Michael Owen Massey’s Reviews

Michael Owen Massey

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I 100% recommend Michael Massey for your case!

    Posted by Tedarrell, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Massey.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Michael Massey handled a wage compensation case for me, I was very impressed with his dedication towards my case. Michael was very thorough in gathering all info needed to prove, justify and prevail in getting me all of the compensation that was due to me. In my case a settlement had been reached and I was getting all that I was asking and Michael was going to get all that was due to him also, but there was a clause in the settlement that could have affected my future earnings due to the 1 clause. In my best interest Michael told them to remove the clause or there will be no agreement. The other side removed the clause and I got all that I was asking for in the settlement and it was all accounted to Michael Massey's knowledge of the law, unselfishness and dedication to his client. I would definitely recommend Mr. Massey's expertise.

  2. Satisfied Customer

    Posted by Alex, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Massey.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Real Estate matter.

    I retained Mr. Massey's services for an issue I was having with a lender for a property that was no longer in my possession. He was very informative which immediately put me at ease and presented multiple scenarios for us to approach legally. After months of intense back and forth I was recently informed that we had obtained the absolute best case scenario. I recommend Mr. Massey very highly with no reservations.

  3. Job Well Done

    Posted by Ann, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Massey.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

    I retained Michael Massey as my attorney for an accident in which a drunk driver hit my car head-on on a two lane highway. My car was destroyed and I suffered injuries. Mr. Massey showed a personal touch toward me and my family. In addition, he handled my case flawlessly. He was able to secure full payment for hospital, doctor and ambulance bills, reimbursement for my totaled car, obtain additional monies toward a new car and negotiate a settlement of $140,000 for me without going to court. I thoroughly recommend Michael Massey for any legal problem you might incur.

  4. Needed and employment lawyer and I chose poorly...

    Posted by Melissa, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Massey.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    I obtained Michael Massey to represent me in an FMLA case; I work for the state. To keep this short, in my honest opinion, Massey is the most arrogant and incompetent lawyer I have ever come across. The $5000 retainer disappeared very quickly, with very little done. He seemed un-knowledgeable; I had to look up some of the laws that helped my claim. He fouled up in many ways and filed inappropriately . He served the wrong people and the claim he prepared was weak; it had to be amended by my new lawyer. The lawyer I have now is so much better and the $4000 retainer has yet to run dry after discovery and depositions. Michael Massey is a crook. He makes you sign an agreement that if you are un satisfied only an arbitrator can resolve the issue in a court. He doesn't tell you that he can refuse to appear - in other words, your money has been gone and the arbitrator says 'oh well, I tried'. I tried to arbitrate and this coward refused.

  5. Mr. Massey- knowledge and integrity

    Posted by Ann, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Massey.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In August of 2012 a drunken driver hit my car head-on at night on a two lane highway south of Ocala, Florida. I suffered injuries to my arms and legs and spent 3-4 days in the hospital. My car was totally destroyed. Living in Florida for only two years I had not dealt with any attorneys in the area. My parents reviewed the qualifications of lawyers in the Ocala-Gainesville area through an on-line service. They chose Mr. Massey because of his background and profile. After hearing the facts of the case, he immediately outlined what he would attempt to do, especially since the individual who hit me had a minimal amount of insurance. Although my injuries turned out not to be life threatening, he also showed a personal touch toward me and my parents by showing concern for my health and for my parents anxiety since they came from Chicago to nurse me for nearly a month. In addition, despite the at-fault driver's inadequate insurance Michael Massey was able to secure full payment for hospital, doctor and ambulance bills, reimbursement for my totaled car and obtain additional monies toward a new car. He researched court cases that were similar to mine and consistently advised me of the best course of action in my case. He also kept my parents readily informed of our actions. He relentlessly negotiated with the at-fault driver's and my insurance companies to come to a fair and equitable solution. Mr. Massey was able to resolve this matter by negotiating a settlement of $140,000 for me without going to court. Without his leadership, assistance and genuine concern for me and my parents, I'm sure I would have accrued debts in addition to the injuries from the accident. I thoroughly recommend Michael Massey for any legal problem a person may have.

