Back to Matthew’s Profile

Client Review

Matthew has received 26 client reviews

Matt Kilgo

Posted by: John, a DUI client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Kilgo

I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.

Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Matt was very helpful and he was good about getting in touch with me and explaining many of the legal processes that I did not understand, especially since I was from out of state. He kept me calm at all times during the process and was very friendly. Very personable as well. Overall, Matt Kilgo was an excellent legal force that at no point left any type of doubt in my mind. I would highly recommend him.

Happy Client

Posted by: a DUI client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Kilgo

I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.

Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Matt did an excellent job with my DUI case. His knowledge and efforts not only resulted in my case being reduced to reckless driving, but also allowed me to keep my license without any restrictions. He did a good job of answering all of my questions and minimizing my anxiety. I would highly recommend Matt to anyone who finds themselves in the position of being charged with DUI.

It's all about who you know!!!!

Posted by: a DUI client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Kilgo

I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.

Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I was arrested for DUI, and have no previous record of any kind. The first thing I did was hire a friend of mine who was a lawyer that was not specialized in DUI. BIG MISTAKE!! and a waste of 1500.00. I was hoping that there was a video of the field sobriety test that would show that the arresting officer lied on the police report, and that would prove my innocence. However there was none. Not only did the officer have me stumbling and failing every part of the field sobriety test, but he put on the report that I refused the breath test. The fact was I was never asked to blow. My friend, the lawyer recommended that I plead guilty to DUI because there was no way to prove my innocence. There was no video, and it would come down to my word against the officers word. No fight!! If I'm going to go down, there is always going to be a fight. That is what Matt and the Hawkins Law Firm provided for me. We all worked together as a team to accomplish one goal. To not have a DUI on my record for the rest of my life. This case was a long drawn out process that took almost 3 years. During that time we had numerous meetings and communications, so that Matt could gain a full understanding of the facts of my case. This was very important to me. I needed to feel assured that I was understood, and that he took the time to know my case inside and out, so that we could figure out the best possible defense. He went above and beyond to ensure that result. He used all his resources to compile other police reports from this arresting officer, by communicating with other lawyers within his network of lawyers friends. From those reports we were able to build a great defense based on the fact that all his reports were identical, and simply just cut and pasted a different name on the report. This officer made almost 300 arrests in the year he arrested me. He knew he didn't have a video camera. So that gave him the liberty to get away with this type of horrible police work. I'm sure many people were taken down by this officer. I am thankful that I had the heart to fight this injustice, and got someone who had the fight, knowledge and experience that Matt did. He gave me hope that there would be a positive resolution to this, or at the least we were going to go down using every possible bullet we could, in order to achieve the goal of not guilty. In the end on the trial date, Matt was able to successfully communicate with the prosecutor, and the arresting officer. He was able to demonstrate that we had such a strong case that it would be in the best interest of all involved to find me not guilty of DUI, but guilty of reckless driving. It was through his hard work and the reputation of the Hawkins Law Firm that this result was achieved. Once again I am very thankful that I hired the right Firm and person to represent me, and defend me in this horrible situation.

A Great Help

Posted by: a DUI client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Kilgo

I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.

Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Mr. Kilgo was an amazing help to me and my situation. He did an wonderful job and I was greatly appreciative of his help.

The BEST DUI Attorney

Posted by: a DUI client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Kilgo

I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.

Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

My DUI case “GOT DISMISSED” thanks to Matt Kilgo! Unfortunately, my experience with obtaining legal representation didn’t start off so great. Prior to crossing paths with Matt from this very site, I hired a so called pathetic excuse for an attorney. My previous attorney was highly recommended to me from an associate that was also battling a DUI charge. A very long story short, this horrible attorney sent his PARALEGAL to represent me at my first hearing then was pretty much “hands off” with my case. Prior to my second court appearance, I made the most important decision throughout this journey; I hired Matt Kilgo. During my search for a new attorney, I went through a vigorous screening of top tier DUI firms in the Metro Atlanta Area which included Hawkins Law Firm (Matt’s Firm). In short, I selected Matt because during just the first call- he actively listened/reviewed the details of my case (and fears), got to know me as a whole person and educated me on the DUI law as well as possible direction to achieve the best outcome. This continued throughout the entire process even when my case was dormant with waiting for a court date. As with others on this site facing a DUI charge, I am a licensed professional and consultant, my job requires me to travel extensively which includes obtaining rental cars at my clients’ location. Needless to say, a DUI on my records would be devastating and crippling. To that end, an error in legal representation and/or missed opportunity to beat the DUI charge was completely unacceptable. I walked away from thousands of dollars with my first attorney and joined what I called the Dream Team; Matt Kilgo my attorney and his supportive cast Mike (attorney owner of Hawkins Law Firm) and especially my new friend Ms. Nicolle (Office Manager Extraordinaire). I am a very “hands on” client with the details of my case. Matt is the same way, he proactively informed me about all aspects of my case above and beyond the call of duty. When Matt is unavailable to answer questions; either Nicolle and/or Mike were always available to provide information about the logistics of my case. It was that in-depth attention to details and commitment to his clients why my case was dismissed! Great thing is my case never went to trial but I’m confident we were ready to fight; Matt discovered several angles that were sound plans of defense. Bottom-line, a DUI charge is not the end of the world (if you hire the right Attorney) and by the Grace of God, I was very fortunate to cross paths with Matt. Matt Kilgo is a true blessing~ who helped me get my life back on track.

