Horace Kimbrell Sawyer III’s Reviews

Horace Kimbrell Sawyer III

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. EXCELLENT ATTORNEY AND I WOULD RECOMMEND HIM TO ANY ONE AT ANY TIME

    Posted by JENNIFER,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace < 1 month ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    ANYTIME I HAVE ANY KIND OF LEGAL ISSUE HE IS RIGHT THERE TO HELP ME NO MATTER HOW SMALL OR LARGE THE CASE IS, AND I USUALLY GET EXACTELY WHAT I AM ASKING FOR. TO ME THERE IS NO OTHER LAWYER I WILL USE!!!!!

  2. First Class Attorney! Look no further for the best the legal field has to offer.

    Posted by Leigha, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace 1-6 months ago.
    • Horace handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hold Mr. Sawyer in the highest regards as I have done business with him on a number of very complicated cases since the 90's. He first helped me in making sure that my divorce was finalized as quickly as possible, and that all of my concerns were met in the decree. This pertained to my first child and visitation schedules, as well as equitable division of financial assets. He made sure that it was a fair and satisfactory end to a bad marriage. He has, since that time been my first point of contact ,in numerous areas of legal resolution. Kim Sawyer is a man of golden character. II consider him to be a very caring and professional attorney, like no other. He can make sense out of a web of problems, untangling even the most discouraging scenarios. At present, he has been working with me resolution of a very serious legal battle. He literally has saved my life, and made sure that my children and I continue to be fully represented by his shield of legal protection . Having Kim Sawyer on your side is like having your own personal guardian Angel, and that is no exaggeration of the truth. Face it...life is tough for all of us...things come up. Good things happen to good people. ..if you want the best, then I only suggest Horace K. Sawyer, III. The reviewers who complain about paying must remember, you get what you pay for. Nothing is free in life, it takes an enormous amount of intense mental effort and tedious paperwork to sort out these legal issues. I endorse Mr. Sawyer's practice of law as first class...and the reason is again, he gave me another chance at life by putting my legal worries behind me.

  3. 3 years and waiting

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace more than 3 years ago.
    • Horace handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    2012 we hired Mr, sawyer to attain visitation with my daughter and other issues pertaining to it, went to court one time and could not get any thing else done, mr sawyer kept talking about what he could do but never done them, although i kept getting bills from him wanting money, after paying 2400.00 I still do not have decent visitation with my daughter, Mr sawyer refuses to do any thing else untill i pay a additional 1200.00 for what i dont know, i have ask several times for a detailed bill on what has been done and what the cost was but he refuses to give me that to. I am now three years later trying to find another attorney and save the money again to get visitation to my little girl, which is five now , thanks to this lawyers lack of caring about anything but more money i have lost three more years of my daughters life, and yes the lord does see your heart even if no one else can , i am keeping my name unknown i do not want any more trouble from this attorney i just recommend going down the road to another,

  4. 12 years of great service

    Posted by Jane8668, a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace 6-12 months ago.
    • Horace handled my General Practice matter.

    Mr. Sawyer has helped me with various cases throughout the past 11-12 years. I trust NO ONE else with my (or my family's) legal matters. He is trustworthy, pays close attention to detail & keeps his clients best interest at heart. He will forever be my first & only choice when choosing an attorney. Thank you HK for your loyalty throughout the years!

  5. Recommend highly

    Posted by Never Ending Client, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace 6-12 months ago.
    • Horace handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    You couldn't ask for more with Lawyer Sawyer! Wrote the book on more than 1 way to get the job done. Always returns my calls when he can even when he is busy. Lays out the options and the consequences. How he knows what is going to happen is just beyond me, uncanny.
    All lawyers should be like H.K. Sawyer! I still call him and recommend anyone I can.

  6. Used Car Salesman...

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace 1-3 years ago.
    • Horace handled my Family matter.

    Hopefully this post will deter anyone else from getting caught up in Mr. Sawyer’s lies. Mr. Sawyer was recommended by someone who had a great experience in the past but I can assure you that Mr. Sawyer is as unprofessional as they come…

    Mr. Sawyer has a very difficult time returning phone calls, answering emails, and living up to his agreements/commitments with his clients. After I paid him and we had our first court appearance (in which we won), I called, left emails, text messages, even stopped by his office in Ringgold twice over the course of three months without any reply. What should’ve been a very easy process, has turned out to be a long, drawn out, and stressful process which is completely against what he should be standing for as a member of the community, church, and civil servant.

