Back to Steven’s Profile

Client Review

Steven has received 23 client reviews

Smooth Operator

Posted by: Joanna, a Divorce client 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Steven Shewmaker

I hired Steven 6-12 months ago.

Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I hired Steve Shewmaker in January 2014 when it became clear that I needed a lawyer who had military experience and knew "the system" to help navigate me thru the divorce process from my retired Navy spouse. He and his staff exemplified professionalism on the phone, on the immense amount of paperwork, and throughout the mediation process. He made a very intense, emotional time for me into a straightforward, realistic agenda. He dazzled the opposing council with his knowledge, preparedness, and candor at the mediation table. I am forever grateful!

Outstanding Lawyer

Posted by: Pamela, a Child Custody client 6 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Steven Shewmaker

I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.

Steven handled my Child Custody matter.

Mr. Shewmaker was an outstanding lawyer. He always had my best interest at heart and never sugar coated anything. He is a very straight forward lawyer. He also never made promises he could not keep. A wonderful family man. I will always recommend him to everyone I know. If I ever need legal advice I will call him.

Victory is his middle name!

Posted by: Paulina, a Child Support client 6 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Steven Shewmaker

I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.

Steven handled my Child Support matter.

Mr. Shewmaker is one of the few lawyers out there that actually cares what his clients want and fights to get it. He is very persistent, extremely knowledgeable of the law and a great individual. I never felt like I was on my own throughout the whole process, he explained everything and always asked me what "I" wanted. I will definitely have Mr. Steve Shewmaker on speed dial! If you need a family law attorney Mr. Shewmaker is the man!

A powerhouse lawyer and firm...

Posted by: Glen, a Criminal Defense client 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Steven Shewmaker

I hired Steven 6-12 months ago.

Steven handled my Criminal Defense matter.

Steven P. Shewmaker and his firm are excellent, he followed up with me on a regularly basis , He informed me of all my options and all scenarios and possible outcomes & most of all he actually listened to me. In court he explained everything every step of the hearing so I would be well informed and able to make an educated decision based on the facts I would retain him and his firm again with no question

The best Criminal defense Team who care about you!

Posted by: matt, a Criminal Defense client 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Steven Shewmaker

I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.

Steven handled my Criminal Defense matter.

There is one position and two components in life I stand on alone and its trustworthiness with professionalism and a caring soul. I contacted the Shewmaker and Shewmaker Law firm from a friends suggestion at church. At that time I had reviewed my options and prayed about my circumstances. In addition I had also read Steven Shewmakers extensive experience in the area of criminal defense and family law. I chose Mr. Shewmaker and met with his staff. April Stancliff who also is an attorney practicing at his firm was amazingly caring, and attentive to my situation. After speaking with Steven who was my attorney for this Case, I finally took a long deep breath which I had not done in quite some time. There were many many aspects to work out that involved delicate legal matters for the courts and my defense, yet Steven and April knew exactly what to do and where to take the case to gain the absolute best outcome. In my mind I felt I was completely innocent and hoped I would not be put in Jail. As The case unfolded and my court case arrived, I felt terribly nervous. Immediately Steven and April of the Shewmaker Law Group made me feel as though I had nothing to worry about which they both proved through their skill and experience was true. I did not. Not Only did I not have to serve any time in detention, but my whole case was dismissed. I was in awe of the amount of determination of this firm to get what needs to be done done. I am completely humbled by the caring of Steven Shewmaker and April Stancliff. These two caring people truly saved my life and I will never forget that. They not only cared for my case but handled my payments of my case with my needs in mind. April and Steven both treated my Girlfriend and myself as part of their family which is so rare. Look no further, these are your attorneys! god bless, thanks again MR...

Honesty, communication and passion, I would recommend his services,

Posted by: Janey, a Divorce client 12 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Steven Shewmaker

I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.

Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

If you need an attorney who will fight for you in a tough divorce case then I would highly recommend attorney Steve Shewmaker, who is amazing. Not only is Mr. Shewmaker professional and compassionate, but his entire staff treats every potential client with great respect and dignity. I am so fortunate to have found the law office of Shewmaker &. Shewmaker. Mr. Shewmaker listen as I explained my difficult case, which was one of the hardest times in my life, then he planned a solution and explain how he was going to fight for me every step of the way, this is one tough attorney, he protects his clients, always watching out for their best interest, he is simply awesome.

Gauranteed support

Posted by: a Child Support client 12 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Steven Shewmaker

I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.

Steven handled my Child Support matter.

