Steven P. Shewmaker’s Reviews

Steven P. Shewmaker

Average Rating

Based on 31 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Honest and Up-Front

    Posted by Frankie, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Shewmaker.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I presented a very unique problem to Steve, which I had been dealing with for a long time. My bottom line experience was that I got what I came for “CLOSURE”. I can now continue on with my journey thanks to Steve!

  2. Steve's work is impeccable

    Posted by Badi, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Shewmaker.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Cool, calm and calculating, just to name a few of Steve's qualities. He is definitely a "straight shooter" and keeps you well informed of the reality of your case but offers realistic options and great advice. I never felt that the focus was about money. You hear so many horror stories about attorneys but my experience has been a pleasurable one with Steve. He is very focused even when you think he's playing around. His performance in court demonstrated his ability to control and guide the case to a favorable outcome. He is a natural leader with many great qualities. Even the opposing counsel seemed to look towards Steve for direction at times.

    Steve's approach is simple but effective. He cuts through all the bureaucratic nonsense and gets right down to business. As a man in a custody case, I had my reservations about using a male attorney but it was the best decision I made other than seeking full custody of my children. I guess because of Steve's military background, I tend to think of his performance as a "Drone attack". He does a massive amount of preparation and then things seem to get eerily quiet at times. I sometimes thought that I had been forgotten but Steve was only looking out for my expenses. His phone calls were brief and to the point. Steve is not going to waste your time or money on useless conversation. When the time came he attacked every possible aspect, with great precision. He picked apart the opposing counsel and was such a gentleman about it. The bottom line is that Steve is an amazing attorney, extremely ethical, very knowledgable and professional.

  3. Steven P. Shewmaker

    Posted by Nicoleena, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Shewmaker.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Shewmaker handled every aspect of my case with integrity. He lent a helping hand and was sympathetic and understanding and worked towards the best interest of myself and my family at all times. I would gladly hire him again for ANY legal need.

  4. Top Military Law Practice in Atlanta

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Shewmaker.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Steven Shewmaker and his wife and law partner Patty Shewmaker handled my divorce in Atlanta, Georgia. I was a military spouse for the full 20 years of my former husband's active duty. The Shewmakers led me through the divorce process with a commanding knowledge of my military rights and benefits and gave me the all important confidence that the proper military paperwork would be filed to receive these benefits.
    It can be very difficult to find a lawyer that has the specific knowledge of the military rules that directly effect the benefits issued in a military divorce. Not only do both Steven Shewmaker and Patty Shewmaker have that expertise, they also lecture and teach this law.
    I feel very fortunate to have had them represent my interests in this matter. They treated me with respect and gained my respect in return.

  5. Mr. Shewmaker Wrote a Contract for Me

    Posted by Anthony, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Shewmaker.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Contracts & Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Shewmaker handled an important contract for me in connection with a content development project I was doing. He was extremely responsive to my needs (going through multiple drafts to get my intent exactly right) and showed both knowledge and care in the details. The contract has worked out great; my interests have been safeguarded as intended, and I have had no problems of any sort. I would definitely recommend Mr. Shewmaker to anyone looking for this sort of assistance.

  6. Some people are just born to be lawyers

    Posted by Michaella, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Shewmaker.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Steve Shewmaker is hands down the best family Attorney. I hired Steve to represent me for a very grueling and complicated case involving child custody, visitation, child support and domestic violence. In the court room and mediation he was intelligent, firm and gets straight to the point. He doesn’t sugarcoat or gets your hopes up. He tells it exactly how it is. He is an incredible Attorney with an efficient and professional staff by his side. He is accessible and available. I can’t thank him and his staff enough for helping me and my son through a very difficult and frustrating time.

  7. Excellent representation

    Posted by Sarah, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Shewmaker.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Steve and Rachel Elovitz to help me with a situation that resulted from poor representation during my recent divorce. I honestly thought I was screwed and there wasn't much anyone could do to help me, but they were able to fix it and put an end to what I thought would be years of being in and out of the courts. He is very thorough and grasped the situation quickly. He came up with a strategy that worked perfectly and saved me money. I couldn't be more satisfied with my choice to hire them as a team, but I would recommend him individually as well. He is smart, honest, warm and funny and I would recommend him for any legal matter.

  8. Former Family Law Client

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Shewmaker.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Steve helped me get custody of my three year old daughter and seek a divorce. I’m a patent litigator at a large law firm, so working with/for me was no small task. Additionally, my ex-wife is a well-connected attorney, making the task even more difficult. However, Steve persevered and achieved great success.

    I give my strongest recommendation for Mr. Steven Shewmaker. Steve has all the qualities I needed from a lawyer – honesty, responsiveness, compassion, and success. He repeatedly demonstrated exceptional professional and personal skills that resulted in the successful resolution of my case.

    Steve is the best attorney I have encountered in my 10 year legal career. He has exceptional analytical skills that enable him to rapidly develop meaningful solutions and possesses great decision-making skills to choose the right solution. He is extremely intelligent, studious and strives to improve at all times. Most importantly, his excellent personal skills make him a joy to work with.

    Steve has the character, intelligence, and self-discipline that will make him a true asset to client. Articulate, intelligent, energetic, poised, honest, and outgoing – he represents the very best the legal community has to offer. I am proud to recommend Steve – he will not disappoint you.

  9. OUTSTANDING!!!

    Posted by SHAWNDRA, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Shewmaker.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    STEVE AND PATTY WERE EXCELLENT! THEY MADE MY UGLY DIVORCE TURN OUT IN MY FAVOR WITH GOD'S HELP!! THEY REALLY FOUGHT FOR ME AND MY SON AND MADE SURE WE WERE NOT RAILROADED IN ANYWAY. THEY ARE A VERY PROFESSIONAL TEAM AND I WOULD RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE.

  10. An Attorney who really gets it!

    Posted by Bob, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Shewmaker.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Shewmaker totally understands how to treat a client, from showing empathy, being accessible, responsive, and keeping us informed throughout the process. Our family engaged his services when our teenage son needed legal representation. Not only was his style very straight forward and direct, but he comforted us repeatedly letting us know that all his resources(and those of his firm) were behind us 100%.
    We were always informed of any changes in the case, he negotiated with law enforcement on our son's behalf and gave solid advice for us to follow based upon the circumstances. It was very comforting to have a professional guiding us through the process, it took a lot of burden off my wife and I knowing he was in our corner.
    I would highly recommend him to anyone seeking legal advice in his area of expertise.