Back to Gladys’s Profile

Client Review

Gladys has received 8 client reviews

Worst attorney I have dealt with!!!!!!

Posted by: a Divorce client 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Gladys Smith-Mangan

I hired Gladys more than 3 years ago.

Gladys handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Gladys is a awful lawyer! Do not take your time, money and legal issues with her. She was a BIG waste of time and money I have ever spent on an attorney. I hired her to represent me for a divorce and she was unresponsive, hard to get a hold of ( takes weeks to get back to you) and on top of it did absolutely NO work on my case. I wasted $3500 and I'm in the process of hiring a new attorney due to her negligence. She didn't even know how to set up mediation properly. She told me she scheduled it but then gave me multiple excuses as why it wasn't scheduled. I even had to put in my own financial information in her system that I previously gave her multiple times. She always had an excuse as to why something/nothing was happening involving my case ( her own divorce, health problems and etc...) Awful customer service skills and would NOT recommend her to anyone.
  1. Gladys DeJesus Smith-Mangan

    Gladys Smith-Mangan

    LawyerComment:

    I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed by your experience with my firm. While I am not able to address most of your concerns specifically, as I am careful to respect attorney/client privilege, I will respond vaguely to your concerns. First, If a person is not satisfied with his/her attorney, he/she should not wait more than three years to resolve the issues. If speaking directly with the attorney does not help, a client should immediately seek counsel he/she is satisfied with.

    Generally speaking, if a client does not feel a case is progressing, some common causes are: if the client doesn't provide me with the information I need in a timely manner (some clients have taken a year or more); if the client has me tending to other cases or matters instead of the one I was initially hired for (which I am usually kind enough to try to include, rather than force an additional retainer for each separate case); client's information fluctuates, so that the information has to keep being changed, as in a case where a client changes employment status or positions, or otherwise changes his/her income.

    While absent circumstances such as the above, there should be no reason for delay, I will acknowledge that I personally have, indeed, had to deal with extensive medical issues which have caused some delays. I have, however, been open and honest with my clients in this regard at all times, including offering to assist in transferring the case to another attorney if their matter was urgent and they so desired. I have also stopped taking on new clients, as my health continues to be at issue, and the matter has been referred to a research hospital.

    While I was also honest with my clients when I filed for a divorce, because I am a family law attorney and thought my clients would appreciate that I'm gaining additional personal experience that will help me to better understand their positions, my divorce has been largely amicable, as has been relayed to my clients, and has not been a source of delay in any client's proceedings.

    Regarding your concern about knowing how to schedule mediation, while no special knowledge as an attorney is required to schedule one, I can tell you that each department has its own procedures for scheduling. For example, one county here allows you to coordinate a date with the opposing side and then call to coordinate it. Another county, however, requires you to leave a message, and returns your call within a few days. If that county wants more information prior to scheduling, rather than return a call, they often send a letter stating what information they want, and no mediation is scheduled until those things are complied with. I assure you, if there was any delay in scheduling mediation, it was due to one of these circumstances, and I'm sure I would have made that clear to any client.

    Finally, with regard to my software program, I would very happily confirm that I did offer several clients the opportunity to try a new software program I had, which allowed them to directly access the financial program I use to enter information for my review. This allows clients more control and knowledge over what information is being entered, helps them organize the same, allows them to ask questions, and allows me to review what they have entered so that I can clarify information and/or make corrections prior to finalizing actual documents for filing. Most clients who used this feature appreciated the opportunity, and if any client had stated they did not wish to use it, I certainly would not have asked them to. I often try to avail myself of and/or recommend software programs and any other tools which will help my clients and their cases. This is usually an asset to the firm and to the respective clients. I regret that you felt burdened by the opportunity to try the software.

    Again, if you have additional or specific questions regarding your case, I am happy to answer them directly.

    Posted 4 days ago. Flag

Highly recommended

Posted by: Lisa, a Family client 11 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gladys Smith-Mangan

I hired Gladys 1-3 years ago.

Gladys handled my Family matter.

Before I hired Gladys, I worked with several attorneys in two different counties. I thought they were great attorneys until I hired Gladys. She has made maneuvering through the legal system understandable and a lot less painful to deal with. She spoke to me in terms I could understand and helped me make informed decisions in my case. She even told me that some of the things I asked for needed to be fair to both sides and even some of the suggestions were not exactly how I would have moved foward with, she explained the most ethical paths and, taking her advice, both sides of the case ended up pleased with the outcome. If you want an excellent attorney, you must hire her. I didn't regret it and I know you wont either.

Not reccomended

Posted by: a Family client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Fair
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Gladys Smith-Mangan

I hired Gladys 1-3 years ago.

Gladys handled my Family matter.

This lawyer was unable to answers three questions right, I have to called the court and read through the constitution to find my answers. If I email her she takes a week to reply, phone did not work for weeks and no communication from her at all. In times with all the evidence I had on my favor she turns and defend the other part, really. And on top of all, she doubt about the proves. What a waste of time and money.
  1. Gladys DeJesus Smith-Mangan

    Gladys Smith-Mangan

    LawyerComment:

    Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience with me as your attorney. I'm sorry you were so disappointed by my representation, and would be happy to discuss your concerns with you. You are paying for services and should be happy with the services you are receiving. I have handled over 100 family law cases and have consistently received positive reviews, so I'm unable to determine who you are, or to address your concerns directly, unless you discuss them with me. Please feel free to let me know how I can better meet your needs. Most importantly, please let me know what information you believe I have provided that is not correct. This is not a concern that has ever been raised by one of my clients, and I would like to discuss the issue, and clarify any misunderstanding or misinformation, if any was provided.

