Gordon Thomas Nicol’s Reviews

Gordon Thomas Nicol

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The most frustrating legal experience of a lifetime

    Posted by Marge, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gordon Nicol.
    • I hired Gordon 1-3 years ago.
    • Gordon handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.

    Stay away from this law firm. They are not only ineffective in their ability to represent you they are frustrating to deal with. The receptionist, Deanna (sp?) is rude at best and does not follow through. They do not keep you informed and leave you hanging. It appears they have a poor relationship with other law offices in that they can not get a timely response and are unable to get action taken. I've waited over a month for them to get an opposing attorney to release two bank accounts that were garnished. The bank says they have yet to be notified and it is Nicols' office that must have the opposing attorney send the release. Nicols' office refuses to provide me the contact to follow through and yet they say ??? that they call every day. I do not believe them and therefore can not recommend them to even my worst enemy.

  2. Uninformed and

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gordon Nicol.
    • I hired Gordon more than 3 years ago.
    • Gordon handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I did not actually meet with Mr. Nicol, instead for the price of $5,000. I met with his quite charming assistant. I found the assistant to be very nice and comforting whenever we met; however, when it came time for my case to go to court, I was in the dark. I was told a lawyer (not G. Nicol) would meet with me in the lobby. That did not happen. I was told the assistant would call me the day of my hearing-that did not happen. When I complained via email, I was told I would hear get a full explanation "first thing the following day...9:30-10:00"-that did not happen.
    I had a hearing on a Thursday; was called by the secretary to complete my second class and turn in my certificate by Monday. My case had not actually gone through. A chapter 7 was converted to a chapter 13. My case was by no means over. I was NOT supposed to take the second class. My apology for the secretary was she "was given a list of names to call and tell them all the same thing. She did not know my case was different."
    I accept the changes that were made in my situation; what is unacceptable is lack of customer care. I feel that the office is making a fortune by processing as many bankruptcy and foreclosure cases as they can process through the legal factory. I was told in the beginning that I would be informed every step of the way. Two years later and counting, I could not be MORE uninformed!

  3. Read before you hire

    Posted by patty, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gordon Nicol.
    • I hired Gordon more than 3 years ago.
    • Gordon handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I joined a legal club and this guy was recommended. I went to see him. I could only speak to an assistant who was not a lawyer. They said I neded to pay 750 to review file for dividing family estate against an unwilling sister who was executive. Before I paid I wanted to meet lawyer. We did. I was stressed and hired him. After 6 weeks I called to see what will be done next. I did not receive a response. I asked for my file back and my money. They gave me part of my file and no money.

  4. So Thankful for Mr. Nicol and his staff.

    Posted by Barbara, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gordon Nicol.
    • I hired Gordon more than 3 years ago.
    • Gordon handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was so scared but once I talked to Mr. Nicol and his staff they were on our side. They worked so hard for us and the outcome was unbelievable. We could not have asked for better representation on this legal matter. They are fair in price and work hard for their clients.

  5. Timeshare Savior

    Posted by John & Alison, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Gordon Nicol.
    • I hired Gordon more than 3 years ago.
    • Gordon handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This team did an amazing job of getting my husband and me out of our timeshare contract. I would recommend Gordon T. Nicol to anyone who needs legal help as he "gets the job done". Thank you so much for everything that your team did for us. We will never forget all of the help that you gave.

  6. Stay Away from this office

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gordon Nicol.
    • I hired Gordon more than 3 years ago.
    • Gordon handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Although the Florida Bar said that Mr. Nicol and his office staff would not be disciplined for "isolated instances of negligence" it is our personal opinion that a lawyer who does not follow their clients wishes needs to be discharged immediately. Several important mistakes made in our case show a lack of professionalism and lack of attention to detail that a lawyer and his staff should have paid to our case, in our opinion. When in good faith we came to discuss what were obvious errors made, he yelled at us and treated us rudely and told us to leave his office. We strongly urge you to avoid hiring him as your attorney. Please see Florida Bar File No. 2011-00,410 (4D) to read the details of the case and Mr. Nicol's response to our complaints.

  7. Great Attorney

    Posted by Jim, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gordon Nicol.
    • I hired Gordon more than 3 years ago.
    • Gordon handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was in a car accident and badly injured by a drunk driver. Mr. Nicol represented me to recover compensation not only for my injury, but, ongoing medical expenses. Mr. Nicol is a hard hitting negotiator and gets results.

  8. Pleased with his service

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Gordon Nicol.
    • I hired Gordon more than 3 years ago.
    • Gordon handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Appreciated all his help and staff availability. My case was family law and at the time it was sensitive and difficult. Gordon was able to ensure the best interest of myself and child was taken care of. He also was very thorough and upront on what he and his staff was in control of and what steps could be taken. I would and have recommended Gordon again.