Eceeded expectations

Posted by: a DUI client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Kilgo

I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.

Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

From day one, Matthew Kilgo put me at ease and helped me through the entire process. His firm exceeded my expectations and guided me through the legal process. I would not hesitate to recommend Matthew Kilgo or his firm. I was more than pleased with his knowledge and command of the law. Highly recommend!

Great Choice for DUI/DWI Defense

Posted by: Will M., a DUI client over 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Kilgo

I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.

Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I was pulled over for too fast for conditions in South Fulton County in the Fall of 2010. The officer asked if I had anything to drink and asked if I would consent to sobriety tests. I felt fine so I took the field sobriety test and consented to a breath test at the station. That was a mistake because I blew nearly twice the legal limit. When I made bond the next morning I immediately began searching for a lawyer online. Due to the potential security clearance requirements that may arise in my profession a DUI could limit my employment opportunities in the future. I contacted a very good attorney with about 20 reviews on AVVO and found that he didn't take cases in Fulton County so he recommended that I contact the Hawkins DUI Law Firm. I met with Mike and Matt at their office and after only a few minutes I felt very confident in their services but told them that I would meet with a few other lawyers just to be sure. Every lawyer I met with after them was excellent, with glowing reviews ( and on the list you're checking now) but they didn't make me feel as confident as Matt did and they all said the same thing, "I would trust Matt to defend myself". That was all I needed. Matt, Mike, and Nicole are all very easy to get along with and definitely know their trade. Matt was well able to find several facts in the circumstance of my initial stop, testing, and arrest that helped him build a solid case in my favor but what probably helped most was his experience as a prosecutor and the way he associated with all parties involved in my case. He was able to negotiate with the arresting officer, prosecutor, and judge a deal that was definitely in my favor. What I hoped would be a guilty plea to reckless driving and too fast for conditions was a no contest plea to reckless driving and community service. Now I don't have points on my license for the reckless charge and NO DUI ON MY RECORD! Through this experience I have seen lawyers that will help you plead guilty without any benefits to you. Matt told me that nobody needs help with a guilty plea, you just show up and say "guilty, your honor". A good attorney works to give you the best possible outcome. I know that a DUI arrest and conviction can be very embarrassing and difficult to deal with in the future but Matt proved that it can also be avoided if handled well! I would absolutely recommend that you give Matt a call if you need someone to represent you in a DUI charge.

Great Lawyer and a nice guy too!

Posted by: JM, a DUI client over 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Kilgo

I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.

Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

Matt was very professional, communicated his ideas clearly and gave me some good alternatives. He was well prepared for the various aspects of my case. He was very responsive to my questions and to the challenges of this matter. He also knew the various players involved such as the prosecutors, the judge and the various clerks involved (he even had experience with the cop involved) which really helped out in resolving the case to my advantage.

Excellent professional service

Posted by: Patrick, a DUI client almost 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Kilgo

I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.

Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

Matt was an excellent lawyer who was able to reduce my sentence with seemingly ease. He was always available for every question I had and was very honest and up front with all of my options. Matt would give me his honest opinion on the right choices to make when I asked and did not sugar coat anything. I would highly recommned Matt to anyone going through any legal issue.

A grateful family's review of an outstanding service from Matthew Wayne Kilgo

Posted by: Cathy, a Criminal Defense client about 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Kilgo

I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.

Matthew handled my Criminal Defense matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Matt responded to our call when we needed immediate help. We were dealing with a situation that was out of state. We didnt know how to handle the legalities nor who to turn to for help. Matt was helpful both professionally and compassionately. He took control of our needs and comforted our fears. I can't express in words how valuable his services were to us. I would call him again for direction with any legal matter in the future without hesitation