    Regarding your concern about my doubting evidence or proof you have provided, it is sometimes the case, unfortunately, that I have to explain to clients that the other party has a better position, or that the client's own position or evidence isn't likely to succeed. If I tell you that the evidence you are providing is not likely to help you obtain the relief you desire, it does not mean I am taking the other party's side, though it may feel that way. It is my job to give you legal advice based on my experience, and I have significant experience in family law, having worked in this field for most of the 15 years I've been in the legal field and the five years I've been a practicing attorney. At times, clients are disappointed when I explain something, especially if the explanation is not the answer they hoped to receive. While I understand it is disappointing to hear that evidence you believe will prove something is not likely to do so, or that it is not likely to be admitted by the Court, I wouldn't be doing my job if I didn't tell my clients this in advance, and try to prevent the presentation of evidence I know will harm their position, or will not be accepted. Presenting it anyway not only makes the client's position appear poor, but it also gives the appearance that the attorney wasn't already aware of what evidence was admissible or appropriate. This is not a position you or I want to be in.

    Often there is evidence that WILL prove a particular point, and the point is important to a client for a variety of reasons, one of which is often the emotional element of family law. However, proving the particular point may not accomplish anything from a legal perspective. Sometimes clients simply want their "day in court" and want the other person to have to admit they did something terrible, and this is understandable. However, courts do not approve of presenting evidence that has no legal basis or remedy, as it takes up time that serves no legitimate legal purpose and could have been used for another hearing, at a time when the courts are already significantly backed up due to financial cutbacks.

    Finally, it is true that in moving offices, I had some technical difficulties with my telephone lines. This lasted one day the first week, and was resolved by the end of the day once I was notified by another attorney via email that the new line wasn't working. There was also a problem over the weekend that was resolved by 10:00 a.m. Unfortunately, transitions such as moving offices will cause temporary difficulties such as these, and since this was my first move after four years in the prior office, it was a new experience for me. I apologize for any delays caused by the move and assure you the new office is up and running with the new numbers you should have been provided as a current client. Again, the new telephone number is (407) 960-5688.

    If there is anything more I can address, or you want to discuss your specific case, please feel free to contact me directly so that I can determine how to better meet your needs.

    Posted 12 months ago. Flag

Gladys Smith-Mangan is astonishing, ethical, dedicated, intelligent and detail oriented

Posted by: a client over 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gladys Smith-Mangan

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Gladys is very receptive to her clients needs. She will go above and beyond to clarify any issues and is very detailed in the drafting of the client documents. She is patient when working with her clients, she answers all questions and concerns and is very honest and upfront. With her knowledge, devotion, education, experience and continuous research she is top of the notch in my book!

Stop looking...you just found your lawyer

Posted by: Gabriel, a Child Custody client over 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gladys Smith-Mangan

I hired Gladys more than 3 years ago.

Gladys handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

i'm very fortunate to have found Gladys. first off, she was able to work with me on a price that fit my budget which is always important. i dont know a lot about the judicial system except what ive seen on Law and Order, so Gladys was great because she told me exactly what was gonna happen and what she was gonna do step by step. i tell her what i want and she puts it into legal words and gets it done. i never feel nervous going to court because shes always prepared with something up her sleeve. Gladys' assistant Jill is awesome. Jill is always nice and helpful and has a soothing voice which is nice because these cases can get stressful. long story short, ive gotten everything i wanted out of my case, thanks to Gladys, and im still working with her to work out the kinks.

Honest, Fair & Dedicated

Posted by: a Child Custody client over 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gladys Smith-Mangan

I hired Gladys more than 3 years ago.

Gladys handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Want someone who will give you honest, straightforward answers? Want someone who understands your needs and will work with you to get there? Want someone who will get you answers, and in a timely manner? If you answered yes to any of these questions, then you need to see Gladys. She and her assistant are wonderful. They answered all of my questions, gave me incredible, truthful advice and answered every email/call faster then I ever expected! Need a great lawyer? See Gladys!

Awesome Family Lawyer

Posted by: Lisa, a Child Custody client over 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gladys Smith-Mangan

I hired Gladys more than 3 years ago.

Gladys handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Glayds and Jill are both amazing at what they do. And together they are great to have on your side. They have and continue to do what is in the best interest for our family during this difficult time. They are sensitive as well as matter a fact with concerns at hand. Everything is done in a professional and prompt manner. We are Thankful to have a firm as wonderful as this one.

Best Family Lawyer in Orlando!

Posted by: Anne, a Family client over 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gladys Smith-Mangan

I hired Gladys more than 3 years ago.

Gladys handled my Family matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Attorney Dejesus Smith-Mangan has not only been professionally on top of every aspect of my case, but she has also shown compassion on a personal level. Her education and experience, along with her energetic attitude, have made me feel at ease in a very difficult time in my life. She has proven time and again that she cares for her clients' success and their families' well-being. I cannot emphasize enough how wonderful Gladys and Jill are in all they do!