James D Phillips Jr.’s Reviews

James D Phillips Jr.

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. AMAZING RELIABLE LAWYER!!

    Posted by Desiree, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Phillips.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    From the moment I called the Katz and Phillips office I knew I was in contact with the right place! Never being in trouble before I was a nervous wreck as I was charged with a DUI. Mr. Phillips reassured me that everything was going to be okay! As It was he always returned my phone calls and answered any and ALL questions that I had about my case! My dui got dropped to a reckless driving without even taking it to trial! Mr. Phillip's is extremely knowledgeable and always on top of things! I couldn't be more happier with my decision on choosing the Katz and Phillips firm and HIGHLY recommend there firm. Again if you want someone who is reliable kind and provides amazing professionalism this is your guy! THANKS AGAIN MR. PHILLIPS!!!

  2. Amazing Lawyer!

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Phillips.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Earlier this year I ran into some legal trouble concerning a felony charge. Being a respected business person in Orlando I was devastated thinking my career and good name were over. After being referred to James through a friend who was extremely pleased and reading his extensive credentials I made an appointment right away. After 10 minutes of talking with James everything seemed so much easier to handle and he was extremely knowledgable and diligent with that I needed to do every step of the way. Within months James was able to get my charges completely dropped and I can breathe again!

  3. Thank You!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Phillips.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After facing a 2nd Dui I turned to Mr. Phillips. I am so happy with that decision. His expertise in the courtroom had even the judge shaking his head at the state and the case was dropped. I would highly recommend this lawyer! Thank you once again!

  4. Dui 2nd charge

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Phillips.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was charged with my 2nd DUI in 5 years. I was ready to fight and go through a trial if I had to. It all happened before I moved away from the state, James told me I was ok to go and proceed with my life as usual, for he would go to court for me. When I first spoke to him, he said he would do his best and he would take it to a jury trial if he had to. He took care of everything until we had to go to a jury trial. I flew down for the trial, where he walked me through picking jurors for my trial and I was very happy with our decision. During the actual trial, he kept me on the loop of what was going on, he was extremely professional in court and fought hard for our great outcome. My case was dropped and everything is now over. I could not have been happier and I owe it all to him. If you need an amazing lawyer, who will do anything in his power to defend you, then you should pick James Phillips and his firm.

  5. Very happy DUI client

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Phillips.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    All started with the worst night of my life, I was speeding after going out of a club (stupid on my part) and a police officer pulled me over. Of course that he noticed the club wrist band on my hand, and immediately asked me to step out of the car to perform sobriety tests. After a couple of minutes and several exercises, I was put under arrest for DUI and reckless driving. Being my first time ever (and hopefully the last) in this kind of trouble with the law, I was SUPER nervous and didn't know what was going to happen with my future..... But I thank God for guiding me to Mr. Phillips, as soon as my interview with him ended I knew that this was the lawyer and team that I wanted to represent me in this difficult situation. After 3 months of negotiations and motions, we were in Trial and the way Mr. Phillips and his team fought for me was admirable and amazing! I was charged with reckless driving (mainly because I was going 95 miles/hr on a 45 miles zone) but MOST importantly was found NOT guilty of the DUI with NO jail time, when I thought that there was not a chance for me!

    Now I can go on with my life, and leave all this behind. Thank you James for preparing so well for my case, and for fighting for me like I was family. I would recommend Mr. Phillips anytime, you can trust him.

  6. DUI Client

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Phillips.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had the unfortunate incident of getting a DUI, and another charge. I have never been in trouble, with the law, in my life! I was scared, and I (personally) felt like the circumstances surrounding my arrest were wrong and unjustified! I hired an attorney,prior to Mr. Phillips, because I did not want to accept the diversion plan that was offered to me. This attorney knew from day one that I was not interested in the diversion program, and that I planned to take it to trial if I had to. Needless to say, he called me at 8:30 at night and told me that I should go and sign the contract for the diversion program, in the morning. I lost all faith in him! He obviously didn't care what was important to ME! I did a some research and called Katz and Phillips. Mr. Phillips answered the phone and took the time to speak with me about my case. He did tell me that he recommends first time offenders to take the diversion program because it is a sure bet. Once you have completed the program your record will be free and clear. He made it clear to me that if we took it to trial it could go either way, but if I wanted to fight, he was more than willing to fight! I told him I wanted to fight it. I knew it could go either way, but I was willing to accept that. After going to his office to meet him face to face, and speaking with him again, I knew for sure that he was the man that I wanted defending me! AND....Boy did he!!! He was, absolutely, incredible!!! He listened to what I had to say and, most importantly, he fought hard for me! He got both of my charges dropped before we ever went to court!!! I couldn't be more thrilled, and couldn't have asked for a better outcome!!! Mr. Phillips is highly skilled and on top of his game! If you ever need a DUI attorney and you want the BEST, then look no further! He is the man! I will never be naive enough,again, to believe that ANY encounter with law enforcement is casual or innocent! If I ever have an encounter in the future, which I pray I don't, the ONLY words that will come out of my mouth are, "I want to speak to my attorney James Phillips!"

  7. Outstanding!!!

    Posted by Donnie P, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Phillips.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Best decision I ever made for legal representation!
    Charged with my 2nd DUI in 5 years. Scared to death what I was facing. Mr Phillips responded to my internet inquiry almost immediately. Formal review was successful. I never lost my ability to drive.
    His assistance with the Jury selection was excellent.
    Even though the judge ruled against my favor every single chance he had, Mr Phillips maintained his level of excellence in proving the arresting deputies weren't competent in their DUI investigation.
    I was very proud of him for the way he made the Prosecution look incompetent in camparison.
    I can not emphasize enough how well Mr Phillips conducted himself with a knowledgeable professionalism. I could not have done it without him. I tip my hat to him. He gave me my life back for a chance I will never take for granted.
    Been sober for 6 months now and I never been more happy to be alive and breathing "free" air.
    Ive had several lawyers for various reasons along the way. Mr Phillips is by far and away the best representation I ever had. His services were worth every penny and then some...
    Thank you again James for my 2nd chance!

  8. Thank You James Phillips

    Posted by Ian H ., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Phillips.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was arrested for my second DUi , four months ago . We attended the Suppression hearing yesterday , I thought it went very well. James called me this afternoon to tell the motion had been suppressed and there would be no trial.
    I would have no hesitation in recommending James D Phillips , he has been a life saver for myself and family , now i can get my life back on track.

  9. Very Happy

    Posted by Chris, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Phillips.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I couldn't be happier with the outcome of my case and the decision I made to go with Katz & Phillips. After spending a few minutes on the phone with James Phillips I knew right away that I found the right place. The excellent customer service and attention to detail put forth when handling my situation resulted in a complete victory. The case was dismissed with no trial whatsoever and both my DUI and resisting charges were completely dropped. I am extremely appreciative that their organization was able to assist with such professionalism and precision. Thank you!

  10. My lifesaver

    Posted by Jennifer, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Phillips.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Mr. Phillips to anyone seeking a legal representative. He gave me great advice on what to do and say for my case, Very knowledgeable on everything pertaining to my situation.He kept in contact with me via email or phone for updates. Even when I was emotional and nervous concerning my case,and left crazy messages, he would call me and calm me done. Long story short, he got me an outcome that I thought was impossible. I am home with my children, and attempting to start again. Thankyou James, I truly appreciate what you accomplished for me....

321-332-6864