Gillian Fierer O'Nan’s Reviews

Gillian Fierer O'Nan

Average Rating

Based on 35 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Responsive, Knowledgeable, Efficient

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gillian O'Nan.
    • I hired Gillian 1-6 months ago.
    • Gillian handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Working with Gillian was a wonderful experience. She helped me (VERY QUICKLY) file for divorce and ultimately negotiate a post-nuptial agreement. In drafting the agreement, she listened carefully to my needs and wants (keeping my son's daily life as consistent as possible) and worked very hard to craft a strong contract that addressed all of my potential needs in the event of a divorce. Gillian is very efficient and responsive. She clearly informed me of all my rights and options. I highly recommend Gillian for your family law needs.

  2. Experienced divorce defendant endorses sharp, energetic, responsive attorney

    Posted by Tyler, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gillian O'Nan.
    • I hired Gillian 1-6 months ago.
    • Gillian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Gillian was recommended to me by one of the top attorneys in the state (due to a conflict of interest it wasn't wise for me to be represented by the atty making the recommendation). I was more than impressed with her ability, knowledge, response time, and once all the unavoidable maneuvering had occurred we mediated, wrote the final order, had it signed and filed on the same day. Highly recommend.

  3. The Best in the Worst of Times

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gillian O'Nan.
    • I hired Gillian 1-6 months ago.
    • Gillian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Gillian is professional, knowledgeable, and dependable. She handled my case with the tenacity you want in your attorney, and at the same time she managed to be compassionate given the tender nature of the case. She sincerely worked in my best interest. She was honest, forthright, and displayed a lot of integrity. Gillian knows her stuff. There wasn't a question I asked that wasn't answered thoroughly and in plain English so I knew exactly what she was saying every time I presented a question or asked for clarification on a matter, document, etc. I have and will continue to refer her to whomever I know in need of her services.

  4. So grateful I made the decision to hire Gillian.

    Posted by Dean, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gillian O'Nan.
    • I hired Gillian 1-6 months ago.
    • Gillian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    What should have been a simple, uncomplicated divorce became very complicated and litigious thanks to the opposing counsel, who seemed positively giddy at the prospect of taking the case to court; at which point I was so very glad that I made the decision to hire Gillian. I had absolute faith in her ability to handle a case that seemed like it might suddenly be headed for court. Thankfully, after nearly 6 months and the OC having filed almost every document that was possible to be filed, we reached a settlement agreement and avoided court. Gillian was familiar with the mediators in Dekalb county, having worked with them many times before, and I believe that was to our advantage. And, being a notary public, I was able to sign all the final documents and have them filed that very day, so that we were completely done. Not how it usually happens, I understand.

    I must admit that in the beginning she came off as rather short and blasé about things that caused high emotion in me, but I realized soon enough the value of that level-headed calmness and focus in the midst of what to me felt like chaos. There were many times that I called her with the latest unbelievable actions of my wife and Gillian helped calm me down and put it in perspective, for which I am eternally grateful.

    And what came off as brusque turned out to be more about efficiency and keeping my costs (i.e. her billable time) down, which was truly impressive in comparison to other lawyers. Gillian is not the cheapest lawyer you can find, but I really felt she was worth every penny, and every bill she sent was absolutely reasonable in that I never once felt like her hours were padded. If anything, I was surprised at how little time she billed for some activities, like a huge array of interrogatories and responses to discovery.

    And Gillian’s knowledge of family law and her ability to anticipate the reaction of the judge to certain motions was invaluable in helping me to make decisions about what course to take during the case and how much to push or not to push on certain topics.

    Obviously, I cannot say enough good things about Gillian and her skill. She can be trusted to give it to you straight and to be there when you need her.

  5. Highly Recommend!

    Posted by Angela, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gillian O'Nan.
    • I hired Gillian 6-12 months ago.
    • Gillian handled my Child Custody matter.

    Gillian has been with me every step of the way through a long, difficult divorce and custody case. She has worked tirelessly to ensure a successful outcome in my case and has made a very stressful time more bearable; keeping me informed and helping me understand this process by answering all my questions and addressing my concerns along the way. She has always been accessible, professional and made me feel not only expertly represented but cared for as well. I would (and have) highly recommend Gillian.