    Believe me when I say that this is not the person you want representing you. Initially he will do some work to reel you in, but after he has your money – you might as well represent yourself…

    Best of luck with whatever it is that you need legal assistance with. But PLEASE - Heed this warning…

    Kindest Regards,

    1. Horace Kimbrell Sawyer III

      Horace Sawyer

      Lawyer Comment:

      That bad, really? Are you a real person? Would you be willing to identify yourself? Easy to be the tall tree when you cut the others down. Man sees the outside, God knows the heart.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  7. Thank YOU

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace more than 3 years ago.

    Just wanted to say Thanks for helping me when I was down. My business, my life at the brink. The false charges, lies from competitors, the lawsuits. Problems, problems, problems..... Almost back on top now. You know who I am :) And I couldn't have done it without you! Wishing you the best in 2014. My lawyer, my friend. There for me. Worth every dollar you asked for. THANK YOU Lawyer Sawyer

  8. REVIEW

    Posted by Patricia, a Animal Law client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace 1-3 years ago.
    • Horace handled my Animal Law matter.

    I hired Mr.Sawyer in 2012 to reverse a dasngerous classification that was put on my animals by Judge John Gass in Catoosa County Magistrate court when my animals had never hurt anyone or done any damage. It was only because they are pit bulls. Mr. Sawyer said he was confident he could take care of that. When I paid him in full he told me I could not file an appeal. After this he would not return any of my calls and when he did call he said he was doing research. He hurt any chance I had to help my animals by putting me off for a year and doing nothing. I spoke to another attorney in August of 2013 and he told me I could have filed an appeal in superior court if I had done it in 2012. Mr.Sawyer is not a good person and tries to find ways to get more money from you.

    1. Horace Kimbrell Sawyer III

      Horace Sawyer

      Lawyer Comment:

      Unfortunately some people have a tendency to stretch claims, and not only stretch but completely fabricate in support of wanting a refund. Usually this follows a quick solution by the attorney and the client sees no further need for an attorney. (Aaaah, are we onto to something?) Or very often, a person just changes their mind. Therefore, since no legal 'product' is needed further, what they do? They think in a Walmart mentallity: Let's return the product for a refund. But good quality legal work in an attorney-client relationship never was valueless, or cheap, or replaceable like a .99 cent hamburger. When disaster hits after the fact, it can take much much much more work to try to straighten it out. And very seldom can any attorney guarantee anything but his or her best efforts into the case.

      Slander is spoken defamation of character, which is untrue. When people become angry or run out of options, they often resort to personal attack. Personal attacks only work if there is something wrong. But if not, they do what many people do: make it up! If this commenter were to be subjected to a public trial, with real evidence, then it would be readily obvious to anyone what the truth is. God knows the heart. I pray for peace and compassion of all persons in disagreements - which will always exist - for truth and law to bring about justice. It is what our system is all about. The best governments have a justice system that people believe in. Truth will prevail in the light. But lies flourish in the darkness of night. What is happening with people who can sit behind a computer and make up anything they want, steal from your bank accounts and never get caught and the like? I am working to find solutions to these problems. One day, it could be your name you see smeared wrongly.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  9. Great and compassionate

    Posted by Amanda, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace 1-3 years ago.
    • Horace handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I went to Mr. Sawyer to get help in stopping harassment from someone. Mr. Sawyer was quick, understanding and helpful. He was able to make the other party stop and was able to negotiate an agreement outside of the court room. Great attorney who is down to earth and not one of the "high and mighty" types. Very simple and effective representation. Will always be my first call. - Amanda

  10. Custody, Divorce and criminal defense

    Posted by Matt, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Horace Sawyer.
    • I hired Horace 1-3 years ago.
    • Horace handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I live in Ringgold and located Mr sawyer through my legal insurance. Going through a divorce at the time and numerous financial issues he listened, cared and understood my issues. He took great care of my divorce, only for me to need him again for a frivolous criminal accusation in which he once again settled quickly and out of court. As of yesterday (7/7/13) I had to once again hire Mr. Sawyer to assist in a child custody issue and though I will not discuss how he has helped in detail, rest assured that this man will GO OUT OF HIS WAY AND OVER THE TOP to help you. I am forever grateful to have him as my attorney and will forever be indebted to his grace and compassion. A client for life, I will never use another attorney so long as Mr. Sawyer is practicing. I have been represented 3 times thus far and do not have one negative thing to say. This man has the greatest ethics and compassion of any attorney in which I have encountered, all lawyers should take a lesson. Thank you Mr. Sawyer - M. Green