Melanie McCorkle Ellwanger’s Reviews

Melanie McCorkle Ellwanger

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Ed Broadnax

    Posted by Eddie, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Melanie is a good lawyer....her laid back approach to justice is very smooth....I like her style. I believe she is going to have a long career as an attorney. She does not jump to conclusions, but instead she watch and pay attention to her opponent moves thereby taking the best course of action for her client. When I had doubts she billed my confidence up with a realistic positive outlook. I also like the way she made herself available to me when I had questions. Melanie understand that representing her client is like a game of chest, and she knows how to play the game!

  2. Probation Revocation Defender

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would personally like to thank Melanie Ellwanger for her help resolving my case. Without her assistance, there is no doubt that my probation would have been unjustly revoked.

    The Sentence Enforcement Service in Cobb County was aggressive in trying to revoke my probation. I cannot thank her enough for her help.

  3. Client Review

    Posted by AM, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Melanie was exceptional in handling my case. She demonstrated true professionalism throughout the case proceedings. She worked extra hard to get the case reduced and was very determined to make sure the case went well. I cannot thank her enough for the job she did and I will recommend her and her law firm to all my friends and family. Melanie, you worked hard to give me a second chance and for that, I am truly thankful.

  4. DUI Defense Review

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Melanie was very professional throughout this process and was diligent in working this case to get it reduced. I am thoroughly grateful for her responsiveness and her trustworthiness in such a trying time in my life.

  5. Client Review

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was very pleased with my experience with Melanie. My DUI was reduced to reckless driving after Melanie spoke with the arresting officer. She was professional and knowledgeable. I would recommend her to others in the same predicament.

  6. Moving forward.

    Posted by DTR., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Melanie was able to get my charges droped down to a less charge that i would be able to move own with my life and still continue to pursue my dream.She made sure every option was analized before making a decision.She made my situation less stressfull and i was well informed about everything in my case.I truly believe she did everyhing she could to the best of her abilites.

  7. Saving the Day

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My situation suffered from a bad case of ruffled feathers with the prosecutor, brought about by a previous lawyer. And I decided to change lawyers just prior to the trial. So I hired Melanie.

    Despite having a very short period to prepare, Melanie stepped in and not only assuaged the prior emotional tensions, but successfully negotiated a settlement, during pre-trial discussions, to maintain my integrity.

    She is a very polite and pleasant person to deal with. And she is very sharp. I would highly recommend her legal services.

  8. Exceptional Representation

    Posted by Jeffrey, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My case was a double refusal. I was referred to Melanie's law firm and told "they are the best."

    Melanie did a great job keeping me informed of all the proceedings, her thoughts & strategy on my case, and was extremely patient listening to all the input that I had. Admittedly, I was very aggressive in my studying and researching of DUI laws and cases. I don't know of many attorneys that would have been as patient listening to my thoughts as I am not an attorney.

    Melanie was extremely thorough and well prepared when the state played their "shell game." Meaning, we prepared for a defense without the use of video only to have the video made suddenly available on the morning of trial.

    Melanie was aggressive when questioning the officer without questioning his integrity. She allowed the officer to contradict his police report, the video, & his previous sworn testimony, without interruption. Then, she simply presented the facts of this contradiction to the jury. “You just testified to this, but your previous testimony and in the police report, you stated something different?” I thought it was a brilliant tactical move!

    Dealing with a DUI arrest is extremely stressful and she did more than anyone should expect to lower that stress. Allowing you to continue your normal routine and rest a little better at night, while knowing that your case is in the hands of an expert is priceless!

    Save yourself the headache & confusion and just trash all the direct mail you will receive from the “other” lawyers. Make one phone call, to Melanie, and trust that you’ve made the right decision.

    I am forever grateful that I made the decision to hire Melanie and, more importantly, that she defended me with such excellence!