Allison Elizabeth McCarthy’s Reviews

Allison Elizabeth McCarthy

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very responsive and understands the law...

    Posted by Michelle,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allison McCarthy.

    When you or someone in your family gets in trouble, you need Allison on your side. She kept us informed through every step of the process and explained our options. She is a University of Georgia alum and knows Athens. We felt her background as an Athens college student helped her understand our situation and enabled her to work for a solution that was the best for a college student. She knows the law and helped us through a very difficult time. I highly recommend Allison McCarthy.

  2. Knowledgable, trustworthy, faithful, and simply the best.

    Posted by Adam, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allison McCarthy.
    • I hired Allison 6-12 months ago.
    • Allison handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I found Allison McCarthy on this site and after talking to her I knew she was it. I had gotten a DUI in Ga, but live in SC. She went to work immediately for me. Protecting my DL and pressing the prosecutors for evidence to review. She always returned my calls and texts and kept me well informed of everything I needed to know. She explained her strategy and how things worked. I am also a student and she was able to coordinate to get a court date that didn't interfere with my exams, and handled everything so I could avoid any unnessecary drive to GA.
    Ultimately she worked out a plea to reckless driving which I graciously accepted.
    Upon finally meeting her at trial, she had a great demeanor. Also I noticed her repor with the prosecutors, fellow defense attornys, and judge was one of respect and admiration. She carefully explained what was going to happen and held my hand through the hearing. Even after all was said and done she has helped me coordinate the mandated requirements and still responds quickly to answer any questions I have. She's there before, during, and after trial. I highly recommend her to anyone seeking representation. She is a consummate professional in every regard. While my bad decisions brought me too her, I could not have made a better decision than choosing her. A+, 5 stars, two thumbs up. Thank you so much for all your hard work and help.

  3. Highly recommend

    Posted by Sherry, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allison McCarthy.
    • I hired Allison 1-3 years ago.
    • Allison handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Allie was recommended to us by another attorney. Our 17 year old had gotten into a bit of trouble with a misdemeanor possession citation in the summer of 2013. Needless to say, we were frightened for our son, having had absolutely no experience with this type of situation before. We did not want this mistake as a teen to impact the rest of his life. Allie helped to educate us as to what all of the possible outcomes might be, and told us what things our son needed to do (and not do) prior to court in order for him to have the best possible outcome. He did all of those things, and when we went to court, Allie fought for our son and she did in fact achieve the best possible outcome for him, which included removal from his record as soon as all of his court ordered requirements were completed. Allie is very knowledgeable, and straightforward in her communication and explanations. We felt very comfortable with her, and we would absolutely recommend her to anyone with a youth that has gotten into trouble and needs good counsel.

  4. DUI Case

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allison McCarthy.
    • I hired Allison more than 3 years ago.
    • Allison handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Could not have had better representation. I was up to date on everything throughout the entire process and we ultimately got the best result. I will highly recommend Allison to anyone who is need of a good attorney.

  5. Informative and Wise

    Posted by Chris, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Allison McCarthy.
    • I hired Allison 1-3 years ago.
    • Allison handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    For my case, I was charged with MIP and Fake ID charge. Originally, I was looking at receiving a year and a half probation and 60 hours community service through free trial. Allie had that reduced to a year and 30 hours community service. She has an office in both Atlanta and Athens which makes it convenient for any cases that involve Atlanta kids attending UGA. Especially for the parents. She also works with you till the case is finally finished, with no hidden charges. Overall, she is very loyal, hard working, and wise.

  6. Excellent communicator. Superb lawyer.

    Posted by Mark, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allison McCarthy.
    • I hired Allison 1-3 years ago.
    • Allison handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ok folks, listen up. Nobody -- and I mean nobody -- plans for a DUI. In my case, I didn't plan on a couple of them. While your friends, family or coworkers may be quick to judge, Ms. McCarthy is one person you absolutely need on your side. While every case can't be solved the way you initially expect, I can attest firsthand that Ms. McCarthy will go to any length to pursue every possible legal avenue to ensure the service of justice. She knows the law so extensively that the smallest detail (which many other attorneys may overlook) might absolutely make all the difference in a verdict.

    Even if, for whatever reason, your case gets dragged out for an extended period of time, she will be fully available and responsive until the case is completely over. A DUI may feel like end of the world, but Ms. McCarthy works tirelessly to make sure it isn't.

  7. Amazing Criminal Defense Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allison McCarthy.
    • I hired Allison more than 3 years ago.
    • Allison handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    If you ever find yourself in a position of needing a criminal defense attorney, Allie McCarthy is without question the attorney that I would recommend. My son needed her services and she made the process so much easier for a stressed out mom. She kept us informed every step of the way and my son could not have asked for a better outcome with his case. Allie truly cares about her clients.

  8. Barrow County DUI Case Review

    Posted by Alexander, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allison McCarthy.
    • I hired Allison more than 3 years ago.
    • Allison handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Allie was very helpful throughout the process of my DUI case in Barrow County, GA. She kept me informed of what was going on with the case at all times. She answered all of my questions and explained everything that I needed to know. I would highly recommend her.

  9. Very Impressive Lawyer

    Posted by a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allison McCarthy.
    • I hired Allison more than 3 years ago.
    • Allison handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was very impressed with Ms. McCarthy's representation during our Civil Case. She answered all our questions and was very patient with my husband and I. She provided us with pertinent information that helped us understnad our rights and our case.
    She was always available and made us feel our case was important to her. She treated us as though we were her own family.
    I highly recommend her services, JUSTICE will be served!

  10. Client Review

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allison McCarthy.
    • I hired Allison more than 3 years ago.
    • Allison handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Allie has helped us on two previous ocassions, and now with a third situation. She has been very effective in helping us through the process, and the results have been to our benefit. We would recommend her to anyone who needs legal assistance, Allie will certainly help their cause.

678-637-3201