  6. "Free" Consultation

    Posted by a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Massey.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    During my "free 30 minute consultation", he looked at his email more than he looked at me. I don't think he heard half of what I said. He ushered me out after 15 minutes of talking, gave me no advice, and just said "I'm expensive". I said, so no advice, no recommendations? "No, I'm the only person who can handle this sort of case in town", which is complete BS, as I have already spoken to several others who can. Arrogant and unprofessional. He said thanks for coming in. I said, "What a waste of my time."

  7. I couldn't have picked a better Attorney

    Posted by Matt, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Massey.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    First let me say that I was completely satisfied with picking Mr Massey as my Attorney. I know there are a lot of Attorneys out there to choose from, and like all things, some Attorneys are better than others. I will be honest and say if I had chosen a different Attorney, I do not know if the outcome of my case would have been better, worse or even the same. What I can say is this, I had complete confidence in Michael from Day One. And that if I ever need an Attorney I would not hesitate to call Michael again. I highly recommend him.

    I was wrongfully terminated from my job so I went looking for a lawyer to represent me. I had told myself that I was going to talk with at least 3 different Attorneys, maybe more. Just like hiring a Contractor, you want to get at least 3 estimates, so I felt I needed to talk to at least 3 Attorneys to find the right one. I had an idea of the type of Lawyer I was looking for, and when I started talking to Michael during the free consultation, he began fitting that description more and more.

    The one thing that really nailed it for me was, of all things, his honesty. After explaining what had happened to me, Michael agreed that I did have a case against my former employer. But what shocked me the most was when he told me that if this did go to trial, there was a chance that I could lose and gain nothing. He explained the risk involved and was brutally honest about it. I expected a lawyer to pull my leg a little, you know, something like 'yeah you have a great case' or 'I don't see how we can lose' or 'you're gonna be rich when we get done with them'. Something like that, anything like that, but instead he told me the opposite. He told me the truth, that if it comes down to a jury trial, I might not win because you never know whats going to happen.

    I knew right then that I had found the right Lawyer to represent me. I never went and talked to another Lawyer even though I had swore to myself that I was going to visit at least 3 attorneys and was definitely not going to pick the first Lawyer I talked too. But that was not the case. I signed with Massey & Duffy on the spot and was completely satisfied with the entire process. He kept me very well informed about what was going on, what everything meant, and when I had questions he was able to answer them in a way I could clearly understand. His office was very efficient, they would both call and email me about things happening in my case and remind me about upcoming dates. I never felt that anything was being overlooked or that they had forgot something.

    We eventually did have to go to court and when we did, Michael was more than prepared. He knew my case inside and out and I could tell that he spent a lot of time and hard work preparing for trial. His closing argument was a thing of beauty. To be honest I felt that we had lost the case during the course of the trial. I had that sinking feeling in my stomach. But after he gave His closing argument I actually felt better, I still thought that we had lost, when the Jury went into deliberation, but I truly felt that Michael really put all of himself into my case and really fought for me and for justice.

    That's the type of lawyer I was looking for from Day One, and that's the type of lawyer I got with Michael Massey. I couldn't ask for anything more, nor would I go back and change a thing!

    Thank You Michael!!!

    Sincerly,
    MS

    P.S. For all those still wondering about the case....we won!!!!

  8. He's a winner!!

    Posted by FSF, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Massey.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Michael took on my case from the beginning in full force. He was very informative and also educated me on a lot of medical terms that I didn't understand. He had faith in my case and the situation at hand and he handled it well. If there's ever a need in the future I won't hesitate to give him a call or refer him to anyone!!! Great guy. Thanks Michael.
    -Fonda

  9. Quality representation

    Posted by Sheryl, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Massey.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I actually contacted Mr. Massey after finding his site on the Internet. He was positive throughout our case and this was vital because I wanted to just give up many times. Mr. Massey's positive attitude and perserverance resulted in very satisfactory results.

  10. Great Attorney

    Posted by Tillissa, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Massey.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Massey was very respectful and efficient en the handling of my case. He was honest and up front with any and all information that went into or out of his office regarding my case. We primarily communicated by e-mail however he was always available by phone if I had any questions. I would highly recommend Mr. Massey if your case involves employment or job related legal issues.

Call now for a free consultation.

352-505-8900