Matthew Thomas Berry’s Reviews

Matthew Thomas Berry

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Disability

    Posted by Annie, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Berry.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Social Security matter.

    Mr. Berry assisted my mother in obtaining her benefits after a long battle with the Administration. He was both personable and professional all along the way. We cannot speak highly enough of Mr. Berry and his staff. My family and I were very pleased and are extremely grateful for his help.

  2. Would Recommend if Asked

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Berry.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Matt Berry handled my debt problems with solid and direct advice, two things I really needed at the time. The process went pretty much as expected, too, and I ended up in a better place. Yea, I'd recommend them if someone asked me.

  3. Received Future and Past Benefits

    Posted by Jude, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Berry.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used Mr. Berry's firm for my disability case, and am happy I did. I received my benefits, and my daughter also received a check for back benefits. This money was something we needed very bad and I'm gratful to him and his people. If someone asked me if they should hire him, I would answer "Yes".

  4. Dont hire for Social Security

    Posted by a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Matthew Berry.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    EXTREMELY POOR COMMUNICATION.
    FAILED TO GET RECORDS.
    FAILED TO SUBMIT RECORDS TO SOC SECURITY EVEN THOUGH THEY HAD BEEN PROVIDED TO THEM.
    FAILED TO PREPARE FOR ALJ HEARING
    STAFF ARE RUDE AND DISRESPECTFUL
    WHEN WE EXPRESSED CONCERNS RELATED TO LACK OF FOLLOW UP AND LACK OF RESPONSIVENESS THEY LIED.
    TRIED TO SAY "THERE MUST HAVE BEEN A PROBLEM WITH MY ANSWERING MACHINE" i DID NOT GET MESSAGES FROM YOU (TRIED FOR OVER A WEEK)
    DENIED ANY RESPONSIBILITY AFTER ASKING WHAT HAPPEND.
    THEY SEEM TO USE "RIDE IN AND OUT" ATTORNEYS TO REPRESENT WHO ARE NOT INFORMED, WHO ARE NOT UP TO SPEED. BE VERY CAREFUL BEFORE USING FOR SOCIAL SECURITY CASES.

  5. Great personal service

    Posted by Morgan, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Berry.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Great personal service! Always kept me in formed and up to date. highly recommended!

  6. Excellent Attorney. Great knowledge and compassionate, too.

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Berry.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Berry is exactly what you want in a lawyer. He is honest, responsive and obviously knows a lot about bankrupcy law. He doesn't make you feel like a bad person for having a hard time paying your bills either. I would highly recommend him to others in need.

  7. Worse lawyer ever

    Posted by a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Matthew Berry.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This attorney sits on his hands as long as possible and holds out the same hands to collect money after he sits on your case for almost two years. I would not recommend him even to my worse enemy. Recently I submitted a complaint to the Georgia Bar who went on to do a coverup. This man cost me over 10 thousand dollars in back pay because he did not do his job, I will not stop until he is out of business

    1. Matthew Thomas Berry

      Matthew Berry

      Lawyer Comment:

      Really? A cover-up? From the State Bar know nationally for its prosecution of lawyer complaints? Or is it more likely that the State Bar investigated this persons claims and found them unwarranted?
      This particular ex-client has an unfortunate obsesive disorder. He hired an attorney from a "factory firm" without informing our office. The second lawyer never obtained the Social Security file prior to the hearing and was apparently ill-prepared. Since we were not attorney of record, we never even knew of the hearing.
      The root problem is that this gentleman made a bad decision in replacing us as counsel and lacks the integrity to look in the mirror and admit it.

      Posted over 5 years ago. Flag

Call Our Office Today to Discuss Your Legal Options. Consultations are Free!

877-997-5779