation charge all without my husband being present. She was very responsive and in a timely manner. She operates in a caring manner and let me tell you she really moved mountains! She was definitely a blessing!

  5. Zahra was a Life Saver!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Zahra Umansky.
    • I hired Zahra 1-3 years ago.
    • Zahra handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ahh! I don't even know where to begin! From the instant I got the Umansky mailer in the mailbox I instantly felt this odd connection to the couple. At 21 years old and having never been in any type of trouble before I was extremely nervous and meeting with the Umansky's put me at ease. They were upfront and honest as to worst possible outcome and best possible outcome. At the end of it all Zahra represented me and I am now looking into seeing about getting my record sealed or expunged with her help. I owe a lot to her, and she'll forever be an angel in my eyes!

  6. Very pleased and grateful!

    Posted by JH, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Zahra Umansky.
    • I hired Zahra 6-12 months ago.
    • Zahra handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mrs. Umansky really came through for us. She really took the time to fully understand our case and our position. She and her staff were very responsive to our needs. They were very knowledgeable and they kept us informed through the whole process. She and her staff did this all with a very short notice and with a very tight time line. Mrs. Umansky was able to make a real difference on the outcome of our case. I have worked with other attorneys before and Mrs. Umansky and her staff stand apart from all of the others. I would highly recommend them.

  7. Exceptionally Happy

    Posted by Susan, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Zahra Umansky.
    • I hired Zahra 6-12 months ago.
    • Zahra handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    We returned to Umansky Law Firm to get additional help on a case that Zahra Umansky so delightfully and quickly responded to. With such a tight time frame, Zahra put together a letter for our family that brought tears to my eyes to read. It would make anyone feel the pain that our family has endured and with that being said, I know this letter will make a positive impact on our case. I am glad that she was so in tune to our needs. I/We all are happy with Umansky Law Firm. They have made a positive impact on our lives and will forever be grateful. Thank you Zahra!

  8. GREAT LAWYER

    Posted by JESUS, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Zahra Umansky.
    • I hired Zahra 6-12 months ago.
    • Zahra handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I HAD AN ATTORNEY IN THE PAST,AND WAS NOTHING LIKE ZAHRA. SHE DID A GREAT JOB WITH MY CASE AND WAS ALWAYS COMMUNICATING WITH ME. SHE MADE ME FEEL AS IF I WAS A FRIEND RATHER THAN A CLIENT. I WOULD RECOMMEND ANY ONE TO THIS LAWFIRM DO TO THE REASON I FELT SO COMFORTABLE JUST WALKING IN WITH THERE ATMOSPHERE.

  9. The Attorney You are Looking For

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Zahra Umansky.
    • I hired Zahra 1-3 years ago.
    • Zahra handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Before deciding to come to the Umansky Law Firm, I had never known any lawyers or spoken with one. I didn’t know what to expect. I had only seen Lawyers on T.V. and in movies. I was a little nervous, not knowing to expect. Then I met and worked with Zahra, and have felt lucky to have been represented by her as her client.
    I have worked with Zahra on two of my cases. Both were involving traffic cases dealing with suspensions. On my last case it was Driving While License Suspended. When it happened, I did not have knowledge of this. I was told that not only could I face a time in jail, that also, if the judge chose, I could have lost my license up to 5 years, and I may have received a felony charge. If you get a felony charge, it can have devastating consequences, as it may be very hard to pursue jobs, go to school, or to even find a place to rent.

    Working with Zahra, and the team at Umansky, I received no felonies, also my charge was dropped from a possible criminal felony and more time in jail, to a charge of driving without a valid driver’s license. I had other tickets that were also granted to be withheld from adjudication. Additionally, I did not have to face any jail time, which would have resulted in my loss of job and income.

    When I was stopped for driving on a suspended/revoked license, I was arrested and had to spend one night in jail. I can say that I would never want to go back to jail. In my opinion, this is a very scary and even dangerous place, and once you are there, you can very well feel like all your rights are gone. With Zahra representing me, I did not have to go back to what some people have called “the resort on 33rd”. I found Zahra to be very competent, professional, and down to earth. I found that when I was working with Zahra that it was easier to go to the court room and face the judges, and also, I did not feel that I was alone, and Zahra and the Team at Umansky helped me through the legal process, and made it very easy to understand what was going on. Also, Zahra had let me know what would happen if I did not pay my fees, and also if I failed to keep a good driving record, which, is just as equally important. Also, I would like to credit the staff at Umansky for helping me with my case as well. I think that it is really important to get an exceptional Attorney. I would definitely recommend Zahra.

  10. A Professional Attourney

    Posted by David, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Zahra Umansky.
    • I hired Zahra 1-3 years ago.
    • Zahra handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    My experiance with Mrs. Umansky was very positive. More imprtant than knowing how to help me was the fact that she believed me. That means alot, to me at least. Any one can claim anything, I was telling the truth. Every one else had their doubts, not Mrs. Umansky. She believed me. That gave me positive re-inforcement in my moments of kaos. In addition, I got what i asked for, justice and vindication. I am really grateful for Mrs. Umanskys' help.