Jonathan Benson Alper’s Reviews

Jonathan Benson Alper

Average Rating

Based on 27 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Outside my expertise

    Posted by Duped, a Debt Settlement client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jonathan Alper.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Debt Settlement matter.

    That is what he told me AFTER he charged me EXTRA for 'what he ordinarily does for $300 per hour.
    I hired him upon his student loan knowledge and willingness to help me in that field. After calling another lawyer I had to discuss what I already told him (thus I had to pay TWO lawyers for 15 minutes at that rate) he told me he couldn't help with my specific Student loan issues!

  2. wasted my money

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Jonathan Alper.
    • I hired Jonathan 6-12 months ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    500 dollars for 45 minutes? Explained my case ahead of time, coaxed me to come in after 45 minutes he wanted me out the door and set up additional appointment. Really disappointed, learned nothing.

  3. behind closed doors

    Posted by Henry, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Jonathan Alper.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr Alper did my bankruptcy,
    A hard time many a family went through in the past few years, his compassion was non existent and his disdain plentiful, his detachment entire, he operates from a make up office/converted garage in the shadow of a family home in residential gated community,
    In fact the best part of the whole experience was meeting and petting his dog which freely roams the office.
    After initial consultation and payment, You visiting his office to ask for advice or drop off paperwork FORGET IT, no, let me be clear F O R G E T I T !!!!!!!!!!
    I was once driving past his office/residence on my way to conduct my work business and thought let me drop of the paperwork his office requested, (his office is some 50 miles from my home) as he don't allow use of Fedex and UPS and my paperwork was loaded with my confidential information, and as I was there any way. here is an opportunity to save $20 on postage, and expedite the request. You can blame me for thinking this way but when you are in bankruptcy you are desperate and $20 is lots of money. On the gate, security guy said Mr Alper does not allow in person/hand delivery, I urged the gate guy to call his office which is some couple hundred yards inside this residential community, and the answer was NO drop of in person,
    I don't know is this a community rule where he lives/works or Mr Alpers own way to keep boundary between him and his clients but either way it did not work for me and it cost me more money.
    Responses (from his secretary / legal assistant) to questions and concerns through e mail were met with dismissal or one liner, need to know sentences, there was simply NEVER a single please or thank you in any of the correspondence. Now dry and detached, I understand, I have dealt with many a creditor but this was down right unprofessional and bad service having paid $1600. Seriously even creditor demand letters have please and thank you somewhere inside them.
    I chose Mr. Alper as I saw him being active on number of local bankruptcy forums and thought he was somebody who would be none of the above, but the service was as described,
    A while after my bankruptcy was concluded I contacted his office to ask for a document which I did not have relating to my bankruptcy filing and the answer was GIVE ME MORE MONEY and we will send you a copy of the document! Like dude I just paid you $1600
    Now if this type of service/behavior trills you whilst going through what is probably the hardest time of your / your family's life than as Clint Eastwood almost puts it " go ahead ......... make your day"
    Thank you and be aware out there, great news is there is ton of life past bankruptcy, stay strong.

  4. Chapter 7 Bankruptcy

    Posted by Donna, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Alper.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Alper and his paralegal Jackie were extremely helpful during the most financially difficult time in our lives. They made a very difficult situation manageable for us. - from start to finish.

    We were impressed with this firm's knowledge and expertise regarding FL law... and we found them to be highly ethical. They are professionals who offer excellent legal advice and service and we found them to be helpful, responsive and informative every step of the way. They are direct and straightforward in their communication, which is not always what clients want to hear, but surely need to hear...

    We highly recommend Mr. Alper to anyone who is having serious financial issues and in need of sound legal expertise.

  5. I would look elsewhere....

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jonathan Alper.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired this lawyer to help me with student loans, based on his informative website.
    He quoted me $400 for an hour phone call, in which he subsequently didn't offer anything, i felt like i was playing 20 questions. About 1/2 way thru he said he was not qualified to answer student loan questions, he was a bankruptcy lawyer.
    3/4 hour into this he wanted to have a 3 way conversation with my other lawyer, i told him it was not neccesary, since i trusted his info. Meanwhile i wound up paying two lawyers for the time of 1!!! My other lawyer had to get back to him, and he ended my hour long conversation at about 45 minutes.
    At the end, he said he went 'way out of his specialty' and he would have to charge me $500 for this 'hour long' phone call!!!
    I would look elsewhere.....

  6. An excellent job done

    Posted by Richard, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Alper.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jonathan Alper and his paralegal, Jackie, provided us with excellent legal advice and service during our bankruptcy process. Their efforts made a difficult situation manageable. Mr. Alper analyzed all of the facts and circumstances of our case and was able to recommend a course of action which was in our best interest. Our petition was completed accurately and in a timely manner, and because of this the proceedings through the court went smoothly with no surprises. In the course of my business I have worked with many attorneys on various matters, and my experience with Jonathan Alper exceeded my expectations. We were kept informed through the process and received the advice we needed to make good decisions. I will certainly recommend Mr. Alper to anyone in need of bankruptcy or asset protection services or advice.

  7. Asset protection

    Posted by Rasik, a Debt Settlement client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Alper.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Debt Settlement matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Alper was highly recommended by my general business attorney and CPA. He give me very creative and effective solutions. My main creditor was unable to collect any money from me and ultimately settled for 5% of the claim

  8. bankruptcy

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Alper.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I found the attorney to be very smart and interested in my case. The staff was helpful. Overall, a very good experience

  9. Chapter 7 Bankruptcy

    Posted by Doormat, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jonathan Alper.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Insulted at my 3-4-1 meeting. Mr. Alper walked into the 3-4-1 hearing room where i was waiting and took a seat.
    Started working with a computer tablet device. Totally ignored me. When the trustee called me to testify Mr. Alper never spoke to me.
    After I was dismissed he handed my file to me and said if I needed to speak to him, wait until he was finished with his other client that was about to testify before the trustee.
    I was so insulted and humiliated by his arrogance, and that is why i'm writing this.
    I should have taken more notice during the initial consult that he had a figurine on his desk proudly displaying"Genius At Work". I just thought that was part of his dry sense of humor.
    He is very slippery when you ask for his advice. He attached a disclaimer on his email response to an important legal question i asked stating that the response he gave me was not intended to be used for legal purposes.
    If he says I should not use his legal advice after I have retained him for bankruptcy, just what kind of an attorney do you think he is?
    Is he knowledgable? Yes, just read his blogs and hire him based on that like I did. He's a legend in his own mind. A real man of genius.
    I feel like a doormat.

  10. bankruptcy in Orlando

    Posted by MIchael, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Alper.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    great result, helpful and friendly staff. Attorney successfully defended me against trustee attacks against my assets

Please explore my website to learn more about asset protection and bankruptcy.

407-444-0404