James O Davis Jr.’s Reviews

James O Davis Jr.

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best criminal attorney in Duval county

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Davis.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Where to start? Well, let's start with his front desk staff; Anna is amazing, she is always available when she is called upon (even after hours) and always pleasant to speak with. Mr. Davis did a great job when he hired her! Next, Mr. Davis himself - wow, what a great attorney. During my case, he took EVERY call, answered EVERY question, and I could tell he genuinely cared about me and how my case would resolve. Thanks to his office, I am a free man again.

  2. THE LAWYER TO HAVE ON YOUR SIDE

    Posted by Teri, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Davis.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    James Davis is the most intelligent lawyer to have on your side, he represented several of my family members and not only did he show professionalism in and out of court , he kept me informed every step of the way ,he is caring , friendly, and the only lawyer my family will ever use !

  3. Great caring attorney to have on your side.

    Posted by PJ, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Davis.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was incarcerated for a crime that carried a mandatory 3 year sentence & James got me off with time served. I have had a few attorneys & James is by far the best one I have ever had.

  4. professional

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Davis.

    James is a master of his craft and takes a personal interest into each case that he is involved. Furthermore, he is extremely punctual and and straight forward. Mr. Davis did an amazing job on my DUI charge and got me off without any charges or repercussions.

  5. Personable & Professional

    Posted by Erin, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Davis.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    After my arrest I decided to go to court first to see what would happen. I decided to hire Mr. Davis after seeing him in action for other people in the courtroom. Some may call him arrogant but I simply call it confidence and good at what he does. He commanded attention and respect in that courtroom. He kept me informed and always got back with me after I'd leave a message. I'm very happy I chose Mr. Davis. Oh, and yes, he is very handsome.

  6. James Davis ....this will get you arrogance and no answers after you hire him. Please do your research.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Davis.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I feel like Mr Davis took our case - then pretty much sat back and did nothing more. He is young, good looking and extremely arrogant, with a quick tongue. Some of these quality's may win over a lot of people.
    It was very hard to get any information from him after we paid him. We really could not get past his secretary.to get the answers we needed. I would be very cautious if considering James Davis.
    Please do your research.

  7. Mr. Davis will fight for you!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Davis.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    We can't thank Mr Davis enough for his representation of our son. We thought all hope was lost when our son was caught with a gun and drugs in his car. After speaking with Mr. Davis, he assured us he would fight for our son. He definitely kept his word. He got the charges dropped and he just finished expunging my son's record. Thank you Mr. Davis!!!

  8. Incredible Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Davis.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired Mr. Davis to represent my daughter with a serious felony matter. I am a hand-holder and Mr. Davis always had the time to explain the situation to me. He told it to us like it was, he didn't simply try to make us feel better. His honesty was refreshing although we didn't always want to accept it. In the end he made the most out of a difficult situation and we are eternally grateful we chose him over many other lawyers we spoke with.

  9. Just awful

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend James Davis.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Davis represented my son in a case he was charged with a felony. when he spoke to me he was very arrogent an allways talked down to me. he kept asking for more money it was like that was all he cared about. he was allways late for court and i think he has to many clients even when he sounded so interested at first before he got my money. at the end of my son's case he wouldnt even return my calls. he lied to my son about what he could do for him. i would NEVER RECOMMEND HIM TO ANY BODY

    1. James O Davis Jr.

      James Davis

      Lawyer Comment:

      If you are so dissatisfied with my alleged representation, please feel free to contact me. I feel confident in stating that the majority of our clients do not feel as though I "talk down to them." It is not my practice to always ask for more money. That is an outrageous accusation and simply false (whoever you may be). It is absurd to allege that I would not return your call after your son's case resolved. I make it a priority to return all calls as soon as possible. However, I do find it ironic that the person alleging I didn't return their call never called me to voice their concern before submitting this slanderous review.

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  10. Actually was glad to of gone to court just to meet James!!

    Posted by Sophia, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Davis.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    James was a very to the point, make your case as simple as possible kinda lawyer. I was touched, and amazed how hard he worked for me every step of the way to the point of my case being dismissed. Hes fast, hes GOOD, well respected by the prosecutors and judges. A very likable SMART man. I would absolutely recommend James AND his wonderful staff 100% and more. I would almost say its mandatory not even a question if you want the best outcome possible, because he WILL work hard for you as if you were his own family. I am so very greatful for the Law firm of James Davis, because of him I feel like the hugest weight has been lifted off my chest, and I can live a happy life again.. WIth much appreciation to the James Davis Law Firm...it will never be forgotten.. Sincerely, A former very satisfied client :)