Thomas D. Marks’s Reviews

Thomas D. Marks

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Consultation

    Posted by Mary, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Marks.
    • I hired Thomas 1-6 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I was referred to Tom Marks Law Firm by my grandchildren's counselor as I had several child custody questions in regards to my son's upcoming divorce. Mr. Marks and his team were very attentive to my questions and concerns. They gave me good solid advice on how to proceed and what our options were. Over several years my family and I have had contact with many different lawyers, both business and personal. I can truly say that out of all my experiences that Mr. Marks and his legal team got back quickly with research to answer my legal questions. Mr. Marks' office staff were the most friendly, courteous and helpful that I have ever encountered. I would not hesitate to recommend Mr. Marks Law Firm to anyone in need of family law matters. I wish we had met Mr. Marks sooner to handle my son's divorce case.

  2. Trustworthy and Highly Skilled Representation

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Marks.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Everyone on the team from Thomas, to his paralegal, to the support staff were amazing and exceeded my expectations during an extremely difficult time. I’m certain that having them in my corner made a key difference in the outcome of the negotiations, and there were multiple moments where Thomas's advantage in experience and knowledge was clear. It was a relief to work with an attorney whom I could trust. I’d certainly recommend his firm to anyone I know that might be looking for a family law attorney. Thank you!

  3. An attorney with a heart

    Posted by Dawn, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Marks.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.

    I have recommended Tom Marks and his law firm multiple times. As a Licensed Mental Health Counselor, I frequently have clients who need legal counsel. I know that when I send them to The Marks Law Firm, they will meet with a compassionate attorney who will give them sound legal advice, and won't overcharge. I can't say enough good things about Tom and his attorneys!

  4. I recommend without reservation.

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Marks.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Child Abuse matter.

    A number of years ago I was falsely accused of child abuse and the state aggressively pursued us and our young son. It was a horrible and emotional time for our family when we didn't know how to defend or protect ourselves. Another attorney referred us to Mr. Marks. After the initial interview, during which he put us at ease, it became clear that he believed in us and would do everything in his power to work on our behalf. He treated me with kindness & respect, which I needed badly at the time. At first we wondered if such an amiable man could be an effective lawyer, but that fear was quickly set aside when we witnessed how his easy manner constantly took others by surprise and proved a powerful tool in defending us. It was because of his expertise, knowledge, and diligence that God was able to use him to bring about a good end to our case. We are very grateful, as is my now grown son, to Mr. Marks for all he did for us and highly recommend him.

  5. A Team with integrity

    Posted by Ruth, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Marks.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I met with Mr Marks after a bad experience with another local attorney concerning my impending divorce. From the moment I made the appointment on the phone, walked in the door, spoke with several team members, had my consultation with Mr Marks and left the office, I knew I was in the right place and would be taken care of as if I were the only client.

    Everyone in the office is knowledgeable, friendly, caring and understanding. They made me feel at home and not afraid of the process I was about to go through, because for me it was so many different emotions.

    From day one until the process was complete I felt taken care of. All i's were dotted and t's were crossed and they kept me in the loop at all times as to what was going on with my side as well as opposing counsel.

    Divorce was not easy, but Mr Marks was there to meet me where I was emotionally. Encouraging, reassuring, compassionate. I was someone who needed an attorney to go the extra mile and he did.

    I so appreciate and am thankful for him, his lovely wife and his entire team for getting me through this time in my life.

  6. Collaborative Divorce

    Posted by Josh, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Thomas Marks.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Divorce is always a crappy thing, especially when there are kids involved. When I first met Tom it was obvious that he cared about my needs, but also the overall emotional outcome for the sake of our family. Tom is a highly relational attorney who is naturally gifted at diffusing tense situations, seeking collaborative outcomes that leave both parties feeling well.

    Although Tom is a natural arbitrator, I always felt like he had my back and would fight for me if the situation called for it. If you need attorney that will work hard for you, all while helping to pursue outcomes with dignity, kindness and respect Mark's Law Firm is probably the best there is.

  7. Highest praise for Marks Law Firm

    Posted by Carolyn, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Marks.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I first met Tom Marks over 8 years ago when he handled my divorce and custody proceedings. During some of the darkest days of my adult life, he was my rock. He handled the legal proceedings masterfully, but in addition offered me the support I needed during this most difficult time. I had no idea what to expect from the entire legal process and since he has the knowledge and expertise of over 20 years in the Orlando area, I was able to completely put my trust in him and know he had the best interest of myself and my two young children at the forefront of his mind. At no time did I ever feel like I was bothering him when I presented my lists of questions and he always took the time to explain what was going on and made sure I understood the process, knew what to expect each step of the way and that all my concerns were addressed to my satisfaction.

    In addition to having the fullest confidence in his abilities as my attorney, I was impressed with his entire practice. It is clearly evident that Mr Marks surrounds himself with a staff of the highest quality. Every person I encounter at the Marks Law Firm from reception to para-legals are polite, professional and knowledgeable. Every phone call and email is answered in a timely fashion and you have the sense that every person in the office is working for you and on your team.

    In spite of the difficult circumstances by which I met Tom Marks, I am so thankful that our lives crossed paths. I have great admiration for the work that he does, the family that he has and clearly loves and the fact that he cares so deeply for each one of his clients. I am forever thankful that he helped me transition into the next....very happy....chapter of my life. Although we no longer have a 'professional' relationship, I feel like I have gained a dear friend who will forever have a special place in my heart.

  8. Divorce attorney review

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Thomas Marks.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Tom demonstrated a thorough understanding of family law and how it applied to the difficult scenarios my family faced. He was able to guide me through this process with wisdom and strength in order to achieve the best outcome for myself and my children.

  9. Highly Reccomend for difficult divorce case

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Marks.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Marks is highly effective at protecting children in messy divorces. He represented me for over 5 years in an extremely difficulty divorce with a child's welfare at stake. He is extremely experienced in both Orange and Seminole counties which allows him to provide you with important information about what to expect, resources available and how to navigate during the process. He provides you with all your options and helps you determine what would be the best direction to take and then represents you aggressively. I highly recommend him to handle your divorce case as well as other situations where you need help, particularly if you have children at risk.

  10. Recommending The Marks Law Firm

    Posted by Maureen, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Marks.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am happy to recommend Tom Marks and The Marks Law Firm. I interviewed several attorneys, but I retained Tom because of his expertise in family law, the respect he held among his peers, and his reassuring manner at a stressful and confusing time in my life.

    While I retained Tom for his professional expertise, I was grateful to find a compassionate professional who provided careful guidance during the unfamiliar circumstances I was facing. Our meetings guaranteed that the legal process was clear to me; being well-prepared for each step made it easier for me to face those trying days.

    When you hire an attorney, you also hire support staff. Everyone at the Marks Law Firm was helpful, responsive, and professional. I continue to recommend their services for expert representation in family law.