Skip to main content
Patrick Lee Jarrett

Patrick Jarrett’s Answers

229 total


  • What would my penalties be for first offense criminal trespassing

    Never been to jail

    Patrick’s Answer

    Mr. Reed is correct. Criminal trespass is a misdemeanor and is punishable by fine up to $1,000 and/or up to 12 months incarceration. If you need to find a criminal lawyer in your area, this website allows you to search for attorneys by practice area and geographic area. Also, you may want to go to the website for the Georgia Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (GACDL) and search the member directory for a GACDL attorney in your area.

    See question 
  • I was involved in a vehicle accident 3 days ago and am wondering should I handle this case alone. Not reading many good reviews

    I was stopped at a light. A driver rear ended me at full speed. He then got out of the car, asked me if I was alright and said he had to leave. He ran off. I have damage to my car and my body is in so much pain. My daughter and I was taken to...

    Patrick’s Answer

    Definitely no, you should not handle this case on your own.

    I agree with the prior posts. It is always unwise to deal with the insurance companies without representation. Most attorneys practicing personal injury law will offer a free consultation. You should meet with several until you feel comfortable with trusting one with your case. Just remember, you do not have to talk to the insurance company at this time. Focus on getting the medical treatment you and your daughter need and hire an attorney. Best wishes.

    See question 
  • Can a husband be required to pay his spouse's, attorney fees from his VA disability check for a divorce trial?

    Both husband and wife are over 65 . 14yr.marriage. Husband receives $4,000/mo VA disability benefits. Wife receives $1000/mo SSI Disability.

    Patrick’s Answer

    First this question is most appropriate for your attorney. If you don't have one, you need to get one. With that said, the husband can agree to pay attorney's fees. If the case remains contested, or if he issue of attorney's fees is not settled, I know in my jurisdiction, we can reserve the issue of attorney's fees for the Court.

    See question 
  • How long can cops wait to tell you the Miranda rights in Savannah Georgia?

    I was held in holding for 12 hours before the cops actually "booked" me. I was told to wait for court, which was another 4 hours later. It wasn't until court that night after 16 hours of being held that I was told my Miranda rights.

    Patrick’s Answer

    The police do not have to read the Miranda Warnings to you unless they intend to interrogate you or take a statement from you. This would be an issue if they took a statement from you while your were in custody. You should speak with an attorney about your case to determine what your options are.

    See question 
  • Should my son get a public defender for a misdemeanor drug possession (less than an ounce) charge in Duluth, GA?

    He was stopped for a cracked windshield. The officer asked if he smoked pot & then asked to search his car. My son said "no" but the officer proceeded to search. He was not under the influence. He has his court date on Friday, March 21st. He is a ...

    Patrick’s Answer

    I agree with the other answers. Your son needs a lawyer, whether he retains one or qualifies for a public defender. The last thing he needs to do is walk into a courtroom and enter a plea without the assistance of a criminal defense attorney.

    See question 
  • I got my 2nd DUI Dec 2013. My lic is suspended and court date is soon. I cant afford an attorney. Any ideas Gwinnett county

    I did not blow into breathalyzer.

    Patrick’s Answer

    Apply for a public defender or try to come up with the fees to hire an attorney. You are going to be facing significant consequences on this case. Depending on the facts, you may have more options than you think.

    See question 
  • DCF has custody of my granddaughter.

    DCF took custody of my granddaughter after my daughter gave birth. She has since lost all parental rights. I have been battling with DCF to get custody of my granddaughter. We passed all background checks, home evaluation, necessary testing, provi...

    Patrick’s Answer

    I agree with my colleagues. You need to hire an attorney if you don't already have one. I am sorry you and your family are going through this.

    See question 
  • Someone getting serve divorce paper in jail. It uncontested with a hardship clause but asking 609.00, for 2 childrn

    Should they sign and if not will it go in like that anyway. Also what is a hardship clause.

    Patrick’s Answer

    I agree with my colleagues. Whoever is being served needs to hire a lawyer. When children are invoked, the case can be complicated.

    See question 
  • READY TO DIVORCE BUT SCARED!

    I am a stay at home mom in Savannah, GA to a 4 year old. I am ready to get a Divorce but I am scared not only financially but for my child and I. I am scared of what he is capable of doing. My mother has opened her home to us in Florida but I'm no...

    Patrick’s Answer

    I agree with my colleagues. You need to speak with an attorney about your case before making any decisions. If you believe you or your child are in physical danger contact the police or contact Safe Shelter of Savannah at (912) 629-8888.

    See question