April Lynn Stancliff’s Reviews

April Lynn Stancliff

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Exceptional, Ethical, and Efficient - this is the Stancliff standard.

    Posted by John,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.

    It took me a couple months to truly wrap my head around how an ex of mine could seek to not only disparage and defame me, but to go so far as to seek to destroy my life as I knew it. The devil, of course, is in the details which I can't mention here... but suffice it to say I was caught completely off guard, and after having spent years helping to support this other half and his lifestyle I was in a financially sensitive position. What resulted was truly unnecessary litigation following the slow and painful end of an abusive relationship - only further evidence of the character of this person I once gave my all to.

    In my case April went above and beyond the call of duty as my attorney. Even now I recall early morning and late night conversations about the difficulties of the case, the issues with how charges were framed, and the myriad things I could do to better prepare us both for our day in court. As my stresses weighed me down she educated me on the situation, its protocol, and took the time to lift my spirits. She empathized with my frustration and anger and helped me to not only make the best of the situation, but to harness these emotions in order to leave no stone unturned.

    It took many long hours scouring emails and texts, pulling up financial records, and contacting multiple organizations and businesses to properly defend our case. I wasn't alone during this time, however, because April was with me every step of the way, and helped to guide my actions to focus my efforts and work as quickly and efficiently as possible.

    The end result: WE WON. Not against one, but TWO charges. BOTH of which were filed due to the horrifying actions and malicious intentions of a spiteful ex.

    Steve Shewmaker himself was there to assist, and the pride on his face when the judge ruled was more than evident.

    April is an ethical, educated, informed, and empathetic legal professional whose prowess is exceeded only by her intention to serve her clients. Save for her brief moments out of the office to sleep I fear she may in fact work at all hours of the day, throughout the week. I cannot adequately thank her for all she has done for me, save for pour my heart into this review.

    April, you are amazing. Thank you, again.

  2. Highly Recommend

    Posted by Clara,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.

    April was one of the attorneys for my modification of child support/alimony case. She is so thorough. She reviewed every document with great detail. Thus we were So prepared in court. I don't have enough words. She knew the case backward and forward. She really listened to me and made a difficult situation a little easier. Her hard work contributed to the very best outcome I could have had in my case.

  3. YOU NEED HER ON YOUR SIDE!

    Posted by Jasmine,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.

    First off, I want to start this review off by saying that April Stancliff was such a pleasant person to work with. I am so blessed that I got to work with this amazing human being. April was extremely professional when she spoke with me, but she also added a personal tone behind her words that made me feel safe and at home like talking to a friend.

    This woman is completely dedicated to the work that she does and she will not stand down while someone tries to do the wrong thing. She showed so much heartfelt desire to have true justice served. This made the time spent with her very worthwhile because I knew that my case was going to be won. Not only because she is amazing at what she does, but mainly for the reason that her heart was in the right place the entire time she helped me.

    In my case in particular, I was up against a lot and really did not see anything in the future for me but jail time. I had previous charges and jail time against me for the same exact thing that I was looking to fight in court. One of my charges was a misdemeanor. On the other hand, my other charge could have been pressed as a felony, depending on the cost of damages done. I was looking at up to two years in confinement.

    My case was dropped. With those charges you might think that justice was not served, but there is more to the story. I was framed for criminal damage and the same "victim" self harmed themselves and blamed me. No one believed that I was innocent until I spoke with Steve Shewmaker and April. As soon as I spoke with her, she started on my case. I was freaking out because with my previous charges, I looked guilty. April did everything in her power to prove my innocence.

    I know that April must have put in long hours to make sure that the true victim, being me, was not behind bars under faulty accusations. She made countless phone calls, text messages, and emails to keep me constantly up to date on my case. As soon as anything came up, good or bad, April made sure that I knew.

    We were both told at the same time that my case had been dropped. The number one reason that it was, was because April did a lot of background and figured out the "victim" was not as good as a person as he had led everyone to believe. She called countless people, got all the documents she needed, had me save phone recordings, etc....

    This woman knows how to do her job and she knows how to do it well. She worked diligently on my case every single day: That shows workmanship. She spoke with me as often and with as much help as possible: That shows communication. Most importantly, April cried tears of joy with me when everyone found out that I was innocent: That shows her heart. This is someone that you want on your side, because I would hate to know I had to fight her on a case.

    Thanks April,
    for everything.

  4. Up and coming attorney April Stancliff

    Posted by amosisrael01, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.
    • I hired April 1-6 months ago.
    • April handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I talked to April a few weeks before my status hearing on October 10, 2014. She kept me informed as to the particulars of the hearing and always called me back if I couldn't reach her in the office. The day of the hearing she was on strategic with the approch we would take going before the Judge as I was the plantiff against my sons mother. The order submitted by her to the court on my behalf was excellant to say the least. I was able to get things adjusted in the order that I never would have been able to had it not been for April. If you are looking for an excellant up and coming attorney contact April Stancliff and you will not be disappointed!

