Shawn E. Gunder’s Reviews

Shawn E. Gunder

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. ABSOLUTELY AWEFUL ATTORNEY

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shawn Gunder.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    DO NOT HIRE THIS ATTORNEY! ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE, UNRESPONSIVE, UNORGANIZED, UNDEREDUCATED, SIMPLY HORRIBLE! You are better off going pro se (representing yourself). Hired him to handle my divorce, worst mistake ever. HIRE AT YOUR OWN RISK!

  2. Dead man walking

    Posted by EARL, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shawn Gunder.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Does not care about you as an individual going through one of the most devastating experience in one's life. Did not argue - stood up for me, my case. No sympathy , even when all seam hopeless , that would cause a man to commit suicide because now he lost every thing he work his life for. He just suit and says nothing which makes it easy for the judge to make a final judgement on that you must now pay out for up to your child's 18 birthday. Does not return phone calls even after pleading with him that a service member would never leave another service member behind.

  3. He cares and will win!!!

    Posted by A & T Hern, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Shawn Gunder.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I don't typically post to blogs as such, but I have to jump in here to state that we are in fact a real client and very much satisfied with Mr. Gunder. He has the fight and doesn't try to get you to settle b/c he is afraid of the fight. We've been to an appearance once prior to our upcoming hearing, and I can tell you that he also receives plenty of respect from the court. He knows his business and will fight for his client(s)... Even when most others won't because, as we've seen with our case, popular belief is that a father has no chance to win against a mother in battle. He knows that's wrong and while this may be a bit premature, we are certain he will win this case for us!!!

  4. Very unhappy with service

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shawn Gunder.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After reading the other reviews on this attorney I was baffled.. Mr. Gunder is the complete opposite of what is described in the other reviews which leads me to believe the reviews are not done by real clients and were probably done by someone that works for him... My mother has been dealing with Mr. Gunder for over a year. A year!!! And she has not gone to court or had any mediation with her exhusband. She has paid Mr. Gunder every penny that she was told needs to be paid but has gotten no results. Everytime she calls him he is never available and he does not call back. The receptionist is very rude and unprofessional. If my mother had to start over I am sure she would not hire Mr. Gunder again and she would surely not recommend him to anyone else. My perception of Mr. Gunder is he is very lazy and advise anyone looking for an attorney to be aware of who you are giving your money to.

  5. my experience with Shawn Gunder

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Gunder.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Gunder helped me with my recent divorce. He was sympathetic, kind, and very understanding. I was married to an alchoholic and moved from one state to another. He was very helpful and knowledgable on the divorce laws and requirements when moving to a different state from the spouse I divorced. My divorce went very smooth and with very little effort on my behalf. I would (and have) recommend(ed) Shawn Gunder to anyone in need of a great lawyer.

  6. Would highly recommend

    Posted by Cassandra, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Gunder.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Gunder handled my divorce and was very profesional. His office was easy to get ahold of and he kept me informed every step of the way. He was upfront and honest about what I should expect during the process. I would recommend him to anyone needing an attorney.

  7. Slow and Steady

    Posted by Ken, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Shawn Gunder.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Gunder is an attorney who maintains personal integrity. I have worked with lawyers in professional and personal settings. The lack of personal integrity to accept and win cases is amazing. Mr. Gunder brings a glimpse of hope within the legal field. He is slow, unassuming and methodical in mannerism.like a real life "MATLOCK." I believe that he will continue to do well for his clients and himself in the future. Keeping me informed was secondary, as I was not the primary client.

  8. Awesome Attorney

    Posted by Patricia, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Gunder.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Atty Gunder is an excellent, professional attorney that gets the job done. My son was facing 22.5 years and he only got one year confinment. Highly recommend Shawn Gunder. This attorney goes over and above and put in long tireless hours on the case.

  9. Shawn was

    Posted by John, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Gunder.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have used Shawn as my lawyer for several ongoing family law issues. I have been very pleased with the outcomes and with Mr. Gunder's compassion for me as his client. I am a senior Army NCO and I wanted a lawyer that understood what I was going through.

    Shawn is a true professional with a strong set of ethics. I was impressed most with how he dealt with my wife's opposing counsel, a supposed "military divorce expert," in and out of court. Her lawyer was a braggart. Her lawyer kept dragging me back into court over petty matters. He also tried to harass me through my command. Shawn was able to deal with these issues and turned them to our advantage.

    We consistently got favorable rulings from the judge, which upset my wife and her lawyer. I recommend him HIGHLY!

  10. ineptness cost me thousands

    Posted by john, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shawn Gunder.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    On second thought maybe I should have recommended him to my ex. Then I would have won..Basically he is just not educated enough to pratice law, which he has only done for 2 years. He needs to be in a firm where someone has oversight over him. Unfortunately for me and others that won't happen His missteps cost me thousands. How can an attorney get admonished by a judge and still continue? A person who files pro-se in thier divorce has a better chance of winning than hiring Shawn Gunder. Oh, and lets not forget failing to appear..Please, somebody help me..