April Lynn Stancliff’s Reviews

April Lynn Stancliff

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Up and coming attorney April Stancliff

    Posted by amosisrael01, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.
    • I hired April < 1 month ago.
    • April handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I talked to April a few weeks before my status hearing on October 10, 2014. She kept me informed as to the particulars of the hearing and always called me back if I couldn't reach her in the office. The day of the hearing she was on strategic with the approch we would take going before the Judge as I was the plantiff against my sons mother. The order submitted by her to the court on my behalf was excellant to say the least. I was able to get things adjusted in the order that I never would have been able to had it not been for April. If you are looking for an excellant up and coming attorney contact April Stancliff and you will not be disappointed!

  2. April is A TRUE angel in disguise, and a FOREVER blessing to our family! Thank you April!

    Posted by Matt & Lindsay, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.
    • I hired April 6-12 months ago.
    • April handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    First, the title of this review is an understatement, of epic proportions, concerning what April, and the entire Shewmaker Team have done for our family. April (and ultimately Steve), came into our lives when we began an atrocious battle concerning a Guardianship over our five year old daughter. One accusation led to another, which ultimately resulted in us having severe criminal charges placed upon us; on top of fighting the civil issues. We contacted Shewmaker & Shewmaker at the very last minute, (last minute, meaning the evening before we were going to turn ourselves into the county jail), and after unsuccessfully trying to obtain several other attorneys on such short notice. The criminal charges were significantly more severe, due to us crossing state lines with our daughter for our vacation. (The neighboring state we visited, is the state in which we reside in.) At our bond hearing, we were able to observe April in action in defending us for the very first time. April conducted, and carried herself with such confidence, professionalism, and enough backbone, to make any person opposing, leave with their tail between their legs! Like most people, I was not a fan of attorneys, and have always thought of them as money-hungry sharks. However, after our bond hearing, I had a newfound respect for attorneys; and all the while, April had gained every ounce of trust we had left in our hearts and souls at the time. Generally, it is obvious when someone is being truly genuine, and have meaning in what they say. April was exactly that. As she looked at me, through a glass window in the jail, she said, "We are GOING to get your daughter back…" In that instant, we had absolutely no doubt in our minds, that she honestly meant the words that she had spoken. It was also evident, April not only sympathized with us, but she was truly determined to fight to get our daughter back. Shortly after being released, we had to return to our home to report back to work. Even while we were hundreds of miles away; April, DAY OR NIGHT, kept in continuous contact with us, whether by phone or email. 99% of the time, we would get a freakishly fast reply from her within 10 minutes of sending her an email! She displayed extreme compassion for our case, and made us sincerely feel like individuals, rather than numbers or dollar signs above our case files. She literally lived and breathed our case, while going ABOVE (well above), and beyond what she needed to, in the fight to reunite our family. April endlessly gave us words of encouragement, even though it seemed as if she always got the "raw end of the deal" when it came to us outwardly expressing our frustrations and emotions. I apologized to her constantly for "venting" while on the phone with her, only for her to ask me, "why do you think we are also called counselors,?” and then continue and encourage us to vent as needed. She always respected our thoughts and concerns, and would include us in what seemed to be “The brainstorming Olympics,” just trying to find any faster or more constructive solutions. She would see, and listen to us at our worst, yet would always return a reassuring and positive response. She has impeccable attention to detail, inside of the courtroom and out. April respects us as people, and as a family. A family that more than deserves to be reunited. The cliche saying, “You get what you pay for,” could not be more true when it comes to finding an exceptional attorney such as April. A trustworthy attorney, that is going to walk beside you, in your darkest hours, striving wholeheartedly to achieve the most optimal outcome she can, or the best outcome your situation will allow. Efficient, compassionate, open-minded, receptive, sympathetic, high work ethic, organized, knowledgeable, trustworthy, dependable, intelligent, and respectful, are just a few words that describe April Stancliff. She kept her promise, got our daughter back, and earned a huge spot in our hearts! Way to go Team B-----

  3. Recommendation of April Stancliff

    Posted by Seth, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.
    • I hired April 1-6 months ago.
    • April handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    April is excellant to work with. She worked on my case for over a year and kept me well informed at every event. Very knowledgeable and positive attorney. I would recommend to call Shewmaker and Shewmaker and have April review your needs.

