Andrew G. Storie’s Answers

Andrew G. Storie

Altamonte Springs Divorce / Separation Lawyer.

Contributor Level 12
  1. I want to relocate with my 14 year old daughter from Fl to GA. I'm divorced from her father. He sees her maybe 1 day a month.

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Andrew G. Storie
    2. Brent Allan Rose
    3. Robert Jason De Groot
    4. Ophelia Genarina Bernal-Mora
    5. Lisa Joy London
    6. ···
    6 lawyer answers

    No court can stop you from relocating where you want to relocate, they can however, prevent the children from relocating. While your son will be 18 next month, I am guessing your daughter is still a minor and therefore she cannot move to Georgia without having 1) Written permission from your ex husband or 2) permission from the Court. To get permission from the Court, you must file a Petition to Relocate. The procedures you need to follow are found in Florida Statute 61.13001 - which you can...

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer

  2. I have 10 kids and have a c/s order for 3,I would like to know how can I get this modified cause I do for all of them???

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Andrew G. Storie
    2. Ophelia Genarina Bernal-Mora
    3. David L. Hirsch
    3 lawyer answers

    Your question is not very clear...but it appears that you have ten children and are ordered to pay support on three children - each having their own case. I would need additional information from you to fully answer your question...such as 1) how many children live with you 2) Are these children from one mother or different mothers 3) What are the dates of the Child Support Orders and amounts, etc. As a rule of thumb, you can modify child support anytime there is a substantial change of...

    Selected as best answer

  3. My teenage daughter who will soon be 17 is driving me crazy to move out with her 21 year old boyfriend.

    Answered about 2 years ago.

    1. Andrew G. Storie
    2. Robert Jason De Groot
    2 lawyer answers

    She can not emancipate herself without your permission. Her mom could file a petition on her behalf but you would have to be noticed and it is unlikely it would even make it to a hearing before her 18th birthday. So, simply put, you can say no - until she turns 18 that is.

    Selected as best answer

  4. I have been separate for about 7 and I want to divorce. Is my wife entitle to claim accumulations of the 401K after separation

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Brent Allan Rose
    2. Andrew G. Storie
    3. Ophelia Genarina Bernal-Mora
    3 lawyer answers

    I agree with my colleagues above, the statute states that the date used to valuate marital properties and debts is the date the divorce was filed. This is because their is no such thing as a legal seperation in Florida. However, the judge does have the discretion, for good cause shown, to use a different valuation date such as date of seperation or even the date of the Final Judgment.

    Selected as best answer

  5. If my Ex wife will not provide her financial disclosure how can a child support rate be set?

    Answered about 2 years ago.

    1. Andrew G. Storie
    2. Brent Allan Rose
    3. Robert Jason De Groot
    3 lawyer answers

    In 2010, the Florida Legislature changed the child support statute so that when a parent refuses or fails to provide income information, the Census data for median income can be used to calculate support. In other words, if your ex does not provide the documents you requested, or she is underemployed, the Court can impute her earnings to the level of the median income as compiled by the US Census Department. Currently it is about $45,000 per year for Florida.

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  6. Can I pick up my daughter from day care and keep her?

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Brent Allan Rose
    2. Ophelia Genarina Bernal-Mora
    3. Andrew G. Storie
    4. John Arthur Smitten
    4 lawyer answers

    I agree with Attorney Rose. In addition, if your wife is not letting you see your daughter, write her emails asking for timesharing. Keep copies of the emails so you can show the Court she is keeping your daughter away from you.

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  7. Going through a Divorce (Florida). We agreed I'd keep the home, him his 401k. How long before he has to move?

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Brittney Cecilia Gutin
    2. Andrew G. Storie
    3. Charles Edward Willmott
    4. Tamara Lynne Nicola
    5. Daniel A. Bachert
    6. ···
    7 lawyer answers

    If the divorce is finalized ( A judge signed the Final Judgment of Dissolution of Marriage) you can do either one of two things 1) Filed a Motion to Enforce the Final Judgement (If it and/or the agreement stated he had to move out)...otherwise you will need to file an eviction in civil court.

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  8. How can i get devorced asap with no income?

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Andrew G. Storie
    2. Aaron James Irving
    3. Brent Allan Rose
    3 lawyer answers

    You may need to do more than simply getting a divorce from your husband in order to get child support from your son's biological father. In Florida, when you are married, the person you are married to and not the bioligical father is the legal father of the child. Therefore, if you get divorced, your husband very well may be ordered to pay child support and get timesharing with your son. You need an attorney to help you through this minefield, if you cannot affoard an attorney, I would suggest...

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  9. Divorce/Child Custody and residency

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Andrew G. Storie
    2. Gregory Thomas Buckley
    3. Dave Hawkins
    3 lawyer answers

    Residence in Florida is defined as actual presence in Florida coupled with intent to make Florida the place of residence. Not only do you not have an actual presence in Florida for six months, it is pretty clear that by living in Washington for 3 months, you did not intend on making Florida your place of residence - whether or not you kept your Florida drivers's license. So you will need to either be back in Florida for 6 consecutive months and plan to stay here...or become a resident of...

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  10. State of FL. Can I move out of my parents home, without consent, at age 17?

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Andrew G. Storie
    2. Brent Allan Rose
    3. Marian Audrey Lindquist
    4. Ophelia Genarina Bernal-Mora
    4 lawyer answers

    You can not legally move out without your parents permission. If one of your parent agrees, they could file a Petition for Emanciapation on your behalf (if you are able to support yourself). Otherwise, if your mother is abusive and neglectful, you can call the Department of Children and Families Abuse Hotline at 1-800-962-2873. If they find your mom is neglectful and/or abusive, they may be able to remove you from the home. Good Luck

    Selected as best answer