I started working on my child support modification case some months ago with another lawyer, A S. My lawyer then started working with Mr. Shewmaker a few months after. Before July 29, 2013 I had not talk to or seen S.Shewmaker. The day I meet with my lawyer A.S., to go over my case was the day I met Mr. Shewmaker. Right away S.M., made me feel very good about my hearing the next day. Mr. Shewmaker knew my case, was very confidient in the court ruling in my favor. It was as if I had started my case with him as well. Steven Shewmaker is an exceptional lawyer and postive mentor/role model for new lawyers. "Big Papa" (Mr. Shewmaker- nick name for himself) knows his stuff and makes newbies like myself comfortable with laws of the court. Mr Shewmaker sat in with my lawyer, A.S. to assist as needed. Mr. Shewmaker was very observant to my lawyer and the case needs allowing him to jump in to assist. During my hearing he continously asked how I was doing. Mr Shewmaker continously praised and encourgaed A. S. on the GREAT job she was doing. If I was to ever need or knew anyone in need of a lawyer I would not hesitate to recommend Steven Shewmaker.

The Best Attorney Money Can Buy

Posted by: Patrick, a Family client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Steven Shewmaker

I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.

Steven handled my Family matter.

I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

I cannot speak highly enough of Steve Shewmaker. Writing a review for an attorney of Steve’s caliber is one of the most challenging endeavors I have ever undertaken as I cannot put into words my overwhelming gratitude. I hired Steve in December 2012 one week prior to my court date to handle a family law modification case that had a degree of complexity of epic proportions. I am a father with primary custody and my ex-wife attempted to modify custody. If a father with custody asking an attorney to prepare for trial in less than a week on a case that has years of history is not complex enough, my prior divorce decree was from out of the State of Georgia which created an even more convoluted legal arena in which Steve had to operate. My previous out of state court order was poorly written and it was designed in a manner for a father with custody to fail. For many years I was saddled with trepidation and afraid that one minor human error may cost me custody. Although I was an emotional wreck living in a constant state of fear, Steve was cool and collected from the start. He treated me with the respect and dignity of a trusted colleague, set realistic expectations, and alleviated my anxiety. Steve worked evenings and the weekend to prepare me for trial. When the day of court arrived and I took the stand I was at ease knowing that Mr. Shewmaker was in complete control. Steve was well prepared, organized, and he commanded the courtroom in the manner I’d expect of a Lieutenant Colonel and a former US Army Ranger. He was an aggressive, yet diplomatic, litigator that was only focused on achieving an outcome that was in my and my children’s best interest. His performance the day of trial was outstanding as I watched his calculated and methodical strategy unfold. In the legal arena there are no guarantees that a judge will rule in your favor. After the dust settled from trial I not only retained custody, but my kids ended up with a far better arrangement than what I was willing to negotiate pre-trial. For many years I acquiesced to nearly every demand from my ex-wife out of fear; Steve gave me the courage to finally say ‘no’ and lifted a great burden from my shoulders. There is nothing more important than your kids; you can trust that Steve Shewmaker will provide you the absolute best legal representation that money can buy.

Highly Impressed!

Posted by: a Domestic Violence client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Steven Shewmaker

I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.

Steven handled my Domestic Violence matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

I hired a lawyer for a domestic violance incident. After my previous lawyer failed to show for two of my court dates, along with numerous non-returned phone calls, I decided to seek additional represetation. In talking with a coworker about my crappy lawyer, she referred me to Steve. I hesitated calling Steve because I had already invested money in the first lawyer, but Steve offered a free consultation, so I figured what could it hurt. I gained more knowledge of my options and rights as a citizen within 30 minutes of meeting Steve than the three months working with my first lawyer. Even though I basically threw $600.00 down the drain with the first lawyer, I was 100% sure I wanted to start over with Steve. Here is is one year later, and he was able to get my case dismissed with minimal punishment and ZERO fines! I hope I am never in need of a lawyer, but if by chance I find myself in that situation, I without a doubt will use Steve Shewmaker.

Saved my life

Posted by: a Criminal Defense client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Steven Shewmaker

I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.

Steven handled my Criminal Defense matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Mr. Shewmaker is an awesome lawyer. Not only did he resolve the case but he made me a better person in the process. While working on my case, he made me aware of procedures and certain rights owed to me as an US citizen and US Service member. What I personally like about him is I was feeling hopelessness. Like there was no way out and no end in sight. In seeing my depression, he immediately expressed his concern and then positively spoke on my attributes and the case. This willingness to take time out of his busy schedule just to consult me in a more personal way is by far what impressed me the most about him. To know that you have someone to talk to even in a professional manner about the case and what options you have goes a long way. I personally would like to say thank you again to Mr. Steve P. Shewmaker.