Ruby Lee Knight’s Reviews

Ruby Lee Knight

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. deceiving and rude

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ruby Knight.
    • I hired Ruby 6-12 months ago.

    Hired her because she talked well and I "thought" she was approachable, but I guess this was more of a sales pitch. She is a great SALES person! It was soon clear she did not care about me or my case. She did care about the money though. I became very uncomfortable to even talk to her because she is overly emotional. Would never deal with this kind of attorney again. She is RUDE.

  2. Child Custody and Support

    Posted by Sheila, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruby Knight.
    • I hired Ruby 6-12 months ago.
    • Ruby handled my Child Custody matter.

    I was going through a very tough time. Miss Knight was very kind and passionate. She showed much empathy with my situation. I am so glad that I was able to use someone who could actually understand my issues and help me through them. I do not understand the bad reviews that I have read, but I guess you cannot please everybody. However I was pleased with my outcome and would use her again. Although I hope I never have to go through this again.

  3. In my opinion she is a horrible attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ruby Knight.

    She seems very compassionate and caring, but she is manipulative. I ended up not going to court but she took the whole money and did not return anything. She didn't respond to my calls. She lied, tried to make me afraid of the situation. Her behavior was not ethical. I don't know how other people gave her excellent reviews, but I wouldn't even recommend her to my enemies!

  4. Lazy At Best

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ruby Knight.

    I recently used Ms. Knight and she is very lazy. She only wants to do as little work as possible. I hired her and she promised that she was going to fight hard for me, but did not do what she promised. She acted like she was scared of the other party. She was way too emotional and used scare tactics & tried to make me take whatever they was offering. I told her that I was not going to take just anything, but she only wants to get a little something for me when she could get a lot more. She was never prepared for court. She is so deceptive because she did not tell me the truth of what all my options were. She only did what would get her the least resistance and make it easy for her. She was just about how much cash can she clear quickly for her pockets because she worked the hardest trying to convince me why I should hire her & did really very little. I regret hiring Ruby Knight. Get whatever she says in writing because she is not going to deliver and won’t even try. She spent a lot of time contesting me and tried to talk down to me too because I was in a tight spot and told told her what I wanted. She did not fight the other party like that.

  5. Satisfied Divorcee

    Posted by Mary, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruby Knight.
    • Ruby handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Ruby Knight is an excellent Attorney!!!!!!! She helped me over come a very difficult divorce. Not only was she an awesome attorney she was a wonderful friend in my time of need. After all that I had gone through with my X-Husband she helped me come out of a separation as a winner, I appreciate her for all that she has done. If I ever had to go through this all over again I would definitely choose Attorney Ruby Lee Knight. I will recommend her to anyone in a similar situation. Thank you Ruby as an attorney and friend you are truly appreciated.

  6. Great Experience

    Posted by Jennifer, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruby Knight.
    • I hired Ruby 6-12 months ago.
    • Ruby handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mrs. Knight was very professional. She handled my case in a timely and respectable manner. It was hassle free and over all a great experience. I would recommend Mrs. Ruby Knight to anyone in the Atlanta area.

  7. Caveat Emptor

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ruby Knight.
    • I hired Ruby 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruby handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Before hiring Ms. Knight, I explained the case in its entirety. She spoke eagerly & positively to get hired and was paid in full, as she required. Then she would not fight for my rights.

    She failed to do a number of things to support me. She even allowed prosecution to privately question me without accompanying me & I asked her to be there, but she refused. As a result, I ended up incriminating myself. Ms. Knight did not even go over the facts of my case well enough to know them, even after I wrote out everything with supporting documentation.

    Ms. Knight was constantly deceptive in that she lied to me as to the points of the law. For example, I asked her, why should I plea as she wanted because much of the material facts was a lie. She told me that the facts of the case don’t matter, just the charges. I asked her why not plea to the true facts, if the charges are the same; or better yet, why don’t you try to plea the charges down based on the true facts.

    She became hostile, rude, & defensive. She even sent me insulting emails. I only asked her what another attorney who is reputable had advised & told me. These types of reactions kept occurring each time I asked or requested Ms. Knight to do certain things. For example, I requested her to subpoena certain evidence as another attorney had advised me, & this attorney had advised me after consulting her partners.

    Ms. Knight would not fight for my rights; she found it easier to go along whatever the prosecution said. She was lazy, incompetent, & rude. This is my experience & what the advising attorney told me after speaking with Ms. Knight, but it was too late for me for the damage was done. Ms. Knight’s defensive, overly emotional & seemingly compassionate nature when dealing with clients is due to her ineptness because she finds it easier to try to intimidate &/or manipulate the client instead of properly working & fighting on the clients’ behalf against the prosecuting attorney & opposing party. Ms. Knight is not a savvy attorney & DOESN'T KNOW HOW TO WIN A COMPLEX CASE.

    The advising attorney told me that Ms. Knight’s efforts & my results were beyond poor. Ms. Knight markets herself as affordable, & her rates actually cost more than attorneys who are much better in terms of reputation & wins, but her rates are in alignment with the mean. Ms. Knight sold herself to me with a “song & dance”, but did not produce decent results or even PUT OUT the EFFORT TO ATTEMPT TO TRY to produce great results. Find a reputable attorney who will actually fight & earn your money versus just taking your money.

  8. Family Law/Child Support

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Ruby Knight.
    • I hired Ruby 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruby handled my Child Support matter.

    Hired her 2 years ago. Full of hype to get hired but did nothing she promised. she was very rude after the case ended and frankly a little insulting at times during. not prepared for court. at times lazy and unpredictable.

  9. Represented Me in Medical Claim - Excellent Work

    Posted by Sherri, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruby Knight.
    • I hired Ruby more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruby handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Knight was very professional in reviewing and taking my case and got me the money I needed to pay my medical bills without ever setting foot in a court room. We were able to settle out of court and quickly. Very pleased.

  10. An Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Cynthia, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruby Knight.
    • I hired Ruby more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruby handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I had an excellent experience with this lawyer, she handled a divorce and a traffic case for me and won both cases. She was very professional, smart and knew her "stuff". he comes highly recommended.