  4. Excellent representation, Great communication, Attention to detail

    Posted by Carter, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.
    • I hired April 6-12 months ago.
    • April handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I had a criminal case that, while not a huge matter in the scope of things, was extremely important to me. This issue required a fair amount of research and negotiation with the prosecutor. As soon as I met April and her team I knew I had made the correct selection. April was attentive during our initial meeting and displayed real empathy with my situation. She explained the pros and cons of my options. Working through the selected course of action took six months and during that time April kept me informed of changes, developments, etc. I was pleased with the communication! At our first meeting she suggested some actions I might take to bolster my bargaining position and I am glad I followed her advice. The case was just resolved today and the outcome was exactly what I had hoped for. April makes you feel that she is truly interested in helping you with your situation, the personal attention was appreciated. If you are looking for excellent, attentive representation, I am pleased to recommend April Stancliff

  5. success where others failed

    Posted by Will, a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.
    • I hired April 6-12 months ago.
    • April handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.

    After a 4 year ordeal trying to reinstate my drivers license, April succeeded where others failed. Tenacious and courteous, she did a great job of keeping me informed of every new development and detail. I would not hesitate to recommend April to anyone that needs a lawyer! Thanks so much for getting my freedom back April!

  6. Thank you April

    Posted by Kim, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.
    • I hired April 6-12 months ago.
    • April handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Let me begin by saying I only had the pleasure of working with April for a few weeks but I absolutely do not know what I would have done with out her. You will not only get a knowledgeable and exceptionally dedicated person, you will get true compassion for whatever you might be going through at the time. There was never a time when I left a message or wrote an email that I had to wait more than ten minutes for a response no matter what time of day or night it was. Even if your emotions get the best of you she truly understands and will always have such patience and understanding. During one of the hardest times of my life I never felt like I was talking to a lawyer, I felt like I was talking to a friend. That is how comfortable she makes you feel with her. I have been honored to work with her during her earlier years as a lawyer because I have no doubt in my mind that she will soon be one of the best lawyers in the Atlanta area. Thank you April for all you have done for me :).

  7. Very detailed & efficient

    Posted by Glen, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.
    • I hired April 1-3 years ago.
    • April handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    April Lynn Stancliff kept me well informed, followed up with me regularly , informed me of all my options and most of all listened to me and my wants after everything was over she continued to help me by dotting all the I's and crossing all the T's I would retain her again and the firm she works with...

  8. The best Criminal defense Team who care about you!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.
    • I hired April 1-3 years ago.
    • April handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    If you're worried and concerned over your case in court and you have no idea who to turn to then look no further...

    April Stancliff and her team will absolutely be the best criminal defense attorney who can get what needs to be done done. April and Shewmaker and Shewmake Law group had my best interests concerning my case and they absolutely proved it. April and Steven will be my choice for legal representation always if I ever need it again. April is so skilled in so many areas. Her attention to detail is perfection in action.

    I have never experienced this type of care and concern when it comes to legal matters in my life. April Stancliff absolutely cares for her clients and she is without a doubt an expert in the field of criminal defense. April Stancliff set me free from any further troubles form my court case as it was dismissed within an hour in Court.

    April was so caring about my day to day needs and my emotional state that her skills go beyond just a legal defense attorney. she was my truest counselor for the pain and suffering I had endured. April Stancliff and Steven Shewmaker were absolutely amazing , caring , professional , skilled and devoted to the best outcome for me. there was truly god in the court and it worked through this caring attorney...

    thank you April

    God bless,...

    MR

  9. Guaranteed support with April

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.
    • I hired April 1-3 years ago.
    • April handled my Child Support matter.

    Ms. Stancliff helped me with a child support modification. From our first conversation on the phone she was very campassionate, professional and thorough in her questions. I felt I was in great hands. When we meet in person, my first impression was correct. Over the time it took to prepare the case, Ms Stancliff stayed the same way. If I had questions she answered the same day, always professional and never judgemental. This was my first experience with a lawyer so I didn't know what to expect. Ms. Stancliff was flexible with my work hours and came to me if she needed to pick up paperwork or drop it off. A.S., explained things that I did not understand in terms or in text that I was able to comprehend. My conversations with Ms. Stancliff never once made me feel nervous or incompetent.
    The day before the trial, we met to review the case, and I was very impressed with Ms. Stancliff's research, organizational skills, and the knowledge of my case. The day of the trial I was confidient in Ms.Stancliff ablility to protray my case to the judge. Again, I was not wrong with my confidience in Ms. Stancliff abilities. A.S, had all her questions, and supporting documents ready. I was awarded a modification to my child support from all of the supporting document and Ms. Stancliff's professionalism.
    As a new lawyer I could since a little nervousness but that goes with doing anything new. It's good to be nervous, it shows you care about the outcome. Ms.Stancliff is on her way to becoming an exceptional lawyer. If I was to ever need or knew of anyone in need of a lawyer I would defiantly recommend Ms April Stancliff.

  10. Very Impressive Attorney

    Posted by William, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.
    • I hired April 1-3 years ago.
    • April handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired April to help me with a traffic violation. She was extremely thorough and professional. She treated my case with the utmost importance. I was satisfied with the outcome and would definitely recommend her to others.