Geoffrey Hamilton Hoatson’s Reviews

Geoffrey Hamilton Hoatson

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Cori, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Hoatson.
    • I hired Geoffrey 6-12 months ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Geoff is an excellent attorney who is professional, insightful, and extremely knowledgeable about the intricacies of the law. He always kept me updated and always answered my emails and/or phone calls in a timely manner. He gave me advice based on the boundaries of the law and took the time to clarify anything I might not have understood. Mr. Hoatson will continue to represent me through this process and if there is any other legal issue I have I will hire him to represent me and no one else.

  2. Great family law attorney!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Hoatson.
    • I hired Geoffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my Family matter.

    Geoff represented me in a difficult family law dispute. He kept me informed and involved in the process and resolved the case favorably for me. We didn't even have to go to trial which saved me a bunch of money. Of course, if we had, I'm confident that he would have done well as he was always very well prepared.

  3. First time hiring a Lawyer and if I need one again...I will call Geoff.

    Posted by Ryan, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Hoatson.
    • I hired Geoffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my Probate matter.

    Geoff was professional and to the point. Geoff took care of a probate case with my deceased father back in April 2013. The probate process is usually a flat fee. I had looked into pricing before meeting with Geoff. Geoff was a little more than the lowest bottom of the barrel price out there. Geoff stayed in contact with me by emails through the paper signing process. I finally got the final notice to pick up all the final paper work and it was done. Geoff told me a time frame for finished court papers and was super close on time. I believe you get what you pay for in life and Geoff was worth every penny. I'm glad I didn't go looking for the bottom of the barrel priced lawyers. I would recommend Geoff to a friend or family member that would need his services.

  4. DO NOT HIRE GEOFF TO REPRESENT YOU!

    Posted by Pam, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Geoffrey Hoatson.
    • I hired Geoffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my Probate matter.

    I hired Geoff to represent me on behalf of my deceased father in April 2013. Seemed like he wasent for me, only to have me settle the case. He didn't want to do what I asked to do. Point blank lied to me about issues that were talked about but never backed them up. The trust was broken when he did what he wanted done instead of what needed to be done. Always asking for money. I could have done myself what he supposedly did. Hes young and I was just stupid to think he was going to get the job done. Geoff was hired to contest a will. He filed the suit, failed to stand up with any issues, failed to investigate any issues. Tried to scare me into settling the case in a situation of assignment of mortgage that he had zero knowledge of and did zero investigations on.

    1. Geoffrey Hamilton Hoatson

      Geoffrey Hoatson

      Lawyer Comment:

      I'm unsure who wrote this review as this situation does not sound like any client of the Hoatson Law Firm. Please contact the firm at 407-574-8125 so that we can either help you determine which attorney you actually used or help you resolve any other legal issues you may be encountering.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  5. Excellent attorney - accurate, concise and honest - A RARE FIND.

    Posted by Marisa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Hoatson.
    • I hired Geoffrey 6-12 months ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Geoff Hoatson has been a Godsend for me and my two beautiful boys. He assisted me with a matter still pending from my 2010 divorce, and we are still currently in litigation on this unresolved issue. Any other lawyer would have walked away, given my financial limits in being able to even afford a lawyer, and a case that just keeps building and building unfortunately, but he continues to fight for our rights.
    He is incredibly flexible as far as payments, and makes himself available for any legal questions/concerns at all times. He is very knowledgeable of the law, family law in particular, handles each issue in the most professional manner, and is extremely concise and accurate in all his work. He doesn't leave one stone unturned, and will do everything within his power to get you what you deserve. I HIGHLY recommend his legal services, and urge you to make an appointment TODAY.

  6. Want the best attorney for family matters? Choose Geoff

    Posted by Brandon, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Hoatson.
    • I hired Geoffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my Family matter.

    I am in the on-going process of my case involving time sharing arrangements and all I can say is that Geoff has kept me up-to-date with everything that he's promised. He's very reasonable with his prices and he's very relatable. He will give you realistic expectations and not try and sell you the moon. He's the best attorney that I've ever dealt with and I HIGHLY recommend him to anyone and everyone that has family law matters. Even though I am in the middle of my matters I have high expectations for Geoff only because he's made me have that much confidence in him. Again, I HIGHLY recommend him.

  7. The Best Lawyer!!

    Posted by Brendaliz, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Hoatson.
    • I hired Geoffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my Child Support matter.

    I have to say that working with Geoff Hoatson has been a great experience for me and my family!
    I needed to domesticate my foreign divorce and settle an ongoing child support and parenting plan issue that had been haunting me for over 5 years. I had previously hired and extremely expensive attorney who instead of providing me confort abused me emotionally up to the point where I could not stand it anymore and had to fire her and in the process lost over $3K without a resolve.
    Needless to say I was done with attorneys until I found Geoff. He has made the process so much easier. When I have been down he has been re-assuring and there for me. He is very consious, he is not out to get anyone wrongfully, he is realistic in his decisions, calls you on your bad choices and has your best interest at heart, which is very rear to find in an attorney. I have to say that I owe so much to him. Even though we are currently in the process of resolving my issue, I have the upmost confidence in him and faith that he will get the justice that I have been looking for. You will not go wrong hiring him. I guarantee it!! Geoff is the Best!!

  8. A surprisingly positive experience

    Posted by Dan, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Hoatson.
    • I hired Geoffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After numerous consultations and a very poor experience with one prior attorney, I was surprised and extremely pleased to find Geoff. From our first conversation I found him to possess a responsive and consultative demeanor. Geoff worked very closely with me to help resolve an extremely frustrating and potentially volatile situation that resulted in the filing of multiple motions against my ex-wife to bring about a modification of our time sharing agreement and enforce compliance with many items detailed in our original judgment. It goes without saying that this situation was emotionally charged but Geoff, while demonstrating great understanding and compassion for my situation, remained a consistent voice of reason. On a number of occasions he really demonstrated that he had mine and my family’s interests at heart. He consulted with me on all of the potential outcomes so there was never any real fear or uncertainty. In fact, while discussing one course of action over another, he once told me “the only one who would really win in this scenario is me”, referring to the length of time and costs involved. That candor and level of honesty is an all too uncommon quality in the legal profession!
    During the entire process Geoff never failed to keep the little details in sight; another trait I have found lacking among others in his profession. In the end, Geoff’s diligence and preparation led to a successful outcome. I would highly recommend Geoff Hoatson for his client-centric focus, his knowledge, his communication and follow up, and above all, his integrity.
    I should also note that Geoff did a phenominal job for me and accomplished all that I have mentioned while assisting me as an out of state client.

  9. I got exactly what i set out to get

    Posted by Crystal, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geoffrey Hoatson.
    • I hired Geoffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Geoffrey handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I set out ot move to Texas with my son & I got what I wanted, even more time than I suggested in my 1st petition. My case was suppose to take up to a year, I filed in Sept. & May 24th it was over!