Horace Kimbrell Sawyer III’s Reviews

Horace Kimbrell Sawyer III

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. 12 years of great service

    Posted by Jane8668, a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace 6-12 months ago.
    • Horace handled my General Practice matter.

    Mr. Sawyer has helped me with various cases throughout the past 11-12 years. I trust NO ONE else with my (or my family's) legal matters. He is trustworthy, pays close attention to detail & keeps his clients best interest at heart. He will forever be my first & only choice when choosing an attorney. Thank you HK for your loyalty throughout the years!

  2. Recommend highly

    Posted by Never Ending Client, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace 1-6 months ago.
    • Horace handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    You couldn't ask for more with Lawyer Sawyer! Wrote the book on more than 1 way to get the job done. Always returns my calls when he can even when he is busy. Lays out the options and the consequences. How he knows what is going to happen is just beyond me, uncanny.
    All lawyers should be like H.K. Sawyer! I still call him and recommend anyone I can.

  3. Used Car Salesman...

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace 1-3 years ago.
    • Horace handled my Family matter.

    Hopefully this post will deter anyone else from getting caught up in Mr. Sawyer’s lies. Mr. Sawyer was recommended by someone who had a great experience in the past but I can assure you that Mr. Sawyer is as unprofessional as they come…

    Mr. Sawyer has a very difficult time returning phone calls, answering emails, and living up to his agreements/commitments with his clients. After I paid him and we had our first court appearance (in which we won), I called, left emails, text messages, even stopped by his office in Ringgold twice over the course of three months without any reply. What should’ve been a very easy process, has turned out to be a long, drawn out, and stressful process which is completely against what he should be standing for as a member of the community, church, and civil servant.

    Believe me when I say that this is not the person you want representing you. Initially he will do some work to reel you in, but after he has your money – you might as well represent yourself…

    Best of luck with whatever it is that you need legal assistance with. But PLEASE - Heed this warning…

    Kindest Regards,

    1. Horace Kimbrell Sawyer III

      Horace Sawyer

      Lawyer Comment:

      That bad, really? Are you a real person? Would you be willing to identify yourself? Easy to be the tall tree when you cut the others down. Man sees the outside, God knows the heart.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  4. Thank YOU

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace 6-12 months ago.

    Just wanted to say Thanks for helping me when I was down. My business, my life at the brink. The false charges, lies from competitors, the lawsuits. Problems, problems, problems..... Almost back on top now. You know who I am :) And I couldn't have done it without you! Wishing you the best in 2014. My lawyer, my friend. There for me. Worth every dollar you asked for. THANK YOU Lawyer Sawyer

  5. REVIEW

    Posted by Patricia, a Animal Law client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace 1-3 years ago.
    • Horace handled my Animal Law matter.

    I hired Mr.Sawyer in 2012 to reverse a dasngerous classification that was put on my animals by Judge John Gass in Catoosa County Magistrate court when my animals had never hurt anyone or done any damage. It was only because they are pit bulls. Mr. Sawyer said he was confident he could take care of that. When I paid him in full he told me I could not file an appeal. After this he would not return any of my calls and when he did call he said he was doing research. He hurt any chance I had to help my animals by putting me off for a year and doing nothing. I spoke to another attorney in August of 2013 and he told me I could have filed an appeal in superior court if I had done it in 2012. Mr.Sawyer is not a good person and tries to find ways to get more money from you.

    1. Horace Kimbrell Sawyer III

      Horace Sawyer

      Lawyer Comment:

      Unfortunately some people have a tendency to stretch claims, and not only stretch but completely fabricate in support of wanting a refund. Usually this follows a quick solution by the attorney and the client sees no further need for an attorney. (Aaaah, are we onto to something?) Or very often, a person just changes their mind. Therefore, since no legal 'product' is needed further, what they do? They think in a Walmart mentallity: Let's return the product for a refund. But good quality legal work in an attorney-client relationship never was valueless, or cheap, or replaceable like a .99 cent hamburger. When disaster hits after the fact, it can take much much much more work to try to straighten it out. And very seldom can any attorney guarantee anything but his or her best efforts into the case.