  6. Outstanding Divorce Lawyer

    Posted by Rene, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gillian O'Nan.
    • I hired Gillian 6-12 months ago.
    • Gillian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    There aren't enough adjectives to describe how impressed I have been with Gillian O’Nan. I found her on AVVO after mediation failed to resolve all the outstanding issues in my divorce and my case was dragging on with no end in sight. Gillian quickly stepped in and was able to absorb all the background and nuances of my case in a short period of time. She is very professional, intelligent, upfront, honest, and to the point. Gillian did a great job of keeping me level headed in unarguably the most emotionally trying time an individual can go through, while taking my concerns into consideration.

    What made my case unique was that I reside in Texas, but was going through a divorce in Atlanta. However, from the moment I talked with Gillian, I had the utmost confidence that I had made the right decision in retaining her. She worked tirelessly on my behalf, leveraging her sound knowledge of the law to bring my tricky case to a quick close, even though opposing counsel was not very cooperative. If your case ends up in the courtroom, you can rest assured that you’re in good hands. Gillian is quick witted, tenacious, and a very good litigator.

    One of the many qualities that sets Gillian apart is her responsiveness. She is extremely accessible and does a great job of staying in touch with you and answering your questions. With her you never have to worry about being forgotten about and because she is proactive, you will always feel like you’re her number one priority.

    If you are ever in need of a divorce lawyer, you will be hard pressed to find a better advocate for you than Gillian O’Nan.

    Thank you Gillian!

  7. Is there any way to add an extra star?!

    Posted by Connor, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gillian O'Nan.
    • I hired Gillian 6-12 months ago.
    • Gillian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I can't imagine how difficult it would have been having to deal with my ex-wife and her aggravating lawyer without Gillian's help. From the first phone call, to the consultation...to the final decree and closing letter, Gillian always kept me informed and I was never made to feel like she was busy with other people or other things. I felt very confident that my case wasn't buried under a mound of paperwork on a disorganized desk and was being attentively looked after.

    50% of all lawyers graduate in the bottom half of their class. My ex-wife's lawyer was probably one of them. Gillian isn't. She takes herself and her profession seriously and I would highly, highly recommend her to anyone that wants straightforward and serious legal representation.

    Thanks again Gillian!

  8. Guiding Me Through a Difficult Time

    Posted by Patricia, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Gillian O'Nan.
    • I hired Gillian 6-12 months ago.
    • Gillian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I came to Gillian through a friend's referral. I was beginning the process of divorcing my husband of 11 years and was in a emotionally fragile state. She very professionally guided me through the process with compassion but stayed detached enough to keep me focused on what I needed to do. A divorce I thought would take forever to complete was done in 4 months. I have already referred Gillian to others and will continue to use her for future legal counsel.

  9. Recommended Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gillian O'Nan.
    • I hired Gillian 6-12 months ago.
    • Gillian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I worked with Gillian on my divorce case and she was very knowledgable and quick to reply to my emails and phone calls. She always answered my questions promptly in a way that I could understand. She will always be my number one choice for an attorney and I will always recommend her to anyone in need of a good attorney.

  10. ABOVE and FAR BEYOND!!!!!!!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gillian O'Nan.
    • I hired Gillian 1-3 years ago.
    • Gillian handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. O'Nan was one of the attorneys assigned to my child custody modification case a few years ago. Before that, I did not know her at all. Though the outcome of that case was the worst news that I have received during my lifetime and handled very poorly by the lead attorney on my case, Gillian is the only reason that I was able to keep my composure at that time and to this day. Gillian has remained close to me and my daughter while we weather the unfortunate outcome we were faced with when my daughter was only ten years old. Gillian cuts right to the heart of the most heartfelt matters with kindness, passion and genuine concern. I have and will only recommend her to anyone in need of a "real person" to represent them in family law matters. My wish is that you are not dealing with court at all. If you must, Gillian is the person for the job.

Gillian Fierer O'Nan, P.C. is ready to help. Contact us today for a consultation.

404-662-2246