  5. April is A TRUE angel in disguise, and a FOREVER blessing to our family! Thank you April!

    Posted by Matt & Lindsay, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.
    • I hired April 6-12 months ago.
    • April handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    First, the title of this review is an understatement, of epic proportions, concerning what April, and the entire Shewmaker Team have done for our family. April (and ultimately Steve), came into our lives when we began an atrocious battle concerning a Guardianship over our five year old daughter. One accusation led to another, which ultimately resulted in us having severe criminal charges placed upon us; on top of fighting the civil issues. We contacted Shewmaker & Shewmaker at the very last minute, (last minute, meaning the evening before we were going to turn ourselves into the county jail), and after unsuccessfully trying to obtain several other attorneys on such short notice. The criminal charges were significantly more severe, due to us crossing state lines with our daughter for our vacation. (The neighboring state we visited, is the state in which we reside in.) At our bond hearing, we were able to observe April in action in defending us for the very first time. April conducted, and carried herself with such confidence, professionalism, and enough backbone, to make any person opposing, leave with their tail between their legs! Like most people, I was not a fan of attorneys, and have always thought of them as money-hungry sharks. However, after our bond hearing, I had a newfound respect for attorneys; and all the while, April had gained every ounce of trust we had left in our hearts and souls at the time. Generally, it is obvious when someone is being truly genuine, and have meaning in what they say. April was exactly that. As she looked at me, through a glass window in the jail, she said, "We are GOING to get your daughter back…" In that instant, we had absolutely no doubt in our minds, that she honestly meant the words that she had spoken. It was also evident, April not only sympathized with us, but she was truly determined to fight to get our daughter back. Shortly after being released, we had to return to our home to report back to work. Even while we were hundreds of miles away; April, DAY OR NIGHT, kept in continuous contact with us, whether by phone or email. 99% of the time, we would get a freakishly fast reply from her within 10 minutes of sending her an email! She displayed extreme compassion for our case, and made us sincerely feel like individuals, rather than numbers or dollar signs above our case files. She literally lived and breathed our case, while going ABOVE (well above), and beyond what she needed to, in the fight to reunite our family. April endlessly gave us words of encouragement, even though it seemed as if she always got the "raw end of the deal" when it came to us outwardly expressing our frustrations and emotions. I apologized to her constantly for "venting" while on the phone with her, only for her to ask me, "why do you think we are also called counselors,?” and then continue and encourage us to vent as needed. She always respected our thoughts and concerns, and would include us in what seemed to be “The brainstorming Olympics,” just trying to find any faster or more constructive solutions. She would see, and listen to us at our worst, yet would always return a reassuring and positive response. She has impeccable attention to detail, inside of the courtroom and out. April respects us as people, and as a family. A family that more than deserves to be reunited. The cliche saying, “You get what you pay for,” could not be more true when it comes to finding an exceptional attorney such as April. A trustworthy attorney, that is going to walk beside you, in your darkest hours, striving wholeheartedly to achieve the most optimal outcome she can, or the best outcome your situation will allow. Efficient, compassionate, open-minded, receptive, sympathetic, high work ethic, organized, knowledgeable, trustworthy, dependable, intelligent, and respectful, are just a few words that describe April Stancliff. She kept her promise, got our daughter back, and earned a huge spot in our hearts! Way to go Team B-----

  6. Recommendation of April Stancliff

    Posted by Seth, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.
    • I hired April 6-12 months ago.
    • April handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    April is excellant to work with. She worked on my case for over a year and kept me well informed at every event. Very knowledgeable and positive attorney. I would recommend to call Shewmaker and Shewmaker and have April review your needs.

  7. Excellent representation, Great communication, Attention to detail

    Posted by Carter, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.
    • I hired April 1-3 years ago.
    • April handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I had a criminal case that, while not a huge matter in the scope of things, was extremely important to me. This issue required a fair amount of research and negotiation with the prosecutor. As soon as I met April and her team I knew I had made the correct selection. April was attentive during our initial meeting and displayed real empathy with my situation. She explained the pros and cons of my options. Working through the selected course of action took six months and during that time April kept me informed of changes, developments, etc. I was pleased with the communication! At our first meeting she suggested some actions I might take to bolster my bargaining position and I am glad I followed her advice. The case was just resolved today and the outcome was exactly what I had hoped for. April makes you feel that she is truly interested in helping you with your situation, the personal attention was appreciated. If you are looking for excellent, attentive representation, I am pleased to recommend April Stancliff

  8. success where others failed

    Posted by Will, a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.
    • I hired April 1-3 years ago.
    • April handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.

    After a 4 year ordeal trying to reinstate my drivers license, April succeeded where others failed. Tenacious and courteous, she did a great job of keeping me informed of every new development and detail. I would not hesitate to recommend April to anyone that needs a lawyer! Thanks so much for getting my freedom back April!

  9. Thank you April

    Posted by Kim, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.
    • I hired April 1-3 years ago.
    • April handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Let me begin by saying I only had the pleasure of working with April for a few weeks but I absolutely do not know what I would have done with out her. You will not only get a knowledgeable and exceptionally dedicated person, you will get true compassion for whatever you might be going through at the time. There was never a time when I left a message or wrote an email that I had to wait more than ten minutes for a response no matter what time of day or night it was. Even if your emotions get the best of you she truly understands and will always have such patience and understanding. During one of the hardest times of my life I never felt like I was talking to a lawyer, I felt like I was talking to a friend. That is how comfortable she makes you feel with her. I have been honored to work with her during her earlier years as a lawyer because I have no doubt in my mind that she will soon be one of the best lawyers in the Atlanta area. Thank you April for all you have done for me :).

  10. Very detailed & efficient

    Posted by Glen, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Stancliff.
    • I hired April 1-3 years ago.
    • April handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    April Lynn Stancliff kept me well informed, followed up with me regularly , informed me of all my options and most of all listened to me and my wants after everything was over she continued to help me by dotting all the I's and crossing all the T's I would retain her again and the firm she works with...