Gary S Israel’s Reviews

Gary S Israel

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Overpaid

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Gary Israel.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Family matter.

    Promised quick results and even though today was ok, it shouln't have ever gone this far. All I wanted was an emergency motion resolved and we have spent so much more than he told us we would. to busy trying to cut corners and then we end up paying for all kinds of different motions and my initial problem has yet to be resolved. We were in court a few times and sadly, he still doesn't even know how to say my name properly or seems to care. He yelled at me because I couldnt get ex to say what he wanted through texts and was aware of my situation before taking on case. All in all tons of money spent and still waiting on first motion to be heard!

  2. HIRE!!! GARY ISRAEL IS FAST AND DEDICATED TO HIS CLIENTS.

    Posted by Jennifer, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Israel.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Family matter.

    Gary Israel has done and is still working to provide me with all the knowledge i need to keep my children safe and to understand the Florida Family Law. Providing me with excellant service. His staff is also dedicated and very understanding. The office of Gary Israel i can't thank you enought in your support and dedication to my family.

  3. Do NOT HIRE

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Gary Israel.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    He was not concerned about my case, he was concerned about how much money he could make from my case. When I went to court he just sat there while opposing counsel bashed me and lied about certain issues. When I brought this to Mr. Israels attention letting him know I had facts to prove otherwise he just waived me off and wouldn't listen. If you want to just give your money away to someone who won't do anything for you then this is the one for you.

    1. Gary S Israel

      Gary S Israel

      Lawyer Comment:

      Unfortunately, as sometimes happens, clients are not always forthcoming with all the pertinent information needed for a hearing. In this particular case, the client misinformed me of the other party's participation in the child's life. When the opposing party testified, there was no way to stop him. We did what could be done by way of impeachment and this client was able to testify her side. She has no cause to be upset at me doing my job, as I used all available information to counter the testimony of her ex. Simply stated, after she testified, the judge believed her ex and did not believe her about her ex's participation in the child's life.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  4. Fastest Resolution, Considerate & Detailed Divorce Expert, Confident Winning Attitude Well Worth My Investment!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Israel.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It is my pleasure to recommend Gary S Israel to anyone going through a Divorce or Child Support litigation... Because of Gary's knowledge and experience he brought beneficial issues to my attention that I didn't even know about (he didn't miss a thing)... Regarding my initial meeting with Gary, before leaving his office he had my entire case and strategy mapped out and initiated... Gary's very fast, my entire divorce (start to finish 12-weeks) including critical child custody matters never went any further than the mediation... We won everything we wanted and more! Regarding the return on my investment in Gary's very reasonable retainer, considering the value and savings provided to me (after my divorce final judgment) I know it will be quick and worth every cent... Gary is very confident and provided me piece of mind and a comfort level that helped carry me through what I consider a very unfortunate, unwelcome circumstance!

  5. An attorney that was to self absorbed to worry about his clients needs. Stay away.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gary Israel.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    He was never prepared at any of his trials. I would send him important documents to my case, and he would later yell at me for not giving him the document he needed for the case, or that I neglected to tell him. When in fact I did. He was hard to pin down because he moved to four different locations within less then a year. I would have to resend him important documents on a constant basis due to his moving. He was very forgetful on all matters, and always gushed about his personal life, and would never cover the basics on law. I would ask him questions and he would tell me not to worry about it, that he was the pro. He always tried to impose his will on certain matters and always seemed like he was working for the other side. I had to question him why was he protecting the other side's rights when I was the one that hired him. It appeared he only took my case for the money, and thought he could force me to do things and to go a particular way. When I fired him due to the fact he sat on an important piece of information for over two months from the opposing side that could have held me in contempt. He blamed me for being slow or unresponsive when he could never hold himself accountable. He then charged me for firing him. I have worked with several different attorneys throughout the years, and they have always explained their motives and would answer all my questions. Not Gary Israel, he was to busy explaining how he loved to travel and how he loved theater and wanted to be an actor. He was to busy being something else, and not being an attorney. In the end he was a horrible attorney. Maybe he was once a great attorney, but to me quite personally he should retire.

    1. Gary S Israel

      Gary S Israel

      Lawyer Comment:

      When a client does not pay and the attorney is required to go to court to seek payments of fees, clients sometimes get vindictive. Instead of recognizing all the hard work put into the case, the clients chooses to relate discussions we had when we were just chatting about things. I stand by my work in all my cases. All questions are answered within a day of receiving them.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  6. Expensive but good

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Israel.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My experience with Mr. Israel is that he gives personal attention to his clients. He listens and then gives suggestions as to your options, but he always follows up with "It's your call." He was prompt in returning my calls or emails. Once or twice I had to remind him not to rush me and take his time in explaining things to me as he seemed like he was in a hurry. Maybe he should not insist on doing everything and let an assistant handle things. He does all of his own paperwork and files motions right away. He even let me review the motions first to make sure he was articulating what I needed. Who does that? The only complaint I have in regard to his responsiveness is that I felt like he wanted me to settle when I didn't want too during a meeting. He wasn't listening. I had to remind him that I was paying him and he will do what I say. After we had that talk he was fine.The last thing is he is very expensive. More than any other lawyers I have used for this same case and related cases. He charges by the hour and charges for EVERYTHING! I think I would have preferred a retainer. I have spent double- nearly three retainer fees, but I got the results that I wanted.

  7. A lawyer you can count on

    Posted by Stephen, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Israel.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Clearly explained the court procedures and what to expect. Always answered my questions and was always well prepared for hearings and court appearances. Glad I had him on my side. One of the best.