      Slander is spoken defamation of character, which is untrue. When people become angry or run out of options, they often resort to personal attack. Personal attacks only work if there is something wrong. But if not, they do what many people do: make it up! If this commenter were to be subjected to a public trial, with real evidence, then it would be readily obvious to anyone what the truth is. God knows the heart. I pray for peace and compassion of all persons in disagreements - which will always exist - for truth and law to bring about justice. It is what our system is all about. The best governments have a justice system that people believe in. Truth will prevail in the light. But lies flourish in the darkness of night. What is happening with people who can sit behind a computer and make up anything they want, steal from your bank accounts and never get caught and the like? I am working to find solutions to these problems. One day, it could be your name you see smeared wrongly.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  6. Great and compassionate

    Posted by Amanda, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace 1-3 years ago.
    • Horace handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I went to Mr. Sawyer to get help in stopping harassment from someone. Mr. Sawyer was quick, understanding and helpful. He was able to make the other party stop and was able to negotiate an agreement outside of the court room. Great attorney who is down to earth and not one of the "high and mighty" types. Very simple and effective representation. Will always be my first call. - Amanda

  7. Custody, Divorce and criminal defense

    Posted by Matt, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace 1-3 years ago.
    • Horace handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I live in Ringgold and located Mr sawyer through my legal insurance. Going through a divorce at the time and numerous financial issues he listened, cared and understood my issues. He took great care of my divorce, only for me to need him again for a frivolous criminal accusation in which he once again settled quickly and out of court. As of yesterday (7/7/13) I had to once again hire Mr. Sawyer to assist in a child custody issue and though I will not discuss how he has helped in detail, rest assured that this man will GO OUT OF HIS WAY AND OVER THE TOP to help you. I am forever grateful to have him as my attorney and will forever be indebted to his grace and compassion. A client for life, I will never use another attorney so long as Mr. Sawyer is practicing. I have been represented 3 times thus far and do not have one negative thing to say. This man has the greatest ethics and compassion of any attorney in which I have encountered, all lawyers should take a lesson. Thank you Mr. Sawyer - M. Green

  8. Remote Vehicle Purchase

    Posted by Wendall, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace 1-3 years ago.
    • Horace handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I purchased a car off of ebay in Ringgold, Ga. As I am from Western Canada, I wasn't able to fly in immediately and handle the transaction myself so I tried to find a lawyer in Ringgold who could manage the transaction for me. I believe I called every lawyer in Ringgold (at least listed online) and the ones I talked with weren't interested and the ones I left messages with NEVER called me back.

    One lawyer called me back and that was Horace. I explained that I would like to wire transfer the funds into his Intrust account and then have him complete the transfer of Car and Title in exchange for the funds. I also asked him if he felt knowledgeable enough about vehicles to test drive it and make sure there were no obvious problems. He test drove the car and said it was good and then completed the transaction. He then took possession of the car until I was able to fly in and pick it up. He even arranged to get a temporary tag for the car so I could drive it home. I let him know when I could fly in to Chattanooga which was a Friday evening and he met me at the airport with my new car already for my road trip. While my car was parked in Ringgold, a storm was forecast to go through and he even contacted me to make sure I had insurance in case the car was damaged.

    Overall I was very happy with Horace and the service he provided. It gave me a lot of peace of mind knowing that I had a lawyer protecting me on this transaction and that I wasn't just giving money to someone I've never met hoping that they were giving me the car as described.

  9. Layla

    Posted by Layla, a Aviation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace 1-3 years ago.
    • Horace handled my Aviation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My experience with Mr. Sawyer was exceptional. He is trustworthy, professional, and overall great person. He has exceptional aviation and FFA knowledge was impressive and a rarity. Hiring Mr. Sawyer was an experience that left me feeling confident I had chosen the right person to represent me.

  10. Excellent

    Posted by Taylor, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace more than 3 years ago.
    • Horace handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Sawyer was very professional and attentive to my case. I was worried I would have to go to court, but after some difficult negotiations, he managed to settle my case out of court. I was very satisfied with the settlement, and am very happy I had Mr. Sawyer to represent me. I